We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
USD 164
USD 148
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 285
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Langtry Manor Hotel(Bournemouth)
USD 224
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 249
USD 239
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 225
USD 97
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 109/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 332
USD 259
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff(Bournemouth)(Great Value!)
USD 234
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
USD 126
USD 123
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Green House(Bournemouth)
USD 267
USD 258
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 161
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (1,442)
Filter reviews
1,442 results
Traveller rating
495
453
250
139
105
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
495
453
250
139
105
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea viewoutdoor poolthrough travelzoolovely hotelhuge roomrestaurant managerreception staffevening mealleisure facilitiessea frontpublic areastown centrethe clifftwo night stayshort breakbuffet stylecar parking
Filter
Updating list...
137 - 142 of 1,442 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2018

There are many parts of The Hallmark Bournemouth Carlton that are worthy of its 4* status: The Breakfast, the public rooms, the staff..perhaps 5* for them, but our room was nearer 2* than 4.
I suppose we should have seen the writing on the wall when we were told the number 101! Consigned to Room 101 was about correct.
Many rooms in The Hallmark Bournemouth Carlton Hotel have splendid sea views; over to the west are the Old Harry Rocks, Studland & Shell Bay, while to the East is The isle of Wight & The Needles. Room 101 was not one of those. A Road junction and a bit of car park was ours. But this turned out to be "par for the course".
As one moved away from the reception area towards Room 101, the ambiance began to fade. The doorways became more "damaged" by what seemed countless careless furniture removal men, and needed re-painting. The carpets became more faded, until on the approach to our room, the carpet was threadbare to a point where it could be a danger to elderly users.
Inside the room, the floor undulated in faint waves like the sea we could not see, on an almost cam day. But worse! It CREAKED so badly that it was impossible to walk anywhere without imagining one was in a sailing scene from Treasure Island during a stormy passage! At night it became impossible to go to the bathroom without waking the other occupant of the room and the adjacent room and worse still those underneath! While we did our best to move around as little as possible, even getting dressed was a noisy affair.
However, the handle of the door to the bathroom was so stiff, that my wife was unable to turn it, so being woken up by the noise turned out to be advantageous...I was able to let her out of the bathroom after she had inadvertently closed the door!
There was no need to switch on the lights to visit the bathroom at night, as the huge gap under the bedroom door, sufficient for me to see the hall carpet while sitting up in bed, allowed enough light to keep the room lit all night. Indeed one could see the feet of the children as they ran past!
The floor also sloped, so that the top of the wardrobe was significantly further from the wall than the base. Worrying but we thought it was probably safe.
The room was clean, and reasonably well furnished, but there was a gap where clearly there once had been a mini fridge...or perhaps it was just a gap that should have but had never held one. Whatever the reason, there was no-where to keep your milk fresh or your water cold.
One of the main lights would not function. We never found out why.
In the bathroom, there was a notice asking clients to use the non-slip mat. This turned out to be many shades of brown, and needed a good dose of bleach or immediate replacement. Not something we would have allowed in our house.
The shower seemed relatively new, but the bath taps had clearly lost most of their chrome 10 years ago and were badly pitted.
The whole room had the air of lacking any TLC, and is by no means what one would expect of a 4* hotel.
However, seated at breakfast, we noticed that a couple of rim stones of the outside pool was in a similar state, so perhaps room 101 was not the only bit of this building in need of restoration.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Philip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul C, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2018

Dear Philip S,

Thank you for your feedback about your stay with us here at the Hallmark Carlton. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. With the hotel being an older building, unfortunately we do have issues with creaky floor boards around the hotel, I do apologise that this caused you an inconvenience.

We do provide mini fridges in the rooms but they are on request. If you would like one for a future stay let us know when making the booking and we can provide one for you as they are on a first come first serve basis.

We will definitely take everything that you have pointed out on board to improve our future guests stay and we hope to welcome you again.

Kind regards
Paul Clarke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

Very large comfortable family room.
Good breakfast.
Really friendly staff.
Easy walking distance to Bournemouth beach, pier, town, shopping and entertainments.
Definitely recommend for a short family break to the seaside.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClareZarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul C, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2018

Dear ClareZarb,

Thank you for the feedback and for wanting to recommend us. I am glad to see that you enjoyed your stay.

Kind regards
Paul Clarke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

Excellent from check in to check out comfortable room staff go above and beyond, ate in the restaurant which was lovely, unfortunately forgot my swimming costume so did not get to use the spa facilities , great location cannot fault one part of my stay Will be returning in the summer !!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank LjB198488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul C, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2018

Dear LjB198488,

Thank you for the lovely feedback, I am so happy to see that you really enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the summer.

Kind regards
Paul Clarke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Perfect location,lovely hotel with stunning gardens & view,good facilities including gym swimming pool indoor and out, spa, beauty treatments lovely large rooms with comfy large beds,bar food was lovely staff was lovely really enjoyed our stay

Room Tip: double sea view you get super king bed
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Nicky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul C, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2018

Dear Nicky H,

Thank you for your review, I am happy to see that you enjoyed your stay.

Kind regards
Paul Clarke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

Had a great welcome from Kelly on arrival.
Impressed by decor in reception area.
We had been booked an "accessible " room, as my wife has limited mobility, and were expecting to have a room with a sea view. When we arrived at our room, it was at the back of the hotel. With the sea nowhere to be seen. When I asked about this, it transpires that the hotel does not have accessible rooms with sea views, which is a shame. Having said that, our room was spacious and comfortable and had good wheelchair access.
Dining was excellent, great breakfasts, lovely evening meals, and the Afternoon Tea spectacular.
A very memorable visit.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank reggiesboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul C, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth Carlton, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2018

Dear Reggiesboy,

Thank you for your review. Unfortunately we do not have disabled accessible rooms that have sea views, however our disabled rooms are still lovely rooms. I am glad to see that you enjoyed your dinner with us as well.

Kind regards
Paul Clarke

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews