We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best breakfast on the English Riviera” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brooklands

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Brooklands
Ranked #98 of 153 Torquay B&B and Inns
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
“The best breakfast on the English Riviera”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

Jayne and Paul who own the B&B couldn't be more helpful and friendly. The room was good, if a little small, but had everything you could want from toiletries to tea and biscuits - even a razor and comb in case you packed in a rush. Breakfast was superb with home baked croissant, bread and crumpets, enormous flat field mushrooms, a choice of kippers and haddock that was delivered fresh that morning, and more! The only downside is the shortage of parking in peak season.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    4
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
63
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2011

Paul and Jayne treat you like family and you can try the rest but Brooklans is the best.
If you stay at Brooklands you will want to return nothing is too much trouble as they are so helpfull.
David & Lorraine

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

My wife and I spent three nights at the Brooklands, Torquay in August 2011. We can't really say much more about this wonderful guesthouse and it's wonderful owners, Paul and Jayne, that others haven't already said. Every word is true. They are the perfect hosts, the rooms clean and well laid out, and the breakfasts are indeed to die for! We also got lucky when Jayne baked perhaps the best scones I've ever, ever, ever eaten one day for tea. We got back that night around 7pm and they were there waiting for us in the dining room. Jayne then popped in and made us a lovely pot of tea to go with them! This was all above and beyond what we'd paid for, and receiving such generosity was somewhat overwelming. Add to this the small bottle of wine that was laid on our bed when we arrived, the well stocked 'tea and coffee making facilities' and the occasional sweetie placed on our breakfast table, just made our short visit incredibly special, and far too short. We will be back and we will be disappointed if we can't get a room the next time we visit the area.
In the interests of balance, it is only fair to say that the rooms were a little compact, especially the bathrooms, but we didn't go on holiday to spend time in our rooms, so they were perfect for us. The beds were super comfy!
Jayne and Paul, if you are reading this, thank you so very much for making the start of our holiday so special. You are wonderful people. I hope we become one of your 'regulars', it's such a shame we live 300 miles away otherwise we'd probably be there every other weekend. Thank you xxx.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl_and_Tony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

We spent 4 nights at Brooklands and we will definitely be back! Brooklands is located less than a 5 minute walk from the sea front so it was nice not to have to drive everywhere. There was free parking on the street outside. Our room was very nice and very clean. The bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was delicious! Jayne and Paul made us feel very welcome and they were so friendly and helpful. I would definitely recommend Brooklands to a friend and we will definitely stay at Brooklands next time we go back to Torquay!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2011

My partner John and I stayed for 1 night but we were welcomed as if we come here every year, great hosts, great breakfast and great room. It really is a little gem in Torquay and in a lovely quiet street. without a doubt we will stay here again.
Thanks Paul and Jane for a lovely stay.
John and Lorri
Worthing

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnlorri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Torquay hotels
0.3 km away
Riviera Lodge Hotel Torquay
0.2 km away
The Belmont
The Belmont
#32 of 89 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
1.6 km away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#24 of 89 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hotel Iona Torquay
Hotel Iona Torquay
#47 of 153 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
0.4 km away
The Cleveland
The Cleveland
#7 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
1.5 km away
Shirley Hotel
Shirley Hotel
#14 of 153 in Torquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brooklands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brooklands

Property: Brooklands
Address: 5 Scarborough Road, Torquay TQ2 5UJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price range (per night): $84 - $101
Hotel Class:4 star — Brooklands 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Highly acclaimed AA 4 Star accommodation, in the premium hotel area conveniently located for the town centre, sea front, Princess Theatre and Riviera Centre and most holiday leisure pursuits e.G. Bowling, swimming, crazy golf, pitch and putt, tennis etc. Cosy en-suite bedrooms - single, double, twin, family - with flat screen free view TV, complimentary beverages and other extras to make your stay comfortable and memorable. We offer a wide selection of English and continental foods and cater for all special diets. There is free on street parking and a private car park within 50 metres. Guaranteed off street parking is available but you must check availability before you book. We are open all year and accept all major credit and debit cards. For the comfort of our guests we do not accommodate stag / hen, single sex parties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Odigeo, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au and Agoda so you can book your Brooklands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing