We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not happy”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Bancourt Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bancourt Hotel
Ranked #85 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not happy”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

I stayed in this hotel on sat 10th march,room was terrible with old bunk beds,the deposit you have to pay is to high,I have previously stayed in the grand hotel near the train station,yet I didn't have to pay a deposit,while at the bar I got talking to a large hen night group from Plymouth and they stated how they had to pay £1800 deposit in case of any damage,a lot of this group were over 40 so I wouldn't of expected this group to cause damage.As for the breakfast well one word(shocking)all pre-cooked as when I ordered my breakfast they were in and out of kitchen in under a minute,bacon was dry sausage was hard to cut not nice at all.avoid like a plague.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank lacosteUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    64
    34
    24
    39
See reviews for
37
72
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
plymouth
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

i dont know how they can call them selfs an hotel? more like a hostel for down and outs.old bunk beds ha i thought they were having a joke when they showed me our room . then they asked for £100 deposites each which they never mentioned when booking . the staff were rude and what they called breakfast well wont go there 1 off or may be the worst hotels i have ever stayed in so i would well advise stay away ......

Room Tip: no good rooms from what we saw
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank henry s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Torquay hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

I stayed at the Bancourt recently with a group of people.
It was an organised weekend and I, my husband and our friends, enjoyed our stay. The hotel staff were both friendly and courteous, and although the rooms were in need of a spruce up, they were clean and warm.
I have stayed in much more luxurious Hotels in the past so am used to good service and found the Bancourt had this in abundance.
I had a thoroughly good time there and will certainly visit again next year!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniella D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

Recently returned from a long weekend with a group of 70 people. The hotel is very shabby and extremely cold. Some of the group are older and felt the cold more and everyone's room was too cold for comfort. The manager did bring one room a plug in radiator but that was hardly enough. Hot water was also a problem. Most of the staff are pleasant and do a good job but the night porter has a huge problem with attitude. He is very threatening and rude. Bar prices are very expensive and you dont always get the double measure you pay for. The food is average but no more. The owners of the hotel could do with a lesson in good manners as they also are rude and confrontational if you attempt to complain. I would never stay there again and never reccommend it.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms in this shabby hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lindawales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

My family and I stayed at the Bancourt Hotel over the new year first time there. We would certainly stay again, had a fantastic time. The food was nice and the entertainment was very enjoyable through the day and evening. The staff went out of there way to be friendly and helpful.

We had a family room, separate bedroom with bunk beds which my 7 year old son thought was absolutely great. The price of the drinks in the bar are no more expensive than at my local pub back home in Leeds.

I would recommend this Hotel to anyone wanting an enjoyable holiday in Torquey.

We also found the owners Kim and Alan very welcoming and approachable. I was sat up a couple of nights with Alan one of the owners till the early hours chatting and sampling his collection of Malt Whiskeys.

The only regret we have about the Bancourt Hotel is that this was our first stay and I wish we had have spent more time there.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.7 km away
Marquis Hotel
Marquis Hotel
#39 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
0.6 km away
Rainbow International Hotel
2.1 km away
Trecarn Hotel
Trecarn Hotel
#89 of 89 in Torquay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Cavendish Hotel
Cavendish Hotel
#55 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
1.8 km away
The Regina Hotel
The Regina Hotel
#60 of 89 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
0.3 km away
Brandize Hotel
Brandize Hotel
#27 of 89 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bancourt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bancourt Hotel

Property: Bancourt Hotel
Address: 55-65 Avenue Road, Torquay TQ2 5LG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Price range (per night): $97 - $131
Hotel Class:2 star — Bancourt Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Torquay, South Devon, at the Heart of the English Riviera, this family run no smoking hotel is perfect for exploring the surrounding Devon coast and countryside. The Bancourt is open all year and offers great value for money. The hotel makes an ideal destination for groups, individuals and families, whether you are looking for a short break or holiday. You can relax and make use of the hotels facilities. We have a large secluded gardens, WiFi available at no charge and Car Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your Bancourt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bancourt Hotel Torquay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing