We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (229)
Filter reviews
229 results
Traveller rating
172
49
4
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
172
49
4
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dining room family run hotel lovely hotel bristol channel amazing views north walk bedroom window small hotel regular visitors hosts john an overnight stay first class cooked breakfast evening dinner room was large cooked to perfection superior room
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 229 reviews
Reviewed 31 August 2018

We stayed here for one night on our wedding anniversary. Our Superior Room (7) was perfect with great views although the weather wasn't so good! Comfortable beds with plenty of space in the room. Breakfast was lovely and not too much of it followed by a walk along to the Valley of Rocks and over Hollerday Hill back into Lynton.

Room Tip: All rooms have a sea view but pay a little more for a Superior Room.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2018

We loved this place. Falling asleep to just the sound of the sea, waking in the morning to a wonderful view over the sea to Wales and sometimes sun streaming in the windows. It is meticulously clean and the breakfast is excellent with a wide choice and special diets well catered for. There is a comfortable lounge with no bar. The owners are chatty and helpful and it is very quiet, although a short walk into town and has parking - perfect!

Room Tip: All rooms face the sea
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ambazen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John H, Owner at Chough's Nest Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2018

Thank you for your review.
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, the views and our quiet location and our wholesome breakfasts. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2018

We stayed here as a stop-over so were only there one night. It's at the end of a road which is not a through road so is very quiet, good parking facilities. The owner met us on arrival, he was very friendly and helpful and helped us carry bags up to the room. The room was really lovely, well decorated and clean and well appointed with all you'd need, it had a lovely view out over the sea. The en-suite was very clean and again well appointed. I struggle to walk great distances so the very short walk to the town centre was welcome, however there is a pretty steep climb up the hill so bear this in mind. Breakfast was great, cooked freshly and plenty of it and very friendly service.
Would we stop here again? …….. definitely!

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Simon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2018 via mobile

The rooms are spotless and very comfortable and the views are all you could ask for. Plenty of pillows and good quality bedding. The hotel is sympathetically decorated with lots of old prints and antique furniture. Breakfast was a feast to set you up for the day. The hosts make you feel welcome and this is your home while you stay. I would like to stay again one day

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John H, Owner at Chough's Nest Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2018

Thank you for your review of Chough's Nest.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and found our location and furnishings to your liking. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2018

First class, nothing the owners could do would have bettered our stay.We will organize our annual holidays around Lynmouth so we can stay here longer than the 3 nights we had this year.A big plus was the perfect cooked breakfast AND it was served on hot plates without asking.(something missing in most hotels/restaurants),
)

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank petermacro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews