We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Place To Stay”
Review of Westwinds

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Westwinds
Ranked #24 of 78 Plymouth B&B and Inns
Towcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lovely Place To Stay”
Reviewed 3 March 2012

I had the pleasure of staying at Westwinds Tues - Fri of this week. Last stayed here in Dec 2011. The service is fantastic, the breakfast is hearty and tastey & made to order. The rooms are always clean and fresh. Phil and Family run a tight ship here and is well worth the stay. 5 min walk to the Hoe. End of the road has a welcoming pub called the Yardarms. Just a few min walk to the town centre. About a 5 min walk to the Barbican. You just can't go wrong by staying here. Oscar and Molly (resident Spaniels) are a delight. The best part of my stay is that I feel like I am at home here. I will stay there every chance I get and would highly recommend people try it for themselves. I can't say enough good things about WestWinds, Phil and Family.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    12
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
19
8
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Towcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

We were looking for somewhere to stay where our dog would be welcomed. We didn't need to go any further than the Westwinds. We were met at the door by the very amical owner, Phil. He showed us to our lovely room and our dog was made to feel at home by a quick visit from the lovely Oscar and Molly (resident Spinger Spaniels).

We had a lovely breakfast in the morning, very ably cooked and served by Phil. After breakfast, I found myself catching up on emails by using my laptop in the small, but very comfortable, sitting area next to the breakfast room. More often than not I was assisted by Oscar with his chin on my foot to keep me company.

The location of the Westwinds was perfect for walks on the beautiful Hoe, which was less than 5 minutes away, and not that far from the Barbican. Plymouth is very much a walking place, so the Westwinds was a perfect base for exploring.

We had a lovely dinner, just down the road at the busy Yard Arm, which was quite a revelation, and accomodated our dog without a problem.

Thank you to Phil and his family for a lovely stay. We look forward to returning one day soon.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChinoHills-MK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
141 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

Hotel near the plymouth hoe but walking distance to city center. Small rooms but very clean with friendly hosts. English breakfast very tasty.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nichpa2812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

Rupert my dog had an excellent stay at Westwinds. We were greeted by Oscar and Mollie (the springers) as we came in which was nice. The place was clean, comfortable and the breakfast was excellent. I would love to come and stay here again - great value for money!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mollymermaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2010

If you are looking for great service and value in a great location in Plymouth, this is the place. Really enjoyable place to stay and the hosts were spot on. Our dog also loved it. The Seagulls were a nightmare in the morning as they were so noisy but I think that is beyond the proprietors control..

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sampig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
0.1 km away
Caledonia Guest House
Caledonia Guest House
#17 of 78 in Plymouth
112 reviews
0.5 km away
The Moorings Guest House
The Moorings Guest House
#30 of 78 in Plymouth
91 reviews
0.0 km away
Tudor House Guest House
Tudor House Guest House
#1 of 78 in Plymouth
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
George Guest House
George Guest House
#46 of 78 in Plymouth
33 reviews
0.1 km away
Rainbow Lodge
Rainbow Lodge
#7 of 78 in Plymouth
277 reviews
0.5 km away
Old Pier House
Old Pier House
#38 of 78 in Plymouth
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westwinds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westwinds

Property: Westwinds
Address: 99 Citadel Road | The Hoe, Plymouth PL1 2RN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Plymouth
Price range (per night): $69 - $184
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small family run guesthouse ideally located for all amenities. Although in the heart of the Hoe it is a quiet location ideal for all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Westwinds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing