We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely peaceful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Crimdon Dene Guest House
Ranked #56 of 149 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 November 2011

The bacon wasn't quite crispy enough for my liking, the bed was a bit squeaky, and the shower could have had a bit of a stronger flow. That's it. I tried really hard to find fault, but these were the only faults I could come up with. The other 99 per cent was faultless. The room was spotless and warm - and I was given a free upgrade to a double. It was very quiet, and what with the comfortable bed, I slept really well. It was only a short walk from the beach, the town and the station. The price was excellent. But of course, what made it so nice was the lovely hosts and the wonderful breakfasts. Margaret was friendly (but not in your face) and very helpful, taking trouble to answer my queries. I didn't see much of John, but he seemed to be a sweetie. I wished I had more room at breakfast to do justice to the selection. As it was, I thoroughly enjoyed the fresh fruit starter (including melon, strawberries, raspberries and blueberries) and the delicious yogurts, and by the time I'd had my (hot) toast and marmalade, I could barely walk. I stayed at the Grand last year, but this was much much MUCH preferable. Margaret and John really know how to run a B & B!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MadameMaigret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (239)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

144 - 148 of 239 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2011

Crimdon Dene was spotless, very comfortable, close to the beach and town centre. The proprietors Margaret and John were very friendly and helpful. A really good choice for breakfast and really can't fault the place. Would definitely stay there again!
Val Jones, Scarborough, N. Yorks.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valerie j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2011

I would recommend a visit to the Crimdon Dene any time.

Margaret and John are attentive without being intrusive.
My bedroom was comfy, spotless and had all I wanted for a short stay.
Situated near to the front and Tor Abbey, I felt completey at home and as a lone traveller safe. There is parking at the front and side.
Breakfast was delightful with plenty of choice, homemade yogurts and jams if you wanted them.
I will visit again soon.
Ann Parry Birmingham

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annparry60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2011

We visited Torquay in August this year and decided to stay at the Crimdon Dene Hotel.
The hotel was lovely. The location was central to Torquay town, near the railway station, safe off road parking, quite at night and suitable for any age group.
The owners were very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble.
A safe bet to stay here. :0)

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosemarie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights when attending an event in the South Hams. Having selected the hotel based on the glowing Tripadvisor reports I was, perhaps, ready to be let down but, happily this was not the case. Both of the proprietors were friendly and welcoming despite me arriving somewhat early and the room was clean and comfortable. Falkland Road is reasonably quiet, particularly at night, so the hotel was wonderfully peaceful. If I had a minor criticism it would be with the number of 'notices' posted in the bedroom warning against eating takeaway food, etc - perhaps a little unnecessary but no doubt put there as a result of previous experiences. Overall, great little hotel and excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
1.6 km away
Hotel Peppers
Hotel Peppers
#19 of 85 in Torquay
290 reviews
1.7 km away
The Robin Hill Hotel
The Robin Hill Hotel
#37 of 149 in Torquay
181 reviews
1.7 km away
The Imperial Torquay
The Imperial Torquay
#22 of 85 in Torquay
3,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
The Iona Torquay
The Iona Torquay
#57 of 149 in Torquay
284 reviews
0.8 km away
Travelodge Torquay
Travelodge Torquay
#29 of 85 in Torquay
618 reviews
0.7 km away
The Grand Hotel
The Grand Hotel
#30 of 85 in Torquay
2,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crimdon Dene Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crimdon Dene Guest House

Address: Falkland Road, Torquay TQ2 5JP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range: $70 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crimdon Dene Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quality 4 star Guest House, TripAdvisor's Certificates of Exellence. EnjoyEngland Breakfast award 2014, 2015 & 2016. Totally 100% non-smoking for everyone's comfort, we are situated in a tree lined road close to all amenities with a friendly service, most rooms refurbished recently to a good standard, ground & upper floor bedrooms, our dining room is on the lower ground floor (sorry we do not have a lift). We provide a great breakfast recommended by regular guests. Margaret & John have owned the Crimdon Dene since 1999 & would like to welcome you to stay with us and become one of our regular guests. On site car parking, free WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Crimdon Dene Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crimdon Dene Torquay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing