We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
USD 197
USD 171
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
USD 233
USD 195
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
USD 242
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Cimon(Torquay)
USD 178
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 164
USD 160
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 159
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 165
USD 160
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
USD 202
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Trinity Mews(Torquay)
USD 223
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (559)
Filter reviews
559 results
Traveller rating
505
42
10
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
505
42
10
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssignature suitedecanter of sherryon arrivalspa bathprivate terracefamily run hotelcooked breakfastdeluxe roomcold meatswet roomwelcome drinkfull englishfantastic stayhigh standardbreakfast was amazingsmall hotelsuperb hotel
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 559 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

We have stayed at this lovely hotel many times before, it’s our ‘go to’ when we visit Torquay. How ever this was our first visit under the new owners so we were a little apprehensive.
We need not of worried because it was a good as it always was, if a little better!

New owners Phil and Vicki, along side general manager Jody have sympathetically re-furbished the entire hotel to a very high standard bringing it up to date, but in keeping with the style of the building.

Complimentary refreshments at checkin are still offered with the added bonus of ‘chefs’ brownies which were delicious! A nice touch.
If you have a precious pooch as we do, it is now possible to take them with you to stay at the hotel, something that wasn’t possible before, Jody showed us the dog friendly room which was spacious and had its own entrance. We will definitely consider taking our dog with us next time we visit.

Breakfast is wonderful, a fantastic selection of both cooked to order hot food, as well as cereals (chefs homemade muesli and granola are lovely) pastries, pancakes, toast,
cheeses and cold meats, fresh fruit, juices and home made preserves. Really set you up for the day.

They have also introduced a small bar menu, which is great if after a busy day you don’t want to go back out in search of food.

This really is a little gem of a hotel in a lovely spot, a stones throw from Meadfoot beach and its lovely little cafe, where you can sit and kick back while soaking up the sun.

Well worth a visit!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meadfootbay, Owner at The Meadfoot Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Hi Sarah

Meeting expectations of guests of previous owners is never easy, but exceeding them is even better, so thank you for your in depth appraisal of all the teams efforts to ensure the Bay remains your 'go to' in Torquay. And we hope your four legged friend will feel the same way too when you next visit!

Hope to see you again very soon.

Best wishes from us all at Meadfoot Bay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

When we arrived we were greeted by Phil and Vicki who have recently finished refurbishing the hotel to a very high standard, we were offered complimentary tea/coffee before being shown to our upgraded room, which was tastefully decorated. The room had fresh milk for tea and a small decanter of sherry. We were very impressed with the choice of breakfast, when I order salmon with scramble eggs and also the pancakes with maple syrup Jodie served me with a smile, no problem. Having a car park made life easy as we drove into town to eat after our day out. Vicki made us feel at home. We would recommend this hotel at any time as there is always a warm welcome.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank welshboy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meadfootbay, Owner at The Meadfoot Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Hello and thank you for taking the time to review the 'new' Meadfoot Bay in such encouraging manner. It's funny that everyone refers to us as a hotel when we are in fact a B&B, but perhaps thats down to the quality and level of service that we aim to deliver, while maintaining the distinctly personal touch that guests will always find staying here at TMB.

Also glad to hear our breakfast hit the spot. Believe us the most difficult part of being here is resisting the temptation to have breakfast every day!

So thanks once again and hope we can look forward to seeing you again here very soon.

Phil, Vicki, Jody and all the team at Meadfoot Bay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

We have now returned from our 3 night stay at the Meadfoot. The greeting on arrival was warm and welcoming. Se are offered refreshments but decided too go direct to our room "Wicklow Cove" The hotel has undergone an excellent transformation during the closed season and it was obviously a labour of love well planned and executed by Phillip Vicki and Jodi.The transformation means the the owners have made their mark. Decoration to a high standard and new furniture is comfortable and complements the decor,The bar transformation in particular was very pleasing. The rooms are clean airy and well appointed. The breakfast food was to a high standard freshly cooked and ample. The changes to the dining room mean that is lighter and one gets the impression that it is now larger ! Everyone worked hard to be helpful friendly and intent on ensuring all guests had a memorable stay., This was our second visit since the Hotel has come under new management and with out doubt they are intent on progressing it further> Sec wish then every success and recommend a visit without hesitation.!

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meadfootbay, Owner at The Meadfoot Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Dear Roger

As a long standing guest, we have waited with some trepidation to see if you might review the 'new' Meadfoot Bay, so to read your very positive comments has very much made our day! We know you and your wife were very much attached to the old property so the refurbishment might not have sat happily with you, but to hear your reaction is very encouraging indeed. What can we say but that we look forward to seeing you again soon and thanks once again for your generous comments!

Best wishes from us all at the Bay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

Very welcoming hotel.
The hotel is so tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean. It is warm and very comfortable and the downstairs area is absolutely beautiful with relaxing lounges and well stocked bar.
The breakfast was one of the best I have had and freshly cooked to your taste.
Very helpful and friendly staff.
Only one very small criticism, in standard room the bathroom was not refurbished to same high standard as the bedroom but did not spoil our stay in anyway.
Parking also a bonus.

Stayed: March 2018
Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meadfootbay, Owner at The Meadfoot Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Dear Robert

Thank your for your generous comments and observations. Chef (and we) will be pleased to hear she hasn't lost her touch despite her five month break while we closed for the refurbishment. We're also pleased you liked the 'new look' TMB. As you noted there is a little more work to be done here and there which can only take place when guests are not in residence so it will take a tiny bit longer, but we're pleased it did not detract from from your stay.

We hope we'll have the opportunity of welcoming you again, meanwhile best wishes from us all the Bay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018 via mobile

I stayed her for one night over a weekend. It was lovely. A true boutique hotel that has recently been refurbished. The owners Phil and Vicki are brilliant hosts, and the team compliment perfectly. Fresh milk provided for tea and coffee is a lovely detail. We used the bar and they kindly made up a sharing platter in the evening when I mentioned I was hungry! The red wine offered by Phil was delicious, and we ended up having a fun evening with other residents at the hotel. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel. In fact I encourage it!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank PiesandBeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meadfootbay, Owner at The Meadfoot Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2018

Dear P&B

Many thanks from us all at TMB! We loved having you and hope we'll see you again in the not too distant future. Meanwhile, we'll keep your seat warm at the bar!

Gyda chariad a dymuniadau gorau

From us all at the Bay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews