We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely chicken satay”
Review of Sambal Tumis

Sambal Tumis
Ranked #147 of 829 Restaurants in Bournemouth
Price range: USD 3 - USD 16
Description: Sambal Tumis is a family run restaurant offering the very best of Malaysian cuisine. We aim to give you a truly Malaysian food treating experience you'll never forget.
Restaurant details
Description: Sambal Tumis is a family run restaurant offering the very best of Malaysian cuisine. We aim to give you a truly Malaysian food treating experience you'll never forget.
Reviewed 17 May 2018 via mobile

We visited for dinner and was impressed with the simple but tasty menu on offer. We started with the chicken satayskewrs which I could eat double portions as it’s so nice. The satay sauce is not too spicy but full of peanuts. Had acak a salad with roti canai which came with a daal curry.

Thank leenyu3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliver T, Director of Sales at Sambal Tumis, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2018

Glad you enjoyed our food. Looking forward to seeing you again. Thanks for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (52)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 46 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2018

When I entered the atmosphere overwhelmed my family and I. We sat down and naan bread was given to us in a matter of seconds. Then, was ordered some starters and would you believe the Malaysian taste. For main I tucked into some noodles, they topped of the meal!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank X7882GMoliverh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliver T, Director of Sales at Sambal Tumis, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2018

Thanks for the positive feedback. Do follow us on Facebook as every now and then we tend to promote new dishes on our specials menu.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2018

I came here with my wife and 2 young daughters and my 2 brothers for Dinner . We ordered Pandan rice , Beef Rendang, Chicken Curry , Roti with dal curry and Noodles and of course Beef Satay , all the food was very good and we did not have wait long for a Saturday , The Rendang was very good and so was the satay but for a simple dish that was good was the Roti Chani with Dal Curry , The staff and service was very good and if you want wine and beer , by your own next door . All in all a welcome change to Chinese and Indian restaurants

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank williamjc55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliver T, Director of Sales at Sambal Tumis, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2018

Thanks for your review. We are glad you had a good time and we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2018 via mobile

Food is good, always use fresh ingredient, we all love the food we order , Sambal tumis not sale alcohol but you can buy alcohol next door , so come and try asian food

Thank Kusmirah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliver T, Director of Sales at Sambal Tumis, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2018

Thanks for your support. We hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2018 via mobile

Authentic Malaysian dishes that cannot be found elsewhere in Bournemouth. A simple menu delivered to a high standard and felt like good value. Would welcome a few more specials in the future to add a bit more variety when we go back.

Thank Leigh W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliver T, Director of Sales at Sambal Tumis, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2018

Many thanks for the feedback. We always strive to make our customers happy. On our Facebook page, we often upload specials of the week as well as traditional Malaysian kuehs ( cakes ) . Do let us know what you miss most and we might just add it to one of our specials.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sambal Tumis also viewed

 
Bournemouth, Dorset
 
Bournemouth, Dorset
 

Been to Sambal Tumis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing