We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very stylish hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Livermead House Hotel
Ranked #49 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Caerphilly
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A very stylish hotel.”
Reviewed 25 September 2012

A lovely hotel with old fashion charm.The staff are all very polite and helpful,the head waiter wears morning dress with a white carnation in their coats for breakfast and a red one for evening meal.The food is exerlent you need to diet when you get home.We holiday here at least twice a year.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vera T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    105
    39
    31
    43
See reviews for
86
134
16
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Armagh
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 September 2012

My parents, my partner and I spent five lovely nights here in August 2012. On our arrival we were welcomed by the Manager, Tim and his staff. We were treated from here on in like we were unique and special. Everything about this sweet place is calm and relaxing. The views are fantastic looking over the sea and a pleasant walk into town or a woody walk to the village of Cockington near by.

As my Mother and I are both Coeliac it is essential that we follow strict dietary requirements. After our long journey it was such a pleasure to be reassured by meeting the chef and to be fully understood and listened to in this respect. The food was tasty and beautifully presented on all meals during our stay. Gluten free cream teas..........yum!!!!

Livermead is homely and a pleasant change from the normal boring minimalism of hotel interiors at present. The rooms were comfortable, clean, quaint and quirky.

Room Tip: Rooms with a sea view are a must!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saltash
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

arrived here after booking a double room with breakfast for £99 on friday 14th
it started well i liked the oldy worldly charm of the bar and reception and had a hassle free check in a porter showed us to our room and couldnt get away quick enough the room was dated,the bathroom from the 1970,s and very cramped to say the least then realised the bed was a queen bed and not a double as requested they advertise the queen bed room at £79 which i felt a little peeved at being charged for £99.

i went to reception and asked if there were any other rooms and the lady was helpful and polite and offered us the choice of two other rooms one of which had just been vacated by a nice couple, we got chatting in the corridor and i asked why they moved as they had offered us the same room they showed me the room which was large and airy if a little dated and i didnt mind the antique television,then they explained why they wanted to move !!!!
whilst the lady was sitting on the toilet she noticed through the thin net curtain(not a blind at the time) a member of staff was using the window ledge as a rest for his lap top the toilet was right next to the window.

when the porter showed me the room later on i just went into the room and used the noise of the extractor as an excuse and said the room wasnt suitable,the second room they showed us was cramped but at least it had a double bed and you can side shuffle down the sides to bed,the bathroom was bright yelllow and out of 1960,s but it was at least clean.

i then sat on the bed to take my shoes off and there was a big dip and nearly rolled off the bed, i rang down to reception and she was again helpful and said the mattress would be changed.

we went out for a lovely meal as the meals at the hotel were overpriced and we were offered a rate of nearly £30pp, before you add supplements for steaks, instead of £15 as advertised and took our business elsewhere.

on returning to the hotel we had a night cap and then checked with reception that our matress had been changed he said it had and hoped we slept well we thanked him and then went to our room to find they had put a 4ft matress on a 4ft6inch base the reason why we moved in the first place but as it was midnight and we were tired we was going to tell them in the morning, i sat on the bed as i was taking my shoes off and the same happened again i lifted the matress to find it was the base that was knackered i rang reception and two men came to our room one who was apoligetic and one who was arrogant and rude and who had great pleasure in informing me that the new mattress was from the room we turned down and we should of took that room i was that fed up i said that the real reason was because of privacy and explained what the couple had told me his response was can't you shut the blind!!!! i said no as there was only a net curtain and that wasnt the point.By this time its 1230 in the morning and we were finally falling into bed when he banged on the door and shouted there isnt a net curtain in there its a blind at the window (i can assure you readers there wasnt one when i looked earlier.)
after aprox 3 hoours sleep due to the noise of the lift shaft we checked out at 8am not having breakfast as we couldnt wait to get out of there.

after explaining the reason that we wanted to check out only after one night instead of two because we weren't happy she still charged us £99 for the room we have wrote a email of complaint to the management but dont hold our breath.

avoid this hotel at all costs!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brixham, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

We had our wedding reception here on the 8th September ( a week ago) and it was wonderful. The setting was perfect and we couldn't fault the service. On the day we were made to feel very special by the master of ceremonies Tim Rew, whom is also the manager. Everyone who attended agreed that it was just wonderful and the food was fantastic. A good day was had by all. I would recommend it as a perfect place for a wedding reception.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Victoria W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

Despite what you see in the brochure all is not what it seems. SweetWilliam_12 review is spot on and to be moved from one room to the next every day over a 4 day stay is disgraceful. I came to rest not to play merry go rounds! Head office will get a letter from me - terrible rooms and for a business as well as pleasure trip, I certainly won't be coming back and will tell everyone I know to book elsewhere in a real 4 star, not a 2 star (regarding rooms) would give it 3 for service but that is just not good enough. They need to see what other hotels are offering.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KJames_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.3 km away
Best Western Livermead Cliff Hotel
0.3 km away
Corbyn Head Hotel
Corbyn Head Hotel
#56 of 87 in Torquay
514 reviews
1.6 km away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#24 of 87 in Torquay
2,761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#34 of 87 in Torquay
2,286 reviews
0.9 km away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#21 of 87 in Torquay
1,083 reviews
2.4 km away
The Osborne Hotel
The Osborne Hotel
#30 of 87 in Torquay
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Livermead House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Livermead House Hotel

Property: Livermead House Hotel
Address: Sea Front, Torquay TQ2 6RH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Torquay
Price range (per night): $173 - $252
Hotel Class:3 star — Livermead House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Livermead House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Livermead House Hotel Torquay
The Livermead Hotel
Livermead Hotel Torquay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing