We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splendid boutique hotel”
Review of The Somerville

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Somerville
Ranked #4 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 May 2012

We stayed here the beginning of February, unfortunately it could have been a better time than being in Torquay for a funeral, but the hotel was fantastic, the hosts were lovely and the 2 dachshunds are adorable, seriously recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GA42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,119)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

704 - 708 of 1,119 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2012

Just a follow up from my last review. I have been coming here for the past 3-4 years and have never been disappointed. The hotel has lost none of its charm and friendliness. Very comfortable, clean and lots of nice touches. The breakfast is also superb, with plenty of options including lots of fruit and proper muesli. The owners and staff are very friendly and helpful. I will definitely keep coming back.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Credacats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

We arrived at the Somerville quite late in the evening, and were greeted warmly and settled into our room very nicely. The bed was comfortable +++, and breakfast in the morning was beautifully presented and served, including fresh fruits. The proprietor went the extra mile and helped us figure out our rental car features, and phoned to arrange for our dinner at a lovely fish restaurant down the road. We rank The Somerville at the top of the 8 accommodation facilities we stayed at during our 3 week trip to UK. Thank you, Somerville for making our visit to Torquay such a pleasure.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackicam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

This is a fantastic B & B, we stayed in a deluxe suite and could not fault a thing, the suite was beautiful, with everything we needed, and more. The staff were very nice and friendly and the breakfasts were to die for. It is a 5 minute walk to the marina with plently to do. We will certainly go again. Would highly recommend this B & B.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulineW45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

The Hotel is fantastic, great location, very chic and extremely comfortable. The icing on the cake are the two hosts who treat you, as I imagine, they would like to be treated if they were to go away. The breakfast is great with plenty of variety and service is with a smile. Highly recommend this place and will certainly go again when given the opportunity. Garden room is amazing!

Room Tip: The garden suite is fantastic with sole use of the garden ( apart from Oscar and Hector the two dach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beverley I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.8 km away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,187 reviews
1.4 km away
The Albaston Boutique B&B
The Albaston Boutique B&B
#2 of 149 in Torquay
305 reviews
0.1 km away
The Redholme B&B
The Redholme B&B
#3 of 149 in Torquay
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 km away
The 25 Boutique B&B
The 25 Boutique B&B
#1 of 149 in Torquay
374 reviews
2.2 km away
The Charterhouse
The Charterhouse
#5 of 149 in Torquay
813 reviews
1.9 km away
The Cleveland
The Cleveland
#6 of 149 in Torquay
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Somerville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Somerville

Address: 515 Babbacombe Road, Torquay TQ1 1HJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: $116 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Somerville 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Somerville has many accolades including Devon B&B of the year for 2012/13 and recently received "Highly Commended" in Best B&B in vist South -West Awards. Centrally located with its own private car park and grounds. Choose from a standard room or lovely Deluxe rooms and spacious Suites; it's the ideal choice for both business travellers and leisure guests wanting a relaxing luxury break. The Somerville offers guests free parking and free wifi and extended breakfast times at weekends.Recently voted In Trivagos top 10 B&B`s in UK for value for money ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Somerville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Somerville Hotel Torquay
Somerville Hotel Torquay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing