We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Beautiful village

Pity most of the craft workers were not working on the day we visited, and the cafe was closed for... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
Wendy C
,
Inverkeithing, United Kingdom
Archetypal Devon Village or touristy pastiche?

Cockington is a curious place. The core of the village contains genuine historic buildings... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
Michael R
,
South Devon, United Kingdom
Read all 349 reviews
  
Reviews (349)
Filter reviews
349 results
Traveller rating
252
75
17
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
252
75
17
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews drum inn beautiful village well worth a visit cream tea rose cottage water wheel lovely tea room craft centre chocolate box village horse and cart devon village piano playing english village olde worlde pretty village torquay sea front picture postcard
Filter
Updating list...
144 - 149 of 349 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2018

After parking the car we walked to the craft workshops where there were lots to see , people with many skills (fascinating). With many paths to wonder on we saw a lot of the grounds, church and picturesque cottages. We enjoyed our coffee.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank welshboy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Lovely little village just in land from Torquay beach front. Spent an afternoon as perfect for a stroll and to have a cream tea. Gentleman played piano in tea rooms which gave it an olde world charm.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

Lovely open area where dogs can go off lead, situated by the Manor House. Had a cup of tea in the Manor House. There were delicious looking cream teas. All reasonably priced. There was a gift shop and art gallery within the house.
There were craftsmen including glass blowers, where vases, pill boxes and paperweights could be purchased at reasonable prices. A blacksmith was creating garden ornaments and gifts. Woodworker displaying wares such as toys, shelving and homewares. Slate worker who made plaques and unusual household products. I believe there may be additional craft workers later in the year.
Cockington is a quaint old English village. Full of thatched cottages, tea shops and a gift shop.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Rosemary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018

Lovely place to spend a couple of hours mooching about, tea rooms, craft shop amazing old chapel (1069) walk in the grounds. There is even a pretty walk along the stream down to the sea front.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Hms1717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018 via mobile

Visited 26th March most of the shops open . Visitor centre closed . Small craft businesses . Blacksmith, Glass blowing person open . Bought some lovely gifts . This is like going back in time . So glad we went , as we nearly didn’t! Thatched cottages/pub 800 acre country park + lake and lots of walks. We didn’t have to pay to park , as we were lucky enough to find a space just by the car park . Nice places to eat tho we only had an ice cream. Would highly recommend !!!

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank 793sharona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews