We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“an idyllic retreat with views to die for”
other travellers have booked this property
The Lodge - our stunning 'eco-lodge' sleeping up to 4 people. Dogs welcome
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Lodge - our stunning 'eco-lodge' sleeping up to 4 people. Dogs welcome
The Lodge (sleeps 4). The sunny open plan living area. The Mews (sleeps 2). The stylish living area.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
57 reviews
The Lodge - our stunning 'eco-lodge' sleeping up to 4 people. Dogs welcome
The Lodge (sleeps 4). The sunny open plan living area.
The Mews (sleeps 2). The stylish living area.
Corner Cottage - the spacious living area
Lambside House - the stunning main bedroom (ensuite)
Crofters Cottage - the open plan bedroom and bathroom. Sleeps up to 4 people.
Our private cove - we call it 'the Blue Lagoon'. Only available to guests of Carswell Cott
The children's play area - complete with Alys the Tractor!
The Mews - with 'cow print' antique roll top bath!
Dogs are very welcome in all our cottages (except The Mews).
The stunning South Devon coast on your doorstep
Corner Cottage - the sunny kitchen area, with hand-crafted table seating 16!
Corner Cottage - the family bathroom, complete with antique roll-top bath!
Corner Cottage - the main bedroom
Mothecombe Beach - just a couple of miles away...
Lambside House - sleeps 11/14 in 5 bedrooms
The Mews - the pretty garden overlooking the fields...
Lambside House, sleeps 11/14 people. The living rooms open up across the slate hall.
Lambside House - the sunny kitchen, complete with cherry-red AGA!
Shepherds Cottage - the main bedroom with lovely views across the meadows.
Shepherds Cottage - sleeps 6. The open plan living area
Spring Cottage - the large, sunny kitchen.
The Lodge - the open plan, well equipped kitchen
The Lodge - children's play area upstairs
The Mews - the sunny, open plan bedroom upstairs, with doors out onto the patio...
The Mews - a lovely cottage for couples.
Sandcastles on Bigbury Beach - fantastic for children!
Dartmoor - only a 20 minute drive away...
The Mews - double doors open out onto the sunny garden and patio.
Order a delicious organic Devon breakfast hamper to make your holiday really special!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Plymouth, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 57 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
cs572017
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“an idyllic retreat with views to die for”
Reviewed 13 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This is a perfect spot for walkers, dog lovers, bird watchers, or for just sitting in the hot tub watching the waves roll in on the coast below. I would highly recommend it.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jun 2017
So lovely to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our rustic CROFTERS COTTAGE! It is indeed so peaceful and dogs are always welcome to stay too!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
helennewp...
Newport, United Kingdom
1 review
“Paradise.... without the Palm Trees”
Reviewed 26 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Just spent another amazing weekend at the Beach Hut at Carswell Farm. The location is unbelievable, waves crashing on the rocks right outside the window, hot tub view to die for and the quaintest little stone hut to stay in. On top of all this total isolation and plenty of wildlife to watch. What more could you want? Will be back again soon

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 May 2017
So lovely to hear that you enjoyed the peace and seclusion that the Beach Hut has to offer - it is indeed a magical place. I do hope that we can welcome you back again soon...

With best wishes, Katherine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny L
Loddon
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“A holiday location you will want to take home with you”
Reviewed 23 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Just returned from a wonderful week at The Lodge, one of the eco properties in the Carswell Cottages collection.
We were so pleased that it lived up to the website. The owners were very helpful from the initial booking enquiries to the welcome note and visit to sort out a couple of technical hitches we had with the DVD!
The property itself is charming, modern but sympathetically designed to complement its surroundings. Whilst we didn't need to use the woodburner, I am sure it would have been very cosy. Despite a mixed bag of weather however, we found the property to be easy to keep warm or ventilate and was bright, light and charmingly constructed, especially with the windows allowing such lovely views.
The outside area - garden, patio and play area in the meadow were all beautiful and made a very relaxing space to chill out in post days out!
The owners have thought about every little thing you could want and it really was a home from home....in fact you will want to take it home with you...or maybe move in permanently!
We were pleasantly woken every morning by the cows in the valley, although quite noisy (in a nice way), they soon became part of our routine.
The local beaches recommended in the welcome folder were stunning...a true slice of unspoilt Devon. There was so much to enjoy we wished we had booked longer...thank you!
Ps there are lots of nice eco touches such as offering hampers from local organic suppliers, using eco products, encouraging recycling and the use of fabric shopping bags as well as, of course, the building itself.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 May 2017
Dear Jenny, so lovely to hear that you enjoyed The Lodge and the 'eco-touches' that we have put in place. Our calves were very pleased to get a mention and say hello! And we all hope that we can welcome you back sometime soon...

With best wishes, Katherine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethm_85b
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect place to escape”
Reviewed 25 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We had a wonderful stay at Crofters Cottage. The cottage itself was just beautiful. We enjoyed the incredible views, lazy breakfasts on the terrace, long walks by the coast and the fantastic hot tub - the perfect place to escape!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Apr 2017
So lovely to hear that you enjoyed the incredible views from Crofters Cottage, and hopefully the amazing 'dark skies' in the evening as well! I hope we can welcome you back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KelvinSal...
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Secluded Beach Hut, Perfect in every way!!”
Reviewed 13 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

We stayed at the Beach Hut and the weekend was the best we have had in a long time, if ever. We couldn't of asked for more. We love the whole secluded atmosphere with no electricity and internet to get away from the technological world for a few days was heaven.
Walks around the area were great, and to get back to the hut after a hike and have the beach to ourselves was the best experience.
Hot-tub, log burner were a great benefit as we stayed at the start of April which came with the nice sunny days but ever so slightly chilly in the evening, the log-burner came in handy and soon heated the hut up in no time.
The Hot-tub was amazing to use whilst looking up at the clear starlit skies, and I would like to say this experience was enlightened furthermore as the light pollution was very very low, allowing for the stars to shine in all their glory.
We were able to make use of the BBQ on two occasions which was very handy, it is a purpose built BBQ that can be used whilst looking out on the fantastic cove with a dining area to allow for outside seating. The Hut was well equipped for all that we needed and felt like our own little beach hut whilst we were there. We really couldn't fault the stay one bit, and now we have great memories from such a great weekend.

We can't thank you enough for making our weekend the best ever.!

We we be back.!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Apr 2017
Thank you for your lovely comments and great to hear that you enjoyed our 'dark skies' that we enjoy here - the stars are just amazing! I hope we can welcome you back to one of our 7 cottages at Carswell Cottages sometime soon.
Katherine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing