We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outsider with nose pressed to window!”
Review of The Green House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Green House
Ranked #5 of 66 Hotels in Bournemouth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Outsider with nose pressed to window!”
Reviewed 9 September 2012

Attended a function here, and neither stayed in a room or ate in the restaurant.

However, the function was beautifully presented and an excellent hot buffet provided on the lawn. The bars and public areas exuded chic. All the staff I saw were slick, courteous and very professional. Bar service was faultless and whole place screamed glamour.

I would love to stay here and enjoy the many lovely facilities of this beautiful hotel, set in a peaceful street just a pebble-throw from all the attractions of this stately seaside town.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rev-Geordie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

882 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    557
    230
    60
    23
    12
See reviews for
117
522
14
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
bristol
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

We stayed at this hotel on the night of 01/09/2012. The master bedroom we had was very tastefully decorated, with a wonderful large 'organic bed', everything was spotlessly clean. On the downside the eco friendly lights were so dim we could not find our clothes or read in bed. The ensuite bathroom had a fantastic walk- in shower with wonderful natural stone everywhere, but again very dim lighting and nowhere to put make up or toiletries.The advertised chef baked biscuits were 3 tiny mouth sized slivers. Perhaps small points but when you are paying over £200 per night then these details become rather significant.
The restaurant food was delicious. It couldn't be faulted for its creativity and balance of flavours. However we found the service a little brusque and lacking in human contact.The layout of the dining room didn't facilitate relaxing over a meal either. We were sat at a table which was essentially in a corridor between the bar area and the kitchens and the waiting station.The dining room floor is wood, so noisy and creaky and throughout our meal we had waiting staff stomping past our table as they careered between bar and kitchen.This could probably been rectified by redeploying staff so they weren't rushing between all the various places.At breakfast we were sat in the body of the restaurant which was more comfortable and the staff were much more relaxed and engaged with the customers.
We'd say if you have plenty of money then do go there and enjoy the delicious food and classy surroundings. Or go on a day when it is not full blown prices. We didn't feel it justified its prices.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ZoeBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012

Excellent hotel. Service, food and staff all top class. Taster menu is superb and beautifully presented by attentive waiting staff but expensive if not included in your package (ours was!) Other a la carte menu is also first class. As a retired couple it suited our needs very well.
Would not hesitate to recommend or go there again if we could get the same sort of deal!

Room Tip: Rooms at front of hotel are larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Just returned from Bournemouth and our stay at The Greenhouse... Excellent service, the food was amazing ( we had the taster menu) and would def recommend this option...the hotel is modern but classy, impeccably clean, staff were attentive but not annoyingly so.. If I had one criticism it would be that whoever allocates the rooms, should maybe check the guests staying in each room, as we are a couple on a romantic weekend away from work and kids, and next door to us was a couple and their little boy, who was quite excitable!!! Would def stay there again, and would recommend to all..





  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darling25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 August 2012

We have just returned from a 4 day break at The Green House and can highly recommened it to others.

This was the first time in a long time that we have stayed in the UK for our summer holidays and usually holiday abroad, but the hotel and gardens had a continental feel about it..and the sunny weather certainly helped!!!.

My wife is currently pregnant and the staff were only to happy to assist with any dietary requirements that she had. The bar in the evening was very peaceful and ambient, and offered a happy retreat. Other benefits was ample free car parking, the great garden facilities to relax, and the great attitude of all the staff.

My only concern was the lack of air conditioning in the rooms and it was very warm at nights. However this was mainly down to the high tempatures in the day and certainly i wouldnt complain about the British Weather being like this!!!

Overall, a great stay and i certainly will be recommending to family and others

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ns197540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.2 km away
Best Western Plus The Connaught Hotel
0.5 km away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#14 of 66 in Bournemouth
3,450 reviews
1.1 km away
Derby Manor Hotel
Derby Manor Hotel
#1 of 66 in Bournemouth
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Langtry Manor Hotel
Langtry Manor Hotel
#2 of 66 in Bournemouth
895 reviews
1.1 km away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
0.6 km away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#19 of 66 in Bournemouth
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Green House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Green House

Property: The Green House
Address: 4 Grove Road, Bournemouth BH1 3AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Bournemouth
#2 Business Hotel in Bournemouth
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bournemouth
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
#7 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
Price range (per night): $162 - $360
Hotel Class:4 star — The Green House 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Award winning Green House is a stylish boutique hotel, nestled in the beautiful East Cliff area of Bournemouth town. Winner of the AA Eco hotel of the year, as well as Considerate Hotel of the year 2013, the Green House lives and breathes sustainability. Home to the highly acclaimed Arbor restaurant. At Arbor our commitment to sustainability goes far beyond our menu, it's a deep held belief that runs through everything we do. From sourcing the best quality local and sustainable ingredients to the low energy induction cookers we use in the kitchen, from the honey bees on the roof to the FSC timber on the restaurant floor, it is not a commitment we take lightly. You will see a lot of what we've done for yourself, but sometimes it's the things you can't see that make the biggest difference.The Sustainable Restaurant Association recently awardedus top marks for our efforts. If you are staying with us at the Green House then dining at Arbor is a must! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Green House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Green House Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing