We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
USD 179
USD 149
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
USD 236
USD 143
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 171/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 120
USD 102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 122/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 163
USD 147
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
USD 178
USD 173
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 179
USD 173
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 145
USD 137
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ascot House Hotel(Torquay)
USD 121
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 120
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,210)
Filter reviews
1,210 results
Traveller rating
1,173
33
3
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,173
33
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden suitefresh milkevery afternoonlittle touchesroll top baththoughtful touchesextra touchesjunior suitehome made cakescomfortable bedthought of everythinghigh standardbreakfast was amazingsmall hotelsecond to nonelittle gembottled water
Filter
Updating list...
69 - 74 of 1,210 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights over Easter and had a fantastic time. Peter and Helen are wonderful hosts and the bnb has a great homely feel. We couldn't have felt more welcome

The Somerville suite had a comfortable king size bed, separate seating area and a tv in the bathroom. Perfect for long soaks!

Breakfast lived up to its award winning reputation and the afternoon cake was a nice treat too. We were even left an Easter chocolate bunny, which just highlights how thoughtful they are.

Thank you again and look forward to staying with you in the future. Love to Coco.

Katie & Adrian

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank KatiePrice1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2018 via mobile

We stayed at The Somerville for 2 nights and thoroughly enjoyed it. When we arrived we were greeted by Peter, our host, who made us feel very welcome. Our room was lovely and comfortable, beautifully clean and well equipped with everything you could possibly need while away from home. It’s only a 5 min walk down the road to the harbour, where there are plenty of bars, pubs and restaurants. Peter was also able to give us lots of advice and recommendations on what to do and where to eat while we were in Torquay. One of the ‘stand out’ things about our stay here was the breakfast....it was absolute perfection both mornings! Cooked to order using lovely fresh local ingredients our full english was really delicious and really set us up for the day. We ate at Hanburys fish and chip restaurant in Babbacombe one night, which I can also highly recommend (see my separate trip advisor review). The Somerville deserves its 5* rating and I can’t understand why anyone would give it anything less! We have already recommended it to family and friends, and that is a testament to how much we loved it. Thank you for a lovely stay!

Stayed: March 2018
1  Thank nannydel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2018

We stayed at the Somerville for two nights. Peter & Helen were excellent hosts they were friendly and welcoming. The room we stayed was lovely and very comfortable. The breakfast was excellent. Would highly recommend staying here.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Kerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2018

Communication with Peter the owner, before our visit was very good. We had to make arrangements as we were arriving late but he went out of his way to acomodate us.
The location of The Somerville was excellent. There is a large car park, which was a great asset as parking is very difficult in Torquay. The walk into the centre took just minutes & there are lot's of restaurants/pubs along the way. Peter will happily recommend places to go.
Check in was very simple & Peter showed us where everything was & took us to our room.
The room was lovely & comfortable. It had a large comfy bed, sofa, TV, radio, a range of tea & coffee facilities etc. Everything else you could imagine was there too, iron/ironing board, fan,hairdryer, a fridge, wine glasses, bottle opener & a book detailing everything & more that we needed to know. A lovely touch was the homemade cookies & little jar of sweets waiting for us. There is also fresh milk everyday & cake for the guests to enjoy.
The en-suite bathroom was very clean & modern with a large walk in shower. There were thick fluffy towels, bathrobes & all the luxury toiletries that you would need.
Breakfast was amazing! A large range of homemade cereals (as well as your mini Kellogg's boxes), homemade yoghurts, smoothies, fresh pastries/croissants, fresh fruit etc & then there's a vast range of cooked breakfast items, all cooked to order. So much choice & absolutely delicious. We didn't eat again all day after breakfast.
We stayed for 2 nights & would certainly stay at The Somerville again.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Kerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2018 via mobile

What a lovely place to stay. Not only in a lovely part of Torquay, but the The Somerville it's self is wonderful. The room was perfect and had a extremely comfortable bed. Great selection of breakfast in the morning. The owners are fantastic and really wanted us to enjoy our stay. Some great recommendations for places to visit. Throughly enjoyed our stay and will be strongly recommend it to friends and family

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank james w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews