We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing house in a beautiful location”

Review of Downview Farm

Heated indoor pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Heated indoor pool
Hot Tub
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
46 reviews
Heated indoor pool
Hot Tub
The Conservatory / Games Room
Dinning Room
Red Room
Family Bathroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 10 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Bournemouth, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Tanyaperk...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely house, not so good service”
Reviewed 19 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015
9
people found this review helpful

We stayed in the house to celebrate our friends 30th Birthday. We found the house to be absolutely gorgeous and we of course made use of all of the great facilities and left feeling very positive about our stay.
Unfortunately once we left we had a lot of trouble getting our deposits back from the owner. After showing us around the property and pointing our how expensive all of the wonderful features cost him we were left to our own devices. When we chased up our deposit money we were sent a large list of damage that we had made, some of them absolutely ludicrous- including that we had left blood/faeces on towels (we provided our own towels and all of us are potty trained), left broken glass in the hot tub, broke the locks to the patio doors, as well as leaving the house in a disgusting state.
Mysteriously when questioning all of this and asking for evidence, they stopped answering calls and emails despite 3 different people chasing this up.
They even went further to say that they were going to go to there solicitors to get back all the money they had to spend fixing all the damage we had cost them at over £2000 and that we had shown no respect in looking after the property.
At this point we were all very angry, not only are we a bunch of mature adults (not excactly freshers in uni!) we had made a big effort to sweep, mop, bleach all surfaces and do all of the washing up by hand (as they left us with 2 dishwasher tablets for a 4 night stay with 12 people to cook 3 meals a day for).
After persistent calls to the team, one of our friends even got called childish and told to 'shut up' when trying to discuss the matter. As a result we had to go through the small claims court (at our own expense) who contacted them to ask for some evidence to help settle the case. What a delight when the money was almost refunded in full the following day.
The whole ordeal has showcased how untrustworthy these scammers are. Unfortunately they picked on the wrong people as we would not just accept that they take our deposit after we had spent a considerable amount of money on the stay. I hope that anyone else who wants to stay takes there own inventory and have it agreed with the owners before signing anything.
And also to the owners- we left the cobwebs and dried up dead spiders in the downstairs bedroom for you to clean yourselves.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Sep 2016
When guests hire our Beautiful house , they expect to come and find everything in Perfect order .
Of course.
When the property is damaged , we have to go in and repair it sraight away before the next guests arrive.
We appreciate accidents happen , and will work with our guests to find the fairest and cheapest solution .
When we walk into a House that is filthy , and around every corner something is broken and then just discarded , towels used as toilet rolls and dish rags.
Then when approached the guests become agressive and extremely Rude and personal.
We have 2 choices . We leave it and cover the costs which in this case exceeded the £300 deposit for damages.
Or we fight to get some of the costs of the Extensive damage in this case covered .
The guests have fabricated the whole issue for the benefit of Trip advisor .
I urge everyone to take this tool with a pinch of salt .
It is unfair and damaging to Honest business owners trying to do thier best , with just a small few damaging things for everyone else .
We don't want to upset anyone , The guests in question know the real truth .
We are in the Hospitality Business and thats what we will continue to offer .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt S
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good house, awful customer service communication.”
Reviewed 18 May 2015 for a stay in March 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Myself and a group of friends recently stayed here on a long weekend for a 30th Birthday and left having had a really nice time in a house that suited our needs with some good features. (Pool and Hot tub). However, a couple of weeks after the trip we still hadn't heard about our £300 cash deposit. After calling them several times and leaving emails we eventually got through to them and they advised they would be keeping our whole deposit for a number of things we had damaged and the state we had left the house in. Accusations such as 'Diarrhea in towels' (Towels aren't even provided) and broken patio doors amongst other things. Having had separate phone conversations with Lucy and Matt which were quite confrontational and un-professional on their part they both had very different versions of the scale of damaged caused so we asked for evidence of damages via photos which they could not produce even after originally stating they had this eveidence. From the outset we categorically denied causing these damages. After trying to contact them about Un-lawfully holding back our deposit we gave them 2 weeks to respond and send the money back and we still heard nothing. We eventually had to go to the extremes of filing a County Court Claim for the deposit which they then returned within days of receiving it from the courts.

Unfortunately it spoiled what was a good fun weekend and it’s a shame that we had to take such extreme measures to ensure they didn’t steal our money. So any future groups that may already have bookings here I would suggest a full inventory check before and after your stay with the owners present so they aren’t able to fabricate any damages or loss of property and withhold your deposit unlawfully. To those that haven’t. Avoid it and pay your money somewhere else.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Sep 2016
I have responded to this .
£300 did not even cover the amount of damage your party did to our property.
It was the Hand towels that we did provide that were used as toilet paper and dish rags .
Discusting....
The House and its contents are worth over a Million .
£300 is nothing compared to the property you are responsible for as Adults.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy F
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“False Damage Accusations and Rude / Unprofessional Owners”
Reviewed 18 May 2015 for a stay in March 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We stopped in Downview Farm at the end of March for a 30th birthday and the facilities themselves were fine and we could not complain about our stay. However following our departure we heard nothing back about return of our £300 deposit and after 2 weeks of chasing we were given a list of claims of apparent damage which were alleged to have dated photos of. Some of these were borderline ridiculous and pure fabrications. Following weeks of discussions with Matt and Lucy no evidence could be produced for this (apart from a dirty cooker) and both stories changed depending on who was spoken to. They were both extremely rude to several of our party who tried to resolve these allegations amicably and eventually a partial return of the deposit was received 7 weeks following our stay after we had to submit a claim to the small claims court at our expense to get our deposit back. Advice to anyone who is staying here would be to insist on a visual inspection prior to leaving so that false allegations cannot be made to yourselves. Be interesting how many others have faced these accusations.

False claims made were.....
Broken Swimming Pool Clips
Removal of Hot Tub valve which would mean the hot tub would not work
Snapped off door hinge thrown in the garden
Best of all.... soiled towels!! Who in their right mind would do this!!

If these claims were true then there would have been proof which myself and several others from our party politely asked to see as we knew these were false claims after spending 2 hours tidying in the morning before departure.

Shame this spoiled an otherwise good stay.

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Sep 2016
I would normally Not respond to false allegations.
But we cant believe people are allowed to do this ??
The Guests in Question Caused a lot of Damage !!!
We would be Stupid to keep Damage deposits for No reason at all .
In Most cases we let things go , accidents do happen .
But when the damage is wilful and the treatment of our property disrespectful,we as business owners HAVE to react.
Most Guests admit to the Damage ,and we work something out between ourselves that is both fair and reasonable .
When the Guest denies everything , and becomes aggressive and insulting we also have to deal with that in the best way we can .
We are proud of our property .
We work hard before each arrival to make sure everything is clean and in working order for each and every guest.
It is devastating to find the property trashed on a guests departure.
Even more so when the damage is denied.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AKarol1
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing house in a beautiful location”
Reviewed 3 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015

A brilliant welcome, tea and homemade cakes on arrival.
The house is beautiful. Luxury fixtures and fittings. Extremely clean. We visited for a hen do and would highly recommend. Beautiful landscaped gardens and the pool and hot tub areas are amazing. Would be a great place to rent in the summer too.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DottyAB
1 review
“Exactly what I'd hoped for”
Reviewed 15 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

We went along for my sisters 30th birthday & had a lovely time. The house was stunning, clean & set in a lovely location. Felt incredibly homely while also luxurious. Particularly loved the swimming pool & hot tub.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing