We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great location and views to die for”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
4 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Torquay, English Riviera, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
dazwilson
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location and views to die for”
Reviewed 4 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Let me start this review by saying that I live in a Northern City. A very green city, but still, a place where there is a lot of concrete, rain and clouds.

Waking on the day after our arrival to glorious sunshine and the most marvellous views simply captured everything that Torquay had to offer. The location of this property is amazing.

In terms of the property, it is imposing and beautiful at the same time. Visible from the ferry as you travel across the harbour and called 'Scooby Doo Towers' by some of the locals due to the look of the place.

We stayed in Number 4. It is a great size and comfortable with great amenities. The kitchen is amazingly well equipped and there was ample space for a family of five of us (two thirtysomethings, two sixtysomethings and a six year old).

the only problems were...one of the radiators seemed to turn on randomly which made it really hot, the hot water was very hot after a short while (too hot for me to let a six year od wash her own hands) and the older members of the party struggled to turn taps on/off. I think that the bathrooms could do with a spruce up too.

These are pretty minor issues that can be resolved.

We used the swimming pool daily and it was very clean (although a little cold at first) and great fun.

the grounds are immaculate and I could not have asked for a better location (off the beaten track but within walking distance to Torquay centre). Taxis were about £5.50 each way or a 15 minutes walk which is very nice on the way down (and slightly more arduous on the way back).

I recommend a trip to Cockington. lovely place with a great pub and fantastic country park to while away the hours.

I really enjoyed my stay here as did every member of our group. I would definitely recommend and

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St3vi3and...
Oxford, UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely views and pool, but expected more.”
Reviewed 21 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We stayed here and booked through Blue Chip Holidays. The house was very comfortable, but in my opinion some parts need modernising. The 2 bathrooms are in need of upgrade. The en-suite did not have a shower, but a mixer that could not be wall mounted and the shower screen did not fully open, making the taps hard to reach. The wooden toilet seat could do with replacing. The walls could do with a new coat of paint. The shower screen seal was very dirty and hanging off and the bath panel was dirty under the bath rim. The windows in the property were also dirty on the inside in every room.

There were a few other issues that I will send to Blue Chip with photographs, but overall these points did not spoil our stay. The beds were very comfortable, the lounge was very cosy and the kitchen was very well equiped. The owner was also very friendly when we arrived.

I would recommend to friends if the points raised were put right. We were hoping to walk a great deal from the house, but unfortunately we found that walking back to the house was unsafe ( we had a baby in a buggy) as the very steep roads were not pathed all the way so we had to walk on the narrow roads. It meant that we always took the car and had to pay parking fees.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
72dudes
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hugely Disappointing”
Reviewed 24 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We were expecting a lot from 4 The Manor House as it was rated 4* by Blue Chip Holidays who only let out "4 and 5* luxury self catering accommodation". The views from this property are fantastic, both from the living area and bedrooms, as well as the large private terrace, where you can see the whole of Torbay.

Unfortunately the interior of the cottage is in dire need of refurbishment, Chipped, peeling or patchy paint is the order of the day. The stairs carpet is grimy and discloured, the rug in the lounge is stained in various places, some of the window ledges are rotten and have been badly touched up. The same goes for the bath panels. The en-suite to the main bedroom is just a miserable place, looking more like something in a hospital than a holiday cottage.

The downstairs bathroom is a little better with a good shower and the new beds are comfortable.

The furniture in the second bedroom appears to have been bought from a cheap second-hand shop, but is serviceable, but the quality of fixtures and fittings throughout the cottage is poor. The appliances for example are the cheapest brands.

We felt the cottage fell short of what we could reasonably expect of a 4* cottage, having paid £547 for a 6 night break in May.

Within a hour of arrival we telephoned Blue Chip Holidays to make a complaint, who in turn contacted the owner. The quick response was that the owner agreed the property was due a re-paint, but he disagreed with us about the overall feel and quality. We persisted, and later that day were offered £50 as a gesture, which we declined, instead insisting that someone from Blue Chip should come out to see the problem.

On our second day, this happened, and the Manager from Blue Chip agreed with us, saying that the property fell short in many ways. He said he was embarrassed and ashamed that this property had slipped through the net. He took photographs which were sent to the owner, who relented and agreed to reimburse us, less the 2 nights we spent there.

This allowed us to move into 6 The Manor House, which was completely different and lovely. Although smaller and with an only partial sea view from the terrace, the quality and presentation of No.6 was superior in every way.

If you have already booked 4 The Manor House, then enjoy the views and the setting, but be prepared to be disappointed with the quality inside.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The stunning views
Liked least: The unloved, neglected and grimy feel of the cottage
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 May 2016
Thank you for your review. I'm sorry to hear the property did not meet your expectations and this has been raised further internally and with the owner. I'm also sorry you were disrupted during your stay but I'm pleased to hear the alternative property was of a better quality for yourself. I hope we can welcome you back in the future and once again meet your expectations.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John K
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 26 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

What a lovely place, very quiet but only a 20 min walk to the harbour which has everything the area has to offer, didn't use the pool but it looks clean an well kept. Our cottage No4 was tidy and well presented with everything you need from dishcloths to a corkscrew, the downstairs shower wasn't always as hot as I would like but this is me being picky. There are a few shops about 5 mins away(walk), co-op, post office, butchers, paper shop amongst others, just past these you can get the bus into town where you can gain easy access to Brixham, Paignton, Dartmouth, Babbacombe. Mrs o Gorman who looks after a couple of the cottages is lovely and always at hand if you need her,
Chelston ct is a little pub/hotel just near the shops which is nice for a couple of pints and ok if you want some pub grub, not the best food but perfectly fine.
Would defo stay here again if I was in Torquay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Walking back up seaview lane from the coast road
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing