We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“situated well, hotel not so nice” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bourne Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bourne Hall Hotel
Ranked #58 of 68 Hotels in Bournemouth
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“situated well, hotel not so nice”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

We stayed here for 1 night on a room only rate, the hotel is situated really close to the town centre which was fantastic, however...the hotel is very out dated, the decor was poor, and the tv only had 3 channels, I did not go to bournemouth for the tv but it would have been nice to watch something other then football (which the boyfriend loved!) The check out time was 10.30! I did ask for an extension till 11am which was fine but any longer was chargable. Luckily it was a lush day so we woke early and took a walk down the beach :) Besides the poor decor, small rooms, water not running properly and the tv, i can not fault the staff who were friendly and welcoming. Highly reccomend this hotel for older couples maybe? but for £45, can you really complain?

Room Tip: ground floor as the lift seems although it will break...which it did!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjwarland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    77
    60
    40
    54
See reviews for
38
94
16
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frodsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

We were a bit worried after reading reviews this hotel had, but it really wasn't that bad. We wanted a cheap 3 nights B&B break to see Bournemouth and surrounding area. The hotel was a bit dated but after all it's a 2* hotel and for the price 3 nights B&B really nothing to complain about. Our room was ok, it was clean, a bit shabby, everything in working order, very friendly, helpful staff. But after a long day out on Friday went to bed about 10.30pm but couldn't get to sleep until around 2am because we could hear next doors TV really loud. The room was very warm had to open the window then shut it again because of noise outside. Really suprised great full English breakfast for two mornings, but sunday morning we weren't offered cooked breakfast, not sure if they do cooked breakfast on a sunday mornings but we gave up waiting at 9.00am as we had to leave.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SandraW675738
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

Writing this at 05.00 after being awake since 01.45. I know it's in a popular night life area but the guests have been very disruptive, no member of staff to be found in the building, have had to threaten to call the police in order to get guests to be quiet. Surely staff should be on duty for fire safety reasons? Very shabby, my daughter's single room has NO heating

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CTopps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bournemouth hotels

Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

Hi I seen some of the bad reviews on here an I thought we would give it a go and find out for ourselfs. What a horrible hotel!!!! They turn the heating and hot water off at night. We woke up freezing and was more worried about our young baby as it was freezing. My partner went downstairs no one was there the reception was all shut up. The nxt day we told reception and they were so rude to us they wouldn't even refund us as we wanted to check out as it was so bad. This hotel is a utter shambles don't stay here.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sara-louise2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

My boyfriend booked the Bourne Hall for a surprise weekend away, and we left not to impressed. The member of staff sat at reception was not very welcoming, and he was slightly rude. Told us the number of our room but not where the stairs/lift was until we asked. Found our room just outside the lift, and down some little stairs. Room looked okay, if only a little dated. 1 pillow each, with 2 thin sheets for bedding. Eventually found some hidden away in the wardrobe. All information packs were hiding away in a draw, and old, dirty and dated. Tv was small, and not up to date, was very static. Soap dispenser in the shower was empty, no indication of how to turn the shower on, which we found was the red switch by the door (not in the bathroom or by the bathroom door!) Shaver light did not work, toilet roll holder was broken and wonky, with no obvious attempt to fix it as toilet roll had been placed and folded. The bathroom tiles had obviously had not been cleaned in a while, as smear marks from condensation, and someone in the room before us had written on the tiles and this was still visible! Also, the floor in the room looked unhoovered, as there were pieces of what looked like food on the floor by the bed. All in all not brilliant, car park was very small and our car was nearly stuck in the car park by other cars behind it! fine if you want somewhere close to the town and beach but we will not be staying again!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank staceandjimma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 km away
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
#53 of 68 in Bournemouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
0.5 km away
West Cliff Inn
West Cliff Inn
#54 of 68 in Bournemouth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
0.4 km away
Durley Grange Hotel
Durley Grange Hotel
#30 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
New Westcliff Hotel
New Westcliff Hotel
#51 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
0.2 km away
Royal Exeter Hotel
Royal Exeter Hotel
#9 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
0.5 km away
BEST WESTERN Montague Hotel
BEST WESTERN Montague Hotel
#44 of 68 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bourne Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bourne Hall Hotel

Property: Bourne Hall Hotel
Address: 14 Priory Road | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5DN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
Price range (per night): $42 - $128
Hotel Class:2 star — Bourne Hall Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bourne Hall Hotel: comfort and style with a very warm welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au and SpeedyBooker.com so you can book your Bourne Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bourne Hall Bournemouth
Hotel Bourne Hall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing