We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we will be back”
Review of Southbank Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Southbank Hotel
Ranked #45 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 August 2011

the family room was lovely, it was light and airy and very well decorated. We were very well looked after during our stay and nothing was ever too much trouble. The breakfast was lovely and plenty to choose from.
The location was good it was a 5 minute stroll to the seafront and a 10 minute walk to the town centre. We are pleased to have found a nice bed and breakfast that we will return to.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovesey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (155)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

131 - 135 of 155 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2011

We have just returned home to Northern Ireland after spending a lovely week in Torquay. It was our first visit to the South of England, and we were so impressed. The success of our week was in a large part contributed to the Southbank Hotel. We explored the local area each day and it was really nice to return to such a nice hotel in the evening. Everything was perfectly clean and everyone very friendly, not to mention the perfectly cooked breakfast. It was our first visit to The Southbank and Torquay, but, we certainly hope it will not be our last.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RosemaryC186470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

Melvyn Bragg, from the TV programme the South Bank Show, is nowhere in sight. Instead, Ian and Marie run the show at the Southbank ......... and what a great job they are doing.

Me, my wife and 2 youngest daughters, aged 13 and 11, continued our travels with a 4 night stay at the Southbank. We stayed in room 3, a quad ensuite on the rear corner with windows overlooking Scarborough Road and a back street running parallel to Belgrave Road. We had 2 inter-connected rooms (one with a double bed and the other 2 singles), together with bathroom which included bath and shower. Flat screen TV's were in both rooms and one room had a fridge within the wardrobe. Attention to detail was everywhere - from the complimentary bottled water, coffee, teas and biscuits to the bathroom toiletries and double quilted toilet paper.

A selection of cereals, fruit and yoghurt were available at breakfast. Additionally, a full English or choice of filled omelettes were freshly cooked to order. The food could not be faulted.

The last time I stayed in Torquay was 43 years ago with my parents. We stayed in a B&B a short walk uphill from the centre and I'll always remember peering through the gap in the gate at the fantastic house next door. After returning home, we were later staggered to see our Torquay landlord on the TV being interviewed on the 6 O'Clock news. It turned out that our next door neighbour was Bruce Richard Reynolds (one of the Great Train Robbers) and he had just been arrested. I'm not sure why it's taken me so long to return to Torquay.

Whilst on the subject of TV, on Saturday night 6th August, we decided to eat out at The Inn @ The Grosvenor, a large hotel further down Belgrave Road. On arrival at the reception / bar, we were immmediately whisked inside the restaurant by the Head Waiter who was gushingly effusive. He passed us on to a female waitress who seated us a few tables from a couple who were the only ones dining at the time. A different waitress took our drinks order, quickly followed by a Polish waiter who took our food order. All 4, particularly the Head Waiter, kept coming back at regular intervals to check on things. Both my wife and I were slightly bemused and suspicious at all the OTT cheerful attention we were getting. We got the feeling something didn't feel right. Then, all became clear when a lady dressed in jeans with a headset came from behind the scenes to speak to us. She announced she worked for Channel 4 and that they were making a "fly on the wall" programme called "The Hotel" (due to be screened April 2012). There were remote controlled CCTV type cameras in 2 of the corners and she wanted to check we were OK if any footage that included ourselves was used. As the restaurant filled, it was amusing to watch the Head Waiter doing his best Basil Fawlty act in front of the cameras. Look out also for the 4 glamorous grans who seemed to be Torquay's answer to the Brighton Belles or the Golden Girls.

That's enough discussion about other TV programmes - let's get back to the Southbank show. In conclusion, Ian and Marie at the Southbank are both really pleasant and they provide a B&B experience which "The Hotel Inspector" would find hard to fault. I would highly recommend the Southbank for a short break.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PhilipJ777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

We have just returned from a week at the Southbank. We were in the family room which is excellent value for money. The hosts, Ian and Marie were very friendly and helpful, the other staff were also very friendly.

We stayed on a bed and Breakfast basis and have no complaints about the quality of the rooms or the breakfasts.

The location of the hotel is excellent with local shops nearby, a five minute walk to the beach and probably a ten minute walk to town. There is also a road train which stops opposite the hotel and takes you into the Town.

All in all an excellent stay at this hotel and if we go back to Torquay we will be staying here.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikeinsthelens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2011

Ian and Marie always do their best to make all their guest comfortable . Cannot fnd any faults with it . pitty the sun did not shine more , but would never stay anywhere else in torquay .

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellinggirlsKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.3 km away
Kelvin House Hotel
Kelvin House Hotel
#44 of 85 in Torquay
75 reviews
0.1 km away
The Patricia Guest House
The Patricia Guest House
#50 of 85 in Torquay
105 reviews
0.2 km away
Abbeyfield Hotel
Abbeyfield Hotel
#8 of 85 in Torquay
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 km away
Trelawney Hotel
Trelawney Hotel
#27 of 85 in Torquay
142 reviews
0.4 km away
The Cimon
The Cimon
#16 of 85 in Torquay
416 reviews
0.6 km away
The Richwood
The Richwood
#52 of 85 in Torquay
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southbank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southbank Hotel

Address: 15-17 Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 85 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range: $99 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Southbank Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, getaroom.com and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Southbank Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing