We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stayed at TOORAK”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of TLH Leisure Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
TLH Leisure Resort
Ranked #41 of 89 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
birmingham
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Stayed at TOORAK”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2011

Overall excellent value for money. Highlights the exceptional high standard of service and food in the restuarant. Even when the restuarant manager was on his day off the rest of the team carried on and delivered outstanding service and are a credit to TLH.
Stayed in a terrace room again this was of a high standard and spacious.
Suggestion as long standing guests been over twenty times in last tewnty years feel as a reward for loyalty customers a offer could be made if book 2012 holiday will receive 5/10% discount if booked by 31st Jan 2012

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alan g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    95
    62
    15
    16
See reviews for
140
83
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2011

After staying at the Derwent Hotel, TLH, during the Spooky Spectacular weekend, I must just say the entertainments team show on the Friday evening was FANTASTIC!! As a regular to the West End myself, being local to the area, I would have not of questioned this superb team showif I had of been watching this show on a London stage; with flawless vocals, brilliant choreography and a refreshing energy brought to the stage by this gender and age varied cast. And if the show wasn't enough, they continued the evening with children's entertainment and a disco!!
I want to thank the Entertainments team at TLH for a fantastic evening, we hope to catch your Christmas show this year too!!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Poda90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2011

Stayed again as we have done many other half term holidays. The self catering appartments are great value, but double glazing would help with sound proofing rather than the sash windows which need updating. The minor changes to Arena Games have really improved things. Alberts bar is great value and the Aztec Bistro has a good feel to it. The only issue is the length of time spent waiting for food in the Aztec Bistro. Fortunately it is worth the wait, but the speed of service needs to be considered. It would also be nice for the receptionist to ask if we enjoyed our stay. We did, but have NEVER been asked.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MizzyManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2011

We are a family of 5 (Children 13, 11 and 1 year old) we had read several of the revues on this page and were looking forward for our vacation.
The first impression of the hotel (Victoria) wasn’t good, the hotel is not maintained, outside the paint is falling off, rust etc… Inside the hotel is clean, but I don’t believe it’s been maintained the last 25 years. The most positive with our stay was the room size, it was big and we had plenty of space.
We had ordered half board (Breakfast and dinner included), for dinner there was a help yourself salad and starter bar, but we only tasted this once as the staff did not come with more food to the salad bar when it was empty.
On the web page there are a nice indoor pool, it is stinking chlorine we had sore eyes long time after we had bathed, there was sand on the bottom of the basin indicating that it has not been cleaned in a long time.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FamCarlsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2011

Went as a group for Xmas period, although big tree in reception & in main hall the rest of the hotel seemed really bare and disappointing (decor in bar was a joke!)
The food was EXCELLENT and service in the restaurant very good indeed.
The entertainment was absolutely awful, a comedian that wasn't funny was about the best of it.
Rooms were outdated, odd furniture, holes in carpet (!), no remote for TV reception weren't interested when we complained-VERY small (they may have been budget rooms so check).
Pool lovely and Games room brilliant!
Very convenient to local attractions
Would not go again for Xmas but would consider going only if in a higher standard room - this would be great for families.

Room Tip: Don't choose the budget type rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phyllis23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.0 km away
TLH Derwent Hotel
TLH Derwent Hotel
#19 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
0.1 km away
TLH Carlton Hotel
TLH Carlton Hotel
#26 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
0.2 km away
TLH Toorak Hotel
TLH Toorak Hotel
#35 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
TLH Victoria Hotel
TLH Victoria Hotel
#34 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
1.6 km away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#25 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,592 reviews
1.6 km away
Lincombe Hall Hotel
Lincombe Hall Hotel
#9 of 89 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TLH Leisure Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TLH Leisure Resort

Property: TLH Leisure Resort
Address: Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#19 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
Price range (per night): $184 - $212
Hotel Class:4 star — TLH Leisure Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 431
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This lively resort encompasses the Derwent, Victoria, Carlton & Toorak Hotels with on-site access to an extensive range of indoor and outdoor leisure facilities, together with nightly entertainment and dancing. Enjoy indoor and outdoor swimming pools, a luxury spa, gym, huge indoor games arena, daily kids club and a daily activity programme. Bowling and dancing holidays a speciality. Close to sea front and town centre, ideally placed for exploring the English Riviera and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your TLH Leisure Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tlh Leisure Hotel Torquay
Tlh Leisure Torquay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing