We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Burleigh House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Richwood(Torquay)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ashurst Lodge(Torquay)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Belmont(Torquay)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (220)
Filter reviews
220 results
Traveller rating
198
21
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
198
21
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bbus stopoffered tea or coffeelong journeycar parkwarm welcomelocal areaporridgeon arrivalexcellent breakfasthome away from homebus servicenothing is too much troublecomfortable roomsset us up for the daycooked to perfectionbed and breakfast
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
204 - 209 of 220 reviews
Reviewed 19 September 2011

We can only endorse previous reviews - this is an excellent guesthouse where nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are very clean and comfortable, and thoughtfully planned, with welcome extras provided. Good breakfast choice includes full English which is cooked carefully to order and makes use of local produce. Martin and Marcia are very welcoming and interested in their guests - offering their local knowledge to help maximise your stay in the area, and are happy to suggest places to eat. A private car park at the rear of the guesthouse is a bonus, as is the location near to both bus stop and train station. We stayed 3 nights but would happily have spent longer - there is plenty to do in the area. We will return.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Derekglos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

We booked this B+B having read previous reviews. We could not find one bad review and have not been disappointed after our stay. Located on the main road into Torquay with the local bus stop right outside, which was ten minute journey into Town and the Marina .We were on a tight schedule and budget with just four days in a twin room. Great value for money. The room was nice and quiet at the back of the house. The rooms were replenished everyday with beds made, fresh towels and toiletries etc. Breakfast was superb with fruit salads, yoghurts croissants jams and as much cooked breakfast tea and toast as you could eat. We were two women and we were out quite late most evenings as we had a lot to fit in to a short stay and one morning awoke past the breakfast cut off time off 9.30. We were thrilled however to still be offered our cooked breakfast as Martin and Marcia are so welcoming that nothing seems to be too much trouble for them and make you feel like guests in their home. They had plenty of time to chat to all the guests about their plans and were full of suggestions and recommendations which were all tip top. Without hesitation I would book to go back first chance that I get !

Room Tip: Phone the Burleigh direct and DON'T go through other sites as they add onto the price.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dawnydancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2011

We arrived a little earlier than expected from our long drive from the North East, but we were still welcomed with a very warm welcome and offered tea and coffee even though our rooms were still occupied. Like I said we weren't due until 12pm and this was around 07.30! We left our bags and explored Torquay a little, when we returned the rooms were ready early for us, and we were very pleased with them, spotless and cosy, really comfortable and you really didnt feel like you were in a B&B, it felt like you were staying at a friends house :) Breakfast was superb every morning, Martin and Marcia managed well and were very attentive, accomodating all tastes and requirements, but try the sausage and bacon-gorgeous, locally sourced and more-ish!
All in all superb, would definitely stay again !

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeffnKerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2010

we Stayed for only one night ,but wish it had been longer,everything was excellent,from the hospitality to the lovely breakfast
Mature couple from Frome in Somerset

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandy504128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2010

A fine place to stay. Clean comfortable, excellent breakfast. You can walk into town, Marcia and Martin are friendly everything you could ask for in a host, overall a first class stay. I would recommend to anyone

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank last_man_standingGb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews