We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun!”

Torquays Dinosaur World
Ranked #15 of 69 things to do in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Torquay's Dinosaur World is an fun interactive indoor exhibition of dinosaurs and fossils! See amazing life-size and scaled dinosaurs, learn about these awesome beasts, uncover incredible fossils, enjoy our family quiz, and even sit on a deadly dinosaur! See the world of dinosaur brought to life - whether you are little dinosaur fans, or even a big ones, there's something for everyone to get their teeth in to!
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Visited here with my 8year old daughter and her best friend. I was expecting it to be small and only be in there for about an hour, the girls loved it and we spent 2.5 hrs in there!

If you have kids that will engage with the quiz they learn so much and it keeps them busy, there is a lot of information for those who take the time to read all the facts. There is a certificate and prize at the end which the girls loved.

They loved looking for fossils in the sand, sitting on dinosaurs and spent ages in the craft room.

The staff were really friendly and attentive.

My only comment is it would be good to have a few seats dotted around, I wasn’t feeling too good and it would have been nice to have a seat whilst watching them play with the fossils and sand, although I appreciate space is limited.

Overall a great afternoons entertainment for everyone.

Thank Happyfamilies3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TobyTrex, Manager at Torquays Dinosaur World, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2018

Dear Reviewer, thank you so much for your visit and kind comments. We work hard to provide lots of fun facts and exciting information about our many different dinosaurs exhibits. The dinosaur quiz is always a popular part of the dinosaur world experience and allows explorers to learn about these amazing creatures. And it’s good to know that your explorer enjoyed the different interactivities, such as a craft room, fossil excavation sites, and dinosaurs to sit on. We put a great emphasis on customer service as we know that this can really make a huge difference to someone’s experience, and I’ll be sure to pass on your feedback to the staff member involved.

I take on board your points about the lack of seating, which is something we are planning on rectifying over the winter along with a few other exhibition developments.

Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you again, kind regards, Toby T Rex.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (453)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"jurassic park"
in 17 reviews
"t rex"
in 14 reviews
"quiz sheet"
in 13 reviews
"craft room"
in 9 reviews
"model dinosaurs"
in 7 reviews
"fossil hunting"
in 6 reviews
"drawing room"
in 6 reviews
"photo opportunities"
in 8 reviews
"sand pit"
in 10 reviews
"staff were really friendly"
in 8 reviews
"activity sheet"
in 5 reviews
"great for kids"
in 14 reviews
"little boy"
in 10 reviews
"rainy day"
in 21 reviews
"easter egg hunt"
in 7 reviews
"value for money"
in 23 reviews
"big kids"
in 5 reviews
Filter

38 - 42 of 453 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2018

Having visited this attraction a couple of years ago I wasn't sure with the children being that little bit older if the enthusiasm for dinosaur's would still be as evident. However, Dinosaur World didn't disappoint, the exhibition has been changed and refreshed with the result that 2 hour's just disappeared with lots of fun and facts to be had. Congratulations to the owner/manager for not sitting back and just collecting the entrance fee but improving the attraction and therefore offering even better value for both children and adults to enjoy.

Thank adrianmw796
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

Kids were looking forward to this after we thought it looked good from the website, but it was money wasted. Only spent 30 minutes inside, it was so much smaller than expected, dark and dingy. Majority of it is small static displays that weren't very interesting to look at. Some small sand excavation areas and a tiny craft room. I recommend spending your money elsewhere.

2  Thank Dizzysquidz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TobyTrex, Manager at Torquays Dinosaur World, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Dear Christine, thank you for your third review following your recent visit. It’s good to see though that you have now deleted your Facebook review. As I explained after your first review, if you were so disappointed you could have explained this at the end of the tour when we speak to all visitors and actually ask if they have been enjoying their visit. We could have then given you a refund, and avoided all the bother and 'wasted money' As a small family business, we put a lot of time, effort and money into providing a visitor experience that we can be proud of so it’s disappointing to see you didn’t value what we have to offer. Our apologies again, kind regards, Toby T-Rex.


To potential visitors,we accept that visitors have the right to leave feedback and indeed we use the feedback to develop and improve the exhibition. However, we think it is mean and vindictive for a visitor to leave three negative reviews on different platforms following one visit. To reply to the points made above, the exhibition is 3500 square feet and full of interesting high quality full size and scale dinosaur scenes, as well as many interactive aspects such as dinosaurs to sit on and fossils to discover. Visitors are also given a quiz, or in the case of Easter an egg hunt activity. Visitors can tour the exhibition for as long as they like, taking their time to complete the quiz/activity, reading the numerous information boards, and interacting with various exhibits. Unfortunately, some visitors choose not to engage with the exhibition. The lighting throughout is set to create a suitable atmosphere for the scenes, but is adequately lit. It is not ‘dark and dingy’, something which no other visitor in 8 years has suggested. Over the eight years since we opened we have had positive feedback from the overwhelming majority of visitors, both in person and on social media platforms, who have complimented us on the quality of the exhibition and the overall experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

No reduced price child entry?! So expensive for what it is. I don't understand why they permit buggies in such a small museum. Don't bring a buggy it's very cramped & lots of steps. Under 5s won't like it as much as their older siblings. Art 'room' is a nice idea shame there were not enough drawing materials.

1  Thank Stag_Lake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TobyTrex, Manager at Torquays Dinosaur World, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Dear visitor, thank you for your visit. We offer a simple flat entrance price with adults paying the same price as the children. We did recently consider increasing the price for adults but following feedback with many of our visitors we decided to maintain our existing pricing policy.

It seems that you visited on a rainy day, when it can be very busy. We do store the vast majority of pushchairs etc at the entrance, but visitors with babies’ obviously need take them into the exhibition. As a business we would not want to turn away visitors simply because they have a baby, nor would it be very fair to discriminate against visitors simply because they have very small children. We have one set of five steps up the mezzanine level of the exhibition, which we appreciate can be very difficult for some visitors. Unfortunately, this is unavoidable.

The average age of our young explorers is approximately 5 years old, so we do have many visitors from the age of 2 who love all the interactive aspects of the exhibition. Our craft room is very popular and always has supplies of pencils, felt tips, crayons, A4 paper, colouring sheets, and during the Easter holidays a box full of craft supplies. We monitor the supplies during the day and tidy up the room, so I am unsure of why you say there were not enough drawing materials. Thank you again for your visit, regards Toby T Rex.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

They have certainly packed in an enormous amount of displays into a small space at dinosaur world. The place is filled with educational displays and dinosaurs you can sit on and have your photo taken on. There has been so much thought and effort put into both the displays and the quiz that the children can take part in. The fact that they receive a certificate and prize at the end is just the icing on the cake! Our 6 year old daughter had a fantastic time and we spent so much time there, definitely worth the admission fee. Would definitely recommend this place!

1  Thank EnglishRoseMummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TobyTrex, Manager at Torquays Dinosaur World, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Dear visiitor, thank you so much for leaving such a lovely review. It’s wonderful to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed yourselves. We are so glad that your children made the most of all the opportunities we offer and spent lots of time exploring the different aspects of the exhibition. We always try to make the exhibition a little different with seasonal promotions and it’s nice to know that this is appreciated and fully experienced. And it’s great to hear that your children were thrilled with their certificate and fossils. We look forward to seeing you again. Thank you again for your kind words, regards, Toby T-Rex.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Torquays Dinosaur World also viewed

Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to Torquays Dinosaur World? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing