We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (560)
Filter reviews
560 results
Traveller rating
344
135
41
23
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
344
135
41
23
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rising sun the pub oysters crab thatched roof low ceilings cod and chips bar menu restaurant was fully booked exmoor gold great atmosphere sea view harbour side club sandwich charming hotel sitting room weekend break
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 560 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We (my wife and I) frequently visit Lynmouth and over the years have witnessed a decline in the level of service from the “owners” of the Rising Sun, Lynmouth but our latest visit to this old “ancient pub” left us both gobsmacked! Their arrogance is beyond belief with the landlord preferring to chat away with his regular whilst showing his back to the rest but to then witness a call for a reservation for a disabled person wanting to book an evening meal with their reaction to laugh it off down the phone and suggest an alternative rather than accommodate (albeit the disabled ramp would be halfway down the pub - landlords comment) was disgusting!

Food looks fab but you’re paying for their arrogance

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Lee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rising Sun V, Front Office Manager at The Rising Sun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

You talk of "arrogance" regarding the owners when maybe you should be questioning your own arrogance in assuming that you knew what was being said by the person on the other end of the phone! By eavesdropping on a private conversation that had nothing to do with you, you have assumed that you know what the conversation was about and felt this gave you the right to be what can only be described as offensive in your description of our business, a business that we have worked very hard to make a success of over many years here in Lynmouth.Mrs Vickery the "arrogant owner" was simply explaining on the telephone how difficult the layout of the bar and restaurant are for anybody with a mobility disability, issues that unfortunately can not be rectified in this beautiful 14th Century building. We do not want anyone to visit us and have there visit spoilt by mobility issues and for this reason we were trying to recommend somewhere that would be more suitable, something we didn't need to do but will always do our best to promote our fellow businesses and neighbours, not the normal action of an "arrogant" person!! At no time was anyone laughing at the situation and never would, what they were laughing at was the options that had been suggested historically as a way of altering the layout. Anyone that knows us will know that your description of us is totally untrue. And very upsetting to those concerned.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely food.great service .Will definitely be back.A must for food.Good local ales and a good wine list and many gins.Booking essential in the restaurant. They have an a la carte and a bar menu .Fish dishes were a speciality.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Jamie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rising Sun V, Front Office Manager at The Rising Sun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you very much for your review your comments were very much appreciated, we look forward to welcoming you back again next time you are visiting this beautiful part of North Devon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2018

Lovely hotel and restaurant! This is the second time we have stopped at the Rising Sun within a year and both stays have been perfect! The staff are very helpful and provide a superb service. We would highly recommend staying here and having a meal in the outstanding restaurant! We have stayed in two different rooms and both have been lovely with beautiful sea views. We will be returning very soon!

Room Tip: Amazing Views
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boastjoshua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rising Sun V, Front Office Manager at The Rising Sun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

A review like yours is always a pleasure to receive. The lovely comments made about the staff have been passed on and were very much appreciated. We would like to thank you for recommending us as a place to stay and for your continued custom.We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2018 via mobile

Had hummous to share for starters which wasnt that amazing but had really lovely crispy cod and chips and hubby had black garlic gnocchi with different mushrooms and sauce for mains. Both very nice. No room for pudding.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank lisajaneand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rising Sun V, Front Office Manager at The Rising Sun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you very much for your review, your comments have been passed on.We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2018

We were on holiday and remembered a good atmosphere in the bar previously. This time we went for the restaurant. It was truly delightful. We had beef carpaccio and smoked salmon for starters and both had the sea bass as a main course. a major treat were the amuse bouche between courses, carrot and coriander soup, strawberry mouse and mini chocolate cookies. We asked the waitress for a recommendation for a wine to complement the food and she got it just right, a delightful Picpoul de Pinet (White). The service was excellent, the atmosphere nicely subdued, and all round it was definitely worth experiencing the restaurant itself.

Stayed: August 2018
Thank travelinwilbury007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews