We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great stay in Lynton” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Croft House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Croft House
Ranked #14 of 24 Lynton B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great stay in Lynton”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2011

Charming house, very nice room, comfortable beds, very good breakfast and most of all very welcoming, helpful and friendly host, who had great tips on day tours and restaurants. Definitely recommendable place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AijaCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    14
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
45
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2010

My husband and I had a two night break to celebrate my birthday and enjoy the bank hols weekend. This is our second visit to Croft House and was just as perfect as before. Helen is very hospitable with nothing being too much trouble. From her recommendations we had two very special meals out. One being Lynton Cottage Hotel and St. Vincents restaurant, both were gorgeous. Helen recalled it was my birthday and left chocolates in our room, a lovely thought. We are definitely going to return again, a perfect gem!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hay16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gloucester
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2010

A visit to Lynton and Lynmouth is a must if you want to see beautiful scenery and be free from the everyday stress of todays living.
But `The Icing on the Cake ` has to be the stay at `The Croft ` B & B in Lynton, a house full of charactor furnished in keeping with the home.

We were welcomed by Helen who turned out to be a wonderful host who makes sure you want for nothing and after being shown around we found our room very comfortable with a generous hospitality tray into the bargain. With my wife having serious back problems it was a relief later to find the bed very comfortable for her.

After we had placed our luggage in our room Helen invited us to relax in the lounge and brought in a large pot of tea ( or Coffee ) if preferred complete with what seemed to be homemade biscuits and although busy preparing for further visitors she found time to sit with us and make us feel at home.

I had not been well for the previous couple of days and the following morning although ordering a full breakfast I was unable to face it, our host was very understanding about this and really cares for the comfort of her guests.
The next day I enjoyed a breakfast that sets you up for the day, But just a word of warning `Do` Leave enough room after for a slice of toast and some of Helen`s mothers marmalade.

Helen is a mine of information about places to go and somewhere to eat, one being a local pub she recommended the meal of which we still talk about.

Although it is not possible to park directly outside due to the nature of the area, there is plenty of free parking in the road opposite and in the High Street. In the standard car park there is a small charge during the day but free after six. Unlike my home town I had no fear of parking anywhere, such is the atmosphere of the area.

Helen made you feel part of her home and when we left we felt we had made a new friend.
During our stay she had a very special visitor taking his summer holidays before a very busy time in December,

In the event of you going and you ask, but there is no guarantee she will tell, but he was very satisfied whilst there.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank secretsanta_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2010

We started our weekend break in Devon in the countryside hoping for a quiet weekend when this was shattered we packed up and headed for Lynton, not knowing what to expect, it was just a place on our map. We Went to Tourist Board and ended up with Helen at Croft House.
We could not have picked a better place, Helen , the owner is wonderful, full of fantastic advice plenty of places to visit and tips on where to eat etc. Our room was light, spotless and everything we wanted, especially quiet!
The breakfast would keep you going all day, plenty of choice! Helen was always on hand with a smile and anything you needed she would ensure you had..if possible!

Would be happy to return to this beautiful and quaint part of Devon and wouldn't hesitate to return to Croft house and recommend to other travellers.

Helen you were great !

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AppleWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2010

The minute you arrive at the Croft House Helen greets you and offers you a cup of tea or drink and makes you feel immediately "at home". The hotel is full of beautiful pictures and things to look at. The Garden is small but beautiful. Soothing music plays in the background and it's easy to relax and leave the stresses of life at the door.

Our room was beautiful with comfortable beds. It was spotlessly clean with small touches that make all the difference. Nothing is too much trouble for Helen who does all she can to ensure you have a great stay. Helen takes time to help you plan your activities and will write out routes to ensure you can explore the stunning area without getting lost.

Our cooked breakfast was lovely with endless pots of tea and toast, lovely homemade jams and all made with local fresh produce. Everything is relaxed at Croft House. You can saunter around the beautiful old town, enjoy the stunning Valley of the Rocks. Everyone in Lynton is so friendly and welcoming. There are plenty of places to eat and drink and so much to see.

If you want a proper break and to relax and enjoy quaint old England, Croft House is THE place to go in North Devon. Truly Special.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tammykaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lynton hotels
0.3 km away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#2 of 9 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
0.2 km away
Lynton Cottage Hotel
Lynton Cottage Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lynton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
0.3 km away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#7 of 9 in Lynton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Sinai House
Sinai House
#3 of 9 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
0.2 km away
Southcliffe
Southcliffe
#1 of 24 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
0.4 km away
Longmead House
Longmead House
#2 of 24 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Croft House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Croft House

Property: Croft House
Address: Lydiate Lane | EX35 6HE, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6HE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Lynton
Price range (per night): $116 - $128
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Croft House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Croft House Lynton, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing