We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just absolutely right.”
Review of Hamilton Hall

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bournemouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hamilton Hall
Wolverhampton, UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Just absolutely right.”
Reviewed 26 July 2011

I've visited Bournemouth just the once before, and having read about Hamilton Hall I thought it always sounded a great place to go and get away from it all. And so I took the opportunity to book myself in for two nights (room 3).

I arrived just after 5pm (to give the staff time to take the dog for a walk, get all the chores done etc they ask for no arrivals between 1pm and 5pm). I was greeted by John (the owner) with a big welcoming friendly smile and offer of a coffee and biscuit. While completing the new guest registration card I was also introduced to Missy – a gorgeous, friendly and very lovely dog. Just to follow on a point from a previous review, Missy is actually very well trained and there is a house rule that she shouldn't be in the dining room. Of course she tries it on but always returns to her bed when instructed.

My bedroom was lovely, very spacious and well decorated, nice lighting, and importantly a very comfortable bed with plenty of pillows to choose from so that you can get the combination that is just right for you. In the corner there was a small washroom space – shower cubicle and sink and then right outside the door on the landing a toilet and another shower. The room was clean, fresh and welcoming. And it is so often the little touches that make a place special, such as the bottled water and chocolates waiting on the coffee table in my room.

There are no kettles etc in the rooms, but in the dining room there is a kettle and drinks for you to help yourself to anytime of day or night. Usually a B&B that has drinks facilities in the rooms has some sachets of coffee and a few teabags with four tiny little milk servings. Here there is just about any type of herbal tea you could think of, coffee, decaf, builder’s brew tea, decaf builder’s brew, hot chocolate, fresh milk, fruit juices, soft drinks and a big jar of biscuits to help yourself to.

Downstairs there is a TV room to relax with other guests in, both nights I ended up sat down chatting with other guests into the night. And of course there is also the dining room, this is one large table that everyone gathers around for breakfast and dinner … meal times should be social times, and both John and Simon (the other member of staff working during my stay) are great hosts – ensuring you have everything you need, and offering delicious home cooked food. If you have a big appetite you should definitely try John's Big One for breakfast!

I left on the final morning completely relaxed, mission accomplished for the weekend, and thinking “I could just go sod it and stay for another night” which is always good sign for any trip!

Hamilton Hall does have clothing optional policy that may not be to everyone’s taste. But to me it is a place of tolerance, spirituality, retreat and laughter where everyone is encouraged to be themselves and to look after themselves. As Barbra Streisand once said “You have got to discover you, what you do, and trust it.” And this is a fantastic place to help do just that.

It really is like your home away from home where you don't have to cook. I look forward to coming back again soon, either to a workshop or just for a trip away. It is one of the two best gay B&B’s I have stayed in – and I noticed some business cards for the other on my way out. Highly recommended!

And for those who have seen the Three In A Bed episode, it didn’t take me very long at a to realise just how fabulous John is.

Room Tip: Room 3 was delightful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FozzyO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    11
    1
    2
    6
See reviews for
Families
0
19
59
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2011

Nice place, clean, plenty of space. Other guests seemed friendly. Helpful staff and lovely dog. The owner is very chatty and doesn't tolerate intolerant people, which is a bit of a dichotomy really.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Smigggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2011

I stayed here a while back, alone, and hated it. It felt claustrophobic, cliquey and intense and I felt that the place was very much run around the personality of the owner and less around providing for the guest's comfort. If you like the owner and vice versa great but is that what one expects from a B&B? I imagine I will get a snooty management response claiming I never stayed here or some such nonsense but nevermind!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
41 Thank Chrispatcham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
slammer9, Owner at Hamilton Hall, responded to this review, 3 August 2011
You only have to read the reviews left here to see that most people understand and appreciate what Hamilton Hall is all about and when someone 'doesn't get the point' - especially as our web site makes it crystal clear - then I have to say that some people only understand a larger more impersonal feel of a corporate giant chain of hotels - where they can enjoy the anonymity, the prison cell of a room, the isolation, loneliness and aloofness that comes from larger more impersonal venues that some people enjoy hiding in. That's fine.

Hamilton Hall is a venue with personality and openly encourages conversation on life, death and the universe, and this quirky venue with large Victorian rooms and a bohemian contemporary feel and with a peaceful, healing atmosphere - offers so much more for mind, body and soul, and if someone 'doesn't get it' - and misses the point, then maybe it is down to them to keep searching for what they do want, if - that is - they know what it is that will make them happy - as some people just love to moan - and I won't entertain those negative thoughts. It's too depressing.
Hamilton Hall is about fun, laughter, learning, growing, enjoying, being more - and if you are happy where you are and do not want to stretch and reach higher - then there is always the Premier Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2011

I have stayed in many a gay hotel in the UK and as a rule they tend be overpriced and on the whole dreafful value for money.

However for once The Hamiliton Hall provides a decent level of accomadation that was very clean and tidy. Based in a large old Victorian house all the rooms are decorated to a good standard with large comfy beds and plenty of room to stretch out. All rooms are called a name, mine was "love"! I had a shower and sink but the toilet was next door so no major dramas. The hotel was spotlessly clean with a permenant staff of two cleaners doing their stuff. I always make a point of looking at cleaniness and there was nothing untoward here.

There is a large TV room and a quiet room plus a small garden for the smokers. Breakfast is of a continental type with Full English at extra cost. You all sit around a large table so there is plenty of chances to meet the other guests. The kitchen is next door and is also spotless. Loads of choices of food, tea and coffee etc.

There is no tea making facilities in rooms but you are welcomed to go make what ever you want from the breakfast room. Also there are no TV's or radios in the rooms. However you do have free Wi/Fi.

One thing you do notice it's quiet, very quiet as the road is off a main road and in a quiet street.

Good links by bus to other parts of the coast including Poole. It's about 1 1/2 miles from the nearest train station and town centre.

Room Tip: Any is ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alantheskinhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basildon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2011

This was my second stay, i had previously stayed for the Weekend Massage course. I have to say on both occasions i was made to feel like family and i loved it. If you're coming to stay for a night or to stay for one of the weekend workshops i'm sure you will love it. The quality of the well furnished rooms is second to none, and the food is excellent as well. If you come for one of the workshops, it's nice to see that people are asked to leave attitude and body fascism at the door - it's not welcome and rightfully so.

All meals are eaten together around the one table, and all guest's input to the discussion is welcome. Also the banter between John and his co workers adds up to a real fun environment where the guests are treated like family

Room Tip: Book Early if you can to get the room you want
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.3 km away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#13 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,378 reviews
4.1 km away
Riviera Hotel & Holiday Apartments
2.6 km away
Hampton by Hilton Bournemouth
Hampton by Hilton Bournemouth
#11 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Hotel Miramar
Hotel Miramar
#9 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
2.3 km away
Norfolk Royale Hotel
Norfolk Royale Hotel
#20 of 66 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,774 reviews
2.1 km away
Premier Inn Bournemouth Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamilton Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamilton Hall

Property: Hamilton Hall
Address: 1 Carysfort Road, Bournemouth BH1 4EJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 25 Speciality Lodging in Bournemouth
Price range (per night): $79 - $192
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As seen on national & international TV. Clothing Optional. Men Only. Retreat style hotel. Some room sharing. Private rooms also. Specializing in events for gay / bisexual men. Very informal & friendly. Like nowhere you have stayed at before. Huge repeat custom. As seen on Channel 4's '3 In A Bed' programme (April & August 2010) to huge acclaim. Open since March 2000 and going from strength to strength. Newly refurbished and decorated - newly double glazed - all for your comfort and enjoyment. Massive Diary of Events throughout the year offering workshops - seminars etc. on Sexual - Self and Spiritual development of mind, body and soul. The only venue like it in all of Europe. Women only events also available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hamilton Hall Hotel Bournemouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing