We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A damn good choice”
Review of Burleigh House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Burleigh House
Ranked #25 of 148 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A damn good choice”
Reviewed 21 January 2012

I was down in Torquay on a business trip, and had planned to do the normal Travelodge experience (i.e. you know what you're getting - not much!). I'm thoroughly glad I took the time to check out the opposition though.

The owners were really friendly and didn't mind the obscenely late hour I turned up. The room was immaculate, with a good shower, an excellent TV and an extremely comfy bed. The breakfast was superb (full English - nice!) and the overall approach was irreproachable.

It's too easy when travelling on business to plump for the obvious option of the chain. Take a moment to pause though; for the same price (or cheaper) you can get friendliness, better facilities and a cracking breakfast.

Bit of a no-brainer really!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonAbcdefg1234567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    20
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
46
86
18
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

The owners were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were very clean and comfortable with everything you need. We came as a group of friends and were out for new years eve so were unable to get to breakfast in time but as we were going to leave they offered us some cereals and toast and insisted we stayed. We would definately recommend this B n B and we will be back! Thankyou :)

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lu12326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2011

well where do we start, a 4 star rated b and b for the price of a crappy travel lodge (40 yards across the road) I know ! its run by a very clever man and wife team, he an IT professional, she a retired proffessional ward sister (RN), 4 stars does not cover the quality of the hotel.

free wifi that works !, major breakfast, free parking, warm welcome, a bed to die for, god knows what tog the duvet was but it worked! plenty of free coffee / tea , some hotels are a bit stingey with this but there are not ! and occasionally, by arrangment, a evaning meal,
obviously a genuine 4 star hotel not a b and b, nice one thanks for your help and assitance in helping a traveller to get there and earn a small crust ! highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Medicworldwide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 September 2011

We can only endorse previous reviews - this is an excellent guesthouse where nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are very clean and comfortable, and thoughtfully planned, with welcome extras provided. Good breakfast choice includes full English which is cooked carefully to order and makes use of local produce. Martin and Marcia are very welcoming and interested in their guests - offering their local knowledge to help maximise your stay in the area, and are happy to suggest places to eat. A private car park at the rear of the guesthouse is a bonus, as is the location near to both bus stop and train station. We stayed 3 nights but would happily have spent longer - there is plenty to do in the area. We will return.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derekglos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

We booked this B+B having read previous reviews. We could not find one bad review and have not been disappointed after our stay. Located on the main road into Torquay with the local bus stop right outside, which was ten minute journey into Town and the Marina .We were on a tight schedule and budget with just four days in a twin room. Great value for money. The room was nice and quiet at the back of the house. The rooms were replenished everyday with beds made, fresh towels and toiletries etc. Breakfast was superb with fruit salads, yoghurts croissants jams and as much cooked breakfast tea and toast as you could eat. We were two women and we were out quite late most evenings as we had a lot to fit in to a short stay and one morning awoke past the breakfast cut off time off 9.30. We were thrilled however to still be offered our cooked breakfast as Martin and Marcia are so welcoming that nothing seems to be too much trouble for them and make you feel like guests in their home. They had plenty of time to chat to all the guests about their plans and were full of suggestions and recommendations which were all tip top. Without hesitation I would book to go back first chance that I get !

Room Tip: Phone the Burleigh direct and DON'T go through other sites as they add onto the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawnydancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.0 km away
Silverlands Guest House
Silverlands Guest House
#35 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
0.0 km away
Stover Lodge Hotel
Stover Lodge Hotel
#42 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
0.3 km away
Harmony Guest House
Harmony Guest House
#27 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Garway Lodge
Garway Lodge
#28 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
0.4 km away
The Cleveland
The Cleveland
#7 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
1.4 km away
Avron House
Avron House
#29 of 148 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burleigh House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burleigh House

Property: Burleigh House
Address: 25 Newton Road, Torquay TQ2 5DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 148 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price range (per night): $69 - $119
Hotel Class:4 star — Burleigh House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Burleigh House is a family-owned and run guest house, open all year round. We offer a warm welcome and comfortable, affordable accommodation whatever the purpose of your visit to the English Riveria. Burleigh House is just a short walk to the town centre, harbour, beaches, Conference Centre and Torbay Hospital. We're also on the route for local buses to Paignton, Brixham, Newton Abbot and Exeter. These buses run every 10 minutes from just a few yards from our front door. Torre railway station is close-by with local trains to Paignton, Newton Abbot, Teignmouth, Dawlish and beyond. There are eight guest rooms (one en-suite twin, five en-suite doubles and two singles). The two single guest rooms share a bathroom and separate toilet on the same floor. All our guest rooms have wide-screen, digital freeview television, radio/alarm, tea/coffee-making facilities and hairdryer. Wireless internet is available and we make no additional charge for internet access. We have private off-street parking at the rear of the house, wireless internet is accessible free of charge. We use local produce for our full English breakfast which is served in our pleasant, sunny dining room. For the best prices please do contact us direct. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, lastminute.com.au, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Burleigh House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing