We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hamilton Hall Men Only Hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Bournemouth
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Chine Hotel(Bournemouth)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Langtry Manor Hotel(Bournemouth)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Normandie Hotel(Bournemouth)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Elstead Hotel(Bournemouth)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hinton Firs Hotel(Bournemouth)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (109)
Filter reviews
109 results
Traveller rating
84
12
2
2
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
84
12
2
2
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgay menother guestshost johnnaturist beachbreakfast cerealsfinal morninghome away from homethe hotel is cleantrain stationthe ground floortea and coffeeself serviceevening mealweekend breakdouble bedtriangleguesthouse
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
94 - 99 of 109 reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2011

Nice place, clean, plenty of space. Other guests seemed friendly. Helpful staff and lovely dog. The owner is very chatty and doesn't tolerate intolerant people, which is a bit of a dichotomy really.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Smigggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2011

I stayed here a while back, alone, and hated it. It felt claustrophobic, cliquey and intense and I felt that the place was very much run around the personality of the owner and less around providing for the guest's comfort. If you like the owner and vice versa great but is that what one expects from a B&B? I imagine I will get a snooty management response claiming I never stayed here or some such nonsense but nevermind!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
50  Thank Chrispatcham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
slammer9, Owner at Hamilton Hall Men Only Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2011

You only have to read the reviews left here to see that most people understand and appreciate what Hamilton Hall is all about and when someone 'doesn't get the point' - especially as our web site makes it crystal clear - then I have to say that some people only understand a larger more impersonal feel of a corporate giant chain of hotels - where they can enjoy the anonymity, the prison cell of a room, the isolation, loneliness and aloofness that comes from larger more impersonal venues that some people enjoy hiding in. That's fine.

Hamilton Hall is a venue with personality and openly encourages conversation on life, death and the universe, and this quirky venue with large Victorian rooms and a bohemian contemporary feel and with a peaceful, healing atmosphere - offers so much more for mind, body and soul, and if someone 'doesn't get it' - and misses the point, then maybe it is down to them to keep searching for what they do want, if - that is - they know what it is that will make them happy - as some people just love to moan - and I won't entertain those negative thoughts. It's too depressing.
Hamilton Hall is about fun, laughter, learning, growing, enjoying, being more - and if you are happy where you are and do not want to stretch and reach higher - then there is always the Premier Inn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2011

I have stayed in many a gay hotel in the UK and as a rule they tend be overpriced and on the whole dreafful value for money.

However for once The Hamiliton Hall provides a decent level of accomadation that was very clean and tidy. Based in a large old Victorian house all the rooms are decorated to a good standard with large comfy beds and plenty of room to stretch out. All rooms are called a name, mine was "love"! I had a shower and sink but the toilet was next door so no major dramas. The hotel was spotlessly clean with a permenant staff of two cleaners doing their stuff. I always make a point of looking at cleaniness and there was nothing untoward here.

There is a large TV room and a quiet room plus a small garden for the smokers. Breakfast is of a continental type with Full English at extra cost. You all sit around a large table so there is plenty of chances to meet the other guests. The kitchen is next door and is also spotless. Loads of choices of food, tea and coffee etc.

There is no tea making facilities in rooms but you are welcomed to go make what ever you want from the breakfast room. Also there are no TV's or radios in the rooms. However you do have free Wi/Fi.

One thing you do notice it's quiet, very quiet as the road is off a main road and in a quiet street.

Good links by bus to other parts of the coast including Poole. It's about 1 1/2 miles from the nearest train station and town centre.

Room Tip: Any is ok
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank alantheskinhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2011

This was my second stay, i had previously stayed for the Weekend Massage course. I have to say on both occasions i was made to feel like family and i loved it. If you're coming to stay for a night or to stay for one of the weekend workshops i'm sure you will love it. The quality of the well furnished rooms is second to none, and the food is excellent as well. If you come for one of the workshops, it's nice to see that people are asked to leave attitude and body fascism at the door - it's not welcome and rightfully so.

All meals are eaten together around the one table, and all guest's input to the discussion is welcome. Also the banter between John and his co workers adds up to a real fun environment where the guests are treated like family

Room Tip: Book Early if you can to get the room you want
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2011

I have always loved staying here , i,v always been made to feel at home and have thought of Ham Hall as comeing home every time i have been....... John is a star and i love him to bits...... On my last trip i met the most wonderful man i could ever meet and feel head over heals in love...... we do so much with our time together that i think it will be a while befor i go again................. Ham Hall is the best Gay Hotel i have ever stayed in or will ever stay in ....... To John my dear friend thank i now you have had a few problems rescentley ( say no more ) but your Hotel is amazing x x x x

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank royroy65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews