We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is what it is!”
Review of Cavendish Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cavendish Hotel
Ranked #56 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“It is what it is!”
Reviewed 7 March 2012

This is no luxery hotel - in fact there are some very odd and quirky things about it. I have stayed in plenty of hotels around the world, but I have never been handed a tv remote control upon check-in and told to look after it!

The lift was a bit hit and miss, and I was told to choose from the dinner menu at breakfast as they did not want to cook too much food!

Having said all that, there were some good things. We stayed in a large group taking part in an event in Torquay. The bar accomodated us very well, particularly on the Saturday evening when we were celebrating!!!!

The rooms were basic but clean and the food was absolutely fine. The staff could not have done more to accomodate us!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stockportsaint1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy R, Owner at Cavendish Hotel, responded to this review, 15 March 2012
Thank you for your review. Sorry about the tv remote, my staff assure me, the comment for you to look after it was meant as a joke. As regards the order for dinner - this is not compulsory and is only done to avoid running out of choices for guests. I have instructed the staff to be clear on this when asking for orders.
I am glad you had a pleasant stay.
Best Wishes - Andy Ryder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

810 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    250
    169
    73
    127
See reviews for
208
295
38
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Location is good as only a 10 minute walk along the seafront to town. Rooms decor was horrendous, no taste or coordination whatsoever. Swimming pool was just a big bath. Windows where rotten, area was very unclean. Sauna was dirty, rotten & did not work. We found this out after buying a token from reception and waiting 20 minutes to find it was still cold. After a 2nd trip to reception we where then told sorry it doesn't work. Electric extension wires where hanging around which we thought could be dangerous apart from looking abit unsightly. Breakfast was ok though very small. This hotel cost £50 B&B but I have stayed in much better hotels for this price. This hotel really is in need of change. Plus a rock & roll band where playing until 12.30am 2 floors below us yet it sounded like they where in our room.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lucy l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy R, Owner at Cavendish Hotel, responded to this review, 15 March 2012
Thank you for your review. We are sorry you were not happy at our hotel. We have taken on board your comments and investigated the areas of concern i.e. pool etc. and the Sauna breakdown which was repaired on the Monday morning. Not sure which room you were in so it is difficult to identify by your description. Generally the rooms are mostly cream with coloured bed throws and curtains. The latest decorated rooms are still generally cream/pale and have one feature wall with modern paper. We are upgrading and just in the last month 6 rooms have been redecorated and refurbished. If you do decide to use us again please contact us direct and we will do our utmost to
improve your stay.
Best Wishes - Andy Ryder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Torquay hotels

United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Hotel staff helpful and friendly made you feel welcome checked in very quick rooms were warm and clean but could do with updating. Food ok.

Room Tip: room 213 quiet view of carpark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Backchatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy R, Owner at Cavendish Hotel, responded to this review, 15 March 2012
Thank you for your review. Room 213 is one of the rooms on our list for upgrading soon. It is a very spacious room and is now ready for a makeover.
Many thanks, Best Wishes - Andy Ryder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level 6 Contributor
296 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Has great potential for a great sea-side break, but needs a lot of work and more money pumped into it....a pity really as it could be a hidden gem with some beautiful original features...but our room was very very tired looking. We did have a bargain though...£59 each for 3 nights, and that was half board.... friendly waiting staff too.

Room Tip: Ask to see any rooms not being used, as some looked better than others for the same price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HelmarkCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy R, Owner at Cavendish Hotel, responded to this review, 15 March 2012
Thank you for your review. With 96 ensuite bedrooms of varying sizes and styles, we can always offer an alternative room, subject to availability of course. We are working hard to upgrade rooms and will continue to do this throughout the year. We are sorry you were disappointed with your room.
Thank you again for your review, Best Wishes - Andy Ryder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

It is a two star hotel and yes, our rooms were tired but as there were only 19 guests in the place, we (my husbands workmates and partners also stayed) were treated like royalty.

We got a three night deal paying approximately £20 per head. Not bad considering we got two good meals a day. Our waiter Paul was cheeky and attentive, bit lippy at times however not bad for a Cockney and the cleaning crew contain two well-weathered dears who whipped around our rooms replacing towels, sheets etc. quickly and efficiently.

There was a notice in Reception advising us of the improvements made to the hotel however the door to the dining room died on the Friday night, the lifts packed it in on the Saturday, so the investment the owners have made to update the hotel haven't always hit the mark. On the plus side, the ladies toilets in the reception area were the best I saw all weekend. The bar, although empty of other punters (yes, we did use it a lot) was bright, clean and modern. I would say this hotel is a work in progress.

Torquay has great shopping, lots of places to walk and we enjoyed an evening at the Grosvenor (currently enjoying fame on ITV 4?), and the local pubs.

Room Tip: Try for a room at the back of the hotel way from the roadside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kiwitripper09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy R, Owner at Cavendish Hotel, responded to this review, 15 March 2012
Thank you for your review. We are working hard to improve the hotel and glad you enjoyed your stay.
Best Wishes - Andy Ryder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel Richmond
Hotel Richmond
#74 of 87 in Torquay
368 reviews
0.3 km away
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
Grosvenor Hotel Torquay
#21 of 87 in Torquay
1,120 reviews
0.1 km away
Riviera Hotel
Riviera Hotel
#57 of 87 in Torquay
940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Trecarn Hotel
Trecarn Hotel
#86 of 87 in Torquay
1,234 reviews
1.5 km away
Best Western Livermead Cliff Hotel
0.1 km away
The Patricia Guest House
The Patricia Guest House
#48 of 87 in Torquay
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cavendish Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavendish Hotel

Property: Cavendish Hotel
Address: Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 87 Hotels in Torquay
Price range (per night): $81 - $236
Hotel Class:3 star — Cavendish Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family-run two-star hotel only 400 m from the sea front and ten minutes from town. We have excellent facilities and nightly entertainment, our rates are very competitive and a large number of regular guests come back to us year after year. Groups and individuals welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cavendish Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavendish Hotel Torquay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing