We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loved it!”
Review of The Elmdene

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Elmdene
Ranked #13 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“loved it!”
Reviewed 4 October 2011

This hotel was the nicest small hotel we have ever stayed in. Carol and andy made you feel so welcome from the word go, nothing was to much trouble for them.
It was spotless and smelt lovely when you walked in, and decorated to a high standard.So it was no surprise that the rooms were also beautifully decorated and had nice little touches, such as,, delicious fudge and proper ground coffee.fluffy bath robes and good quality toiletries.Even a torch for when you get up in the night, so you dont have to put a bright light on.
we stayed in rooms 6 and 7 and both were of the same high standard, and as we decided to stay an extra night, our booked room was not available, so carol moved us to a differrent room.and said leave all your things and go and enjoy your day and it will be done for us, when we arrived back all our things had been neatly put away, now that is what i call really looking after your guests.
The breakfasts!! need i say more, were delicious and again the quality of the produce used, which was locally sourced and really tasty, cooked to perfection by carol, Andy was chatty and always had a little word with each guest whilst taking our orders.
Both carol and andy are such nice people and really do all they can to make your stay the best, and i have to say they certainly will be seeing us again, our only disapointment is we wont be able to stay with you again until next year as you are not open through the winter, But we look forward to seeing you in march, thank you both for a great five days. .maggie and mark

Room Tip: rooms 7 and 8 are on the top floor and two flights of stairs, but andy is always on hand to carry an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bettyboo737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    494
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
46
402
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

This wonderful hotel is very worthy of the excellent reviews it constantly recieves. we had a short stay mon 26th - fri 30th sept and had room no.1 which we both agreed was far beyond our expectations,very spacious,spotlessly clean,comfortable and decorated to a very high standard with beautiful co-ordinating bedding and furnishings. The quality toiletries and complimentery drinks tray along with plush his and hers dressing gowns were much apreciated.The breakfasts are exceptional and cooked to order with everything you can think of and plenty of it!! Andy and Carol were excellent hosts and made us feel very welcome, they both make sure you want for nothing and share their home with you. The hotel is close to the train station and bus stops, ideal for getting around.We will return to Torquay for a longer break next time and will definately be staying at the Elmdene

Room Tip: room 1 is on the front corner and has a large window on front and an extra window on side
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

Everything was excellent, from the first welcome to the goodbye wishes for a safe journey home, Our room was all anyone could wish for with so much thought from decor to supply of toiletries and it was spotless. The breakfast was really delicious, especially the porridge! I was unfortunate to fall over in the harbour and returned to the hotel shook up bruised and sore, Andy and Carol were so kind and produced ice pack and first aid equipment straight away, beyond any expectations. What a lovely couple I wish them every success they truly deserve it .
This lovely small Hotel is located within a short walk to the Conference Centre, railway station
and seafront, with bus stops outside. The views to the front overlook the park and playing
fields, their own car park being very useful for local trips.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hunter137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool
1 review
Reviewed 1 October 2011

We stayed at the Elmdene for six nights and we wish we could have stayed longer.From the moment we arrived we were made very welcome and after a long journey it was lovely to have a coffee and biscuits brought up to our room. Carol and Andy were excellent hosts that went out of their way to ensure we enjoyed our stay. The room was immaculate and spacious it had lovely furnishings with added luxuries, the bed was also very comfortable. The breakfasts were excellent with plenty of choices.The hotel is in an excellent location and the hospitality could not be faulted in any way. I arranged flowers, champagne and chocolates for our arrival and Carol ensured everything was perfect for our arrival. We met some very friendly people and we will definitely be returning in the future.

Room Tip: Try the superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, Essex
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2011

My husband and I stayed here for five days mid September. This is the best hotel we have ever stayed in within the UK. There is nothing that the very friendly owners could do to make the hotel or our stay any better. The room was faultless with many extras even 5 star hotels do not provide. Breakfast was freshly cooked and beautifully presented, wonderful coffee and all ingredients sourced locally if possible. We will be back as we loved it so much.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sadpuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.9 km away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,751 reviews
0.3 km away
The 25 Boutique B&B
The 25 Boutique B&B
#1 of 149 in Torquay
304 reviews
1.2 km away
The Albaston Boutique B&B
The Albaston Boutique B&B
#2 of 149 in Torquay
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Glendower Bed and Breakfast
0.9 km away
The Charterhouse
The Charterhouse
#7 of 149 in Torquay
771 reviews
1.9 km away
Haytor Hotel
Haytor Hotel
#7 of 87 in Torquay
1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elmdene? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elmdene

Property: The Elmdene
Address: Rathmore Road, Torquay TQ2 6NZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price range (per night): $165 - $202
Hotel Class:5 star — The Elmdene 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elmdene is quality 5 star visit britain graded guest accommodation, situated on the level in a tree lined road opposite open parkland. We have six en-suite bedrooms, we offer free onsite parking and free wi-fi. We are a short level walk to the seafront, train station and conference centre. The town and harbour are within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, Wotif.com, Priceline, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, Booking.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Elmdene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elmdene Hotel Torquay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing