We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (126)
Filter reviews
126 results
Traveller rating
55
42
21
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
55
42
21
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sea front full english friendly stay biscuits stayed for one night limited parking on arrival the bank holiday weekend decent size flights of stairs booked this hotel bed was very comfortable short stroll rooms were very clean train station location is great lovely room
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 126 reviews
Reviewed 31 December 2016 via mobile

VERY friendly welcome, breakfast was lovely the one day we were up in time. (Breakfast times were a wee bit early) The empire state building has less stairs than the climb to our room, which was small but de-cor were lovely. Overall nice place but you need strong legs and a good heart to get to bed.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled solo
Thank Christopher D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2016

Welcoming owners but not happy with our stay. Our room was up 6 sets of stairs and then greeted to a very small tired room. Carpet very worn, threadbare and stained. Everything just felt grubby. Couldn't connect to Wi-Fi unless I went downstairs. Photos on website misleading.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Missgoodfella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2016

Friendly owners, however hotel in desperate need of some maintenance.
stayed in a family room, the décor had been patched up in many places, ceiling cracked, window recess all cracked, toilet fan did not work, so had the pleasant smell of the toilet, hence why the window was open I suppose, shower very wobbly on wall and would not turn down, toilet seat moved, shower tray bodged up repair where it has split, tray filled up with water, light in bathroom falling off wall, wifi very weak at top of building needs boosting, only one bedside light working. Beds hard to sleep on.
Breakfast great very filling. Wouldn't recommend unless updated quickly.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank en4cer39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2016

Before i get into it the owner couldn't have been more welcoming, friendly and helpful.

That said if arriving by car you will be met with a fairly busy main street and hard to park (the hotel does have parking but you won't be aware of its location until after you have been greeted), the exterior looks rough to put it kindly, but going by overall impressions so does the rest of the street and other hotels.

As mentioned the greeting was excellent and there is no faults with the staff, we we then shown to our room which for the three of us was quite small but acceptable for an overnight stay.

The decor throughout the hotel was probably last refreshed in the early to mid 90s (by the look of it) this was more evident with the bathroom where the sink was cracked and was of a beige colour. The shower had been poorly fitted and the controls were outside of the shower enclosure. The toilet bowl was loose and rocked from side to side when in use. The carpet in the room was clearly worn out (in some areas through to the threads) on the small areas where you could walk on. The view looked out onto the car parking areas for several hotels and more signs of decay, we also had a plant growing out of the window sill. The beds were fairly comfortable and the bedding seemed clean.

To finish on a high: Breakfast is included and is well worth the money (It was £70 for the room + 3 breakfasts) and meant we left the hotel happy. There was a selection of cereals and a cooked breakfast, with fruit juice, tea and coffee.

Overall i don't think i would stay here again due to the cosmetic apperance but i could be equally dissapointed if i stayed in the hotel next door as the general appearance of the street seemed to be weathered.

Room Tip: Room 7 has the cracked sink.
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mac M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2016

Have just returned from the Atlantis Hotel, booked this Hotel as we had to go to Torquay for a Funeral of a family member, The owners Steph and Simon, were smashing hosts, nothing was to much trouble for them, on the day we were due to travel home our car broke down , they let us stay at the hotel for a good few hours after we were suppose to have checked out, they were so helpful. This Hotel is highly recommended, and the breakfast was yummy, Thanks Steph and Simon for looking after us all so well, we will certainly be back.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank STEJAN5559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews