We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good afternoon but a bit overpriced ”

Babbacombe Model Village
Book In Advance
More Info
USD 13.62*
and up
Babbacombe Model Village
Ranked #2 of 69 things to do in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Babbacombe Model Village is Torquay's most popular and visited attraction. Representing British life and culture over the last five decades all in miniature. Animated scenes, along with touches of very English humour bring it all to life. Taking you on a fun, informative and nostalgic trip through the 60s, 70s, 80s, 90s to present day, it has appeal for all ages. Famous for its lovely setting in 4 acres of award-winning gardens that are a delight to experience all year round. NOTE: Opening times signify the admission times - opening to latest entry.
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

It was a good way to spend the afternoon as there is lots to look at and do, with the attention to detail being amazing! However I think that the price is rather high for what you get, but I would still return.

Thank Harry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
themodelvillage, Manager at Babbacombe Model Village, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Thank you for coming to see is and it's great to hear that you enjoyed your visit. We do our best to keep prices down, but the Model Village is a very expensive place to maintain and run - even one small model costs several thousand and we have 10 skilled full time members of staff to keep it all looking good. The prices do include VAT at 20%. Thank you for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,337)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"attention to detail"
in 257 reviews
"fire breathing dragon"
in 100 reviews
"cinema experience"
in 35 reviews
"the dragon"
in 51 reviews
"lit up"
in 46 reviews
"all ages"
in 211 reviews
"up to date"
in 73 reviews
"well worth a visit"
in 227 reviews
"free return"
in 33 reviews
"mini golf"
in 54 reviews
"crazy golf"
in 73 reviews
"hard work"
in 51 reviews
"couple of hours"
in 121 reviews
"few hours"
in 118 reviews
"sense of humour"
in 46 reviews
"return visit"
in 32 reviews
"gift shop"
in 99 reviews
Filter

242 - 246 of 3,337 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2018

We thought this visit to Babbacombe Model Village would take about half an hour on our way elsewhere. We were wrong. There was so much to see and appreciate that we were there so much longer and had to suspend our intended destination for another day. It was the detail and the variety of the models that absorbed us as well as the puns on the adverts and the shop fronts. We were treated to town, village and city life ,but also to castles, harbours and canals , to quarrying , football games and so much more . A ticket here allows a second visit in a single week. I'm thinking of returning to see the sight illuminated by night.

Thank Jill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
themodelvillage, Manager at Babbacombe Model Village, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Thank you for coming to see us and for your great review. It is great you have highlighted how long the visit takes, as the saying goes.... if I had a £1 for every time someone says they wished they had allowed longer.....

We promote that 1.5-2 hours is the typical time taken and what we would recommend.

For anyone planning a visit, as a bare minimum you need 1 hour, but to ensure you don't miss the finer detail and hidden gems, you need to allow at least 1.5 hours. If you wish to include the 4D theatre and lunch as well, then you need to be allowing at least 2 to 2.5 hours

Thanks again for your review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

It was raining, but we managed to see it between showers. The 4D theatre was fun, We did the Easter egg hunt trial as well. The figures are amusing and there is plenty to see. Not a huge place but it still took us over an hour to look at it all properly! They have some model boats you pay a pound for if you want to, and free crazy golf that we did during a rainy period. It was very interesting, my daughter enjoyed it too.

Thank Jetsetter d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
themodelvillage, Manager at Babbacombe Model Village, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Thank you for coming to see us, even in the rain, and for your very kind review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

Don’t visit Torquay without coming here. Can’t describe how amazing this incredible place is. Whoever designed this place and all the brilliant workmanship deserves an award. It will take your breath away. Never experienced anything like this before.

Thank Chaddylad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
themodelvillage, Manager at Babbacombe Model Village, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Thank you for visiting us and for your great review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2018

great attraction for all the family all ages idea for disable people even better when lit at nighttime

Thank Paul E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
themodelvillage, Manager at Babbacombe Model Village, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Thank you for visiting and for your kind review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Babbacombe Model Village also viewed

Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to Babbacombe Model Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing