We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing views of Torbay”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
6 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Torquay, English Riviera, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Heather M
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Amazing views of Torbay”
Reviewed 14 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016
2
people found this review helpful

The apartment is amazing in several ways. The rooms are huge and tastefully furnished and the views are amazing of Torbay. You can get to the balcony from two of the bedrooms or the lounge. We spent hours just sitting on the balcony. We arrived on 5th November so we spent the first evening just watching fireworks from the balcony. If you can stop looking at the view the rooms themselves are awesome. The main bedroom and the lounge are large with high ceilings. The only small room is the kitchen. That wasn't a problem for us as we went out for dinner every day. The kitchen has everything you need.
The only problems we had was that sadly the Jacuzzi is out of use and it is difficult to change the temperatures in the main bedroom.
The huge garage was very useful as the parking is bad along the road (the only problem being the dip from the road to the path made it difficult not to scrape the car bumper). It was really good to be able to walk straight from the garden to Rock Walk and then down to the harbour.
I would highly recommend this place to everyone. We would certainly stay here again when we come back to visit the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: Not being able to change the temperature in main bedroom
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon C
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Stunning apartment, wonderful views...”
Reviewed 5 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016
2
people found this review helpful

My family and I spent one week at this apartment. Firstly, the property manager was very helpful and lovely. She arranged for us to stay at this apartment via bluechipholidays.co.uk at very short notice. She is a credit to the property owner and to Torquay. The apartment was spotless, large, light and airy. It has a massive lounge with wonderful views of Torbay with access to a 20 metre long balcony! There are two, two seat sofas and two bucket or tub chairs in the lounge. The room is beautifully decorated. It has a very large television, free wi-fi and a dining table with six chairs. The kitchen is compact, but contains everything you need including a dishwasher and a washing machine. The hallway is large and beautifully tiled. The main master bedroom is tastefully decorated. There is a large amount of storage space and a television. The master bedroom also has access to the large balcony. The windows in the master bedroom are lovely with amazing views. The en suite bathroom is stunning with a walk in shower, bath, bidet and sink. It is very large and stunning. The second bedroom is also lovely and benefits from patio doors, which lead to the balcony. Again, this room benefits from fabulous views. It also has a television and has wooden floors. The bed is comfortable. The third bedroom is a twin with a walk in shower, toilet and sink. It is a nice bedroom which has lots of wardrobe space and a chaise lounge. This room is ideal for kids. This apartment is rated four star platinum, though I can see it gaining five stars at its next review. Neither my family nor I would have any hesitation in staying at this apartment again or recommending it to family or friends. The apartment comes with a large electric garage, just to the right of the front door. The property is accessed from the street and would be suitable for the elderly or disabled. However, if you are elderly or disabled you may need help to get onto the balcony, because there is a large 'lip' step to overcome. All of us look forward to staying at this apartment again in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The wonderful views!
Liked least: Going home!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ollie7007
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wow, that view!!”
Reviewed 19 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012
3
people found this review helpful

This was the second time I've stayed at the Ocean Shangri-La. What hits you when you first walk in is the view from the two main bedrooms and the sitting room - these rooms that all have huge floor-to-ceiling windows looking out onto the bay and a big balcony linking them all.
Other reasons we came back were Gloria, the wonderfully glamorous house-keeper, the size of the rooms (the flat's very spacey) and the location - a shared garden leads straight down to the harbour. There's also a large garage which is handy. Looking forward to going back next year...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and the space
Liked least: It rained a lot!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fayejoann...
Barnard Castle, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely apartment, excellent location”
Reviewed 10 July 2012 for a stay in June 2012
6
people found this review helpful

I stayed here in June with my family which included 2 young children. The apartment was huge especially the master bedroom and living room, plenty of space for the children to play and the views were amazing. The house was really clean with lots of amenities we couldn't fault it, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views and space
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BorisNort...
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very good location, clean, with garage but be prepared for the steps!”
Reviewed 1 September 2011 for a stay in August 2011
3
people found this review helpful

We stayed here in August 2011 as part of our very first visit to Torquay. We paid more than the average and we received more than an average apartment (I would call it a flat, but others call them apartments!).

This ‘flat’ benefits from its own front door, which is a very nice bonus - but not as nice a bonus as the excellent and very large garage which means that the obvious parking problems suffered in the area were of no concern to us. I really feel for others staying in the other flats though, the street was full of cars day and night and spaces were VERY rare! The garage has a push button opener/closer which works very well and you could fit a tank in there it’s so big!!

Inside the flat itself are 3 bedrooms; the master one is HUGE and has great views of the harbour and the beach, a HUGE en-suite, shower, bath etc, and lots of cupboards. It also has a TV which didn't work at all for us (it’s a Freeview one and we couldn't get any signal so it was a bit pointless it being there to be honest). The second bedroom also has great views, is quite spacious (no en-suite though) and has glass doors to the hallway, which might be a bit of a problem for people sharing the flat, although there were curtains which would provide some privacy, but not for sound - so you'd need to be careful what you got up to in that room because everyone would hear :) The third bedroom wasn't used by us, well it was used by my daughter’s cuddly toys as their room, but to be honest if there were 3 couples sharing one of the couples would be very annoyed. The third bedroom has no views, is MUCH smaller, although it does have an en-suite (no bath, just shower) and if I'm honest it didn't smell very nice, a bit stale really unlike the rest of the flat. This didn’t bother us at all as we didn’t need to use that room.

The kitchen was very well equipped, but also very small. Everything is there though; washing machine, dryer, dishwasher, lots of stuff to cook with and it is open to the living area which is HUGE and also has great views. The TV is good (no Freeview problems with this one) and has a DVD player. Plenty of seating, but again perhaps not quite enough for 3 sharing couples so beware.

The living area and bedrooms 1 and 2 all open on to the balcony which is a great asset and no doubt you'll have seen this on the advert for this flat. We used it some of the time, but as the weather wasn't great we didn't spend too long out there. If the sun was out my wife would have lived out there I'm sure! It did provide an excellent position to view the fireworks over the sea which was nice.

So generally a very nice place, although it’s not cheap so I personally expected it to be very good. It is not without some problems though, although some are out of the control of the owner I imagine.

We suffered from noise from the flat above. I think they had a couple of kids who seems to run around from 8am till 8pm everyday and the noise on the ceiling of the living area was very bad. Also, the stairs to the upstairs flats went over the kitchen/living area and it was very noisy too. But as I say, not the fault of the owner just really a consequence of renting a flat in a larger building. We also had a problem with no hot water and I had to restore the pressure to the combi boiler (when filling a bath you need to open the hot tap ‘enough’ but not ‘too much’ or you just get cold water)

Overall, I'd definitely stay again (although see final comment) - I only wish the weather was a bit warmer in Torquay when we went. However, it’s not somewhere I’d recommended taking a larger party because the 3rd bedroom really is a bit of a letdown for the whole property.

Final comments; the flat is up high by the coast so there are a LOT of steps. And I mean a lot, over 100 down (and back up again!) to the harbour. Also, forgot to mention there is WiFi there which is VERY fast, about 10MB much better than most places. Last comment, the walk through the gardens was again full of steps and also a VERY strong smell of, well, dog poo!! We just walked through the garden quickly!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views and garage so no parking problems
Liked least: Third bedroom stands out as being poor.
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing