We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday suprìse for my best friend ”
Review of Sambal Tumis

Sambal Tumis
Ranked #151 of 835 Restaurants in Bournemouth
Price range: USD 3 - USD 16
Description: Sambal Tumis is a family run restaurant offering the very best of Malaysian cuisine. We aim to give you a truly Malaysian food treating experience you'll never forget.
Restaurant details
Description: Sambal Tumis is a family run restaurant offering the very best of Malaysian cuisine. We aim to give you a truly Malaysian food treating experience you'll never forget.
Reviewed 13 May 2018 via mobile

Food is good, always use fresh ingredient, we all love the food we order , Sambal tumis not sale alcohol but you can buy alcohol next door , so come and try asian food

Thank Kusmirah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliver T, Director of Sales at Sambal Tumis, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2018

Thanks for your support. We hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (58)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 55 of 58 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2018 via mobile

Authentic Malaysian dishes that cannot be found elsewhere in Bournemouth. A simple menu delivered to a high standard and felt like good value. Would welcome a few more specials in the future to add a bit more variety when we go back.

Thank Leigh W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliver T, Director of Sales at Sambal Tumis, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2018

Many thanks for the feedback. We always strive to make our customers happy. On our Facebook page, we often upload specials of the week as well as traditional Malaysian kuehs ( cakes ) . Do let us know what you miss most and we might just add it to one of our specials.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2018 via mobile

Really good food. Excellent selection of authentic Malaysian dishes. The staff were very friendly and helpful with advice about making choices from the menu. We will certainly come again and recommend to our friends.
Len.

Thank DocLen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliver T, Director of Sales at Sambal Tumis, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2018

Hi Len, thanks for your positive feedback. We are are glad you have been well informed by our staff and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2018 via mobile

We ate at sambal tumis as a couple one evening last week.
The atmosphere was Nice, it was quite busy but we only booked half an hour in advance and got a table no issues.
The staff were very friendly, and we spoke to what must have been 3 generations ( of the same family) at different points of the night who were all very helpful and talked to us about the food and about Malaysia.
The food was good, particularly the beef rendang.
Understandably they don't serve alcohol, although I'm not sure if you can BYOB.
The price was reasonable but not cheap. Overall we had a lovely evening and would come back. And I particularly recommend engaging the waiting staff in conversation as they are all lovely.

1  Thank daniel y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliver T, Director of Sales at Sambal Tumis, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2018

Thanks Daniel for your positive feedback. Its reviews like yours encourages us to do better. We are new and always welcome ideas and suggestions .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2018 via mobile

What a fabulous find!
The food was delicious, fresh, full of flavour and character and beautifully presented.

Delicious spices and fresh herbs, unusual menu of drinks ( try the rose and lime it’s delicious!)

The owner and staff are enthusiastic and knowledgeable about their food, the chef altered my meal to take into account my allergies.

Such a lovely meal, we will definitely go again!

Thank sardoris71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliver T, Director of Sales at Sambal Tumis, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2018

Thank you for your generous review. We aim to give our customers 110% all the way. We hope to see you soon. Do introduce yourself next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sambal Tumis also viewed

Bournemouth, Dorset
 
Bournemouth, Dorset
 
Bournemouth, Dorset
 

Been to Sambal Tumis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing