We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“chocolate box village”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Poppy Cottage

Poppy Cottage, central village location
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Poppy Cottage, central village location
Dunsford village, nestled in the Teign valley Cosy interior with lots of character
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
17 reviews
Poppy Cottage, central village location
Dunsford village, nestled in the Teign valley
Cosy interior with lots of character
Kitchen with cooker, hob, microwave and washer/dryer
Stairs to first floor for bedroom and bathroom
Upstairs landing,  spacious and light
Large and characterful double bedroom, with bedside tables and  comfortable divan bed.
Dressing table with mirror
Large area for dressing and plenty of cupboard and drawer space
Dunsford village store and Walled Tea Garden, about 50 yards from the cottage
Royal Oak pub serving good local food, 30 yards away.
Typical cob and thatched cottage in Dunsford
St Mary's church in Dunsford
Poppy Cottage bathed with sunlight, bright and light inside
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Exeter, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Moira B
1 review
“chocolate box village”
Reviewed 28 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Cottage interior dated.Living room carpet and sofa badly stained.Bedding and towels look quite old,no hand towels.
A very friendly village in a beautiful setting.A good base for visiting surrounding areas some lovely walks.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jun 2017
Many thanks for you review and I'm glad you enjoyed staying in the pretty village of Dunsford. I appreciate your other comments as well and have taken action. The carpets will be deep cleaned next week, with fresh covers to the sofa and chairs and new bedding and towels put into place. I realise the cottage may look a little dated by today's standards, but it has a certain charm which makes it a comfortable, friendly and relaxing place to stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jola T
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cozy cottage”
Reviewed 24 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We stayed at Poppy Cottage for 5 nights during the February half term. The accomodation was perfect for a couple with one dog. The location was great for exploring the local countryside and nearby atteactions. A real bonus to have a beautiful riverside walk on the doorstep. Dunsford is a perfect example of a picturesque Devonshire village with a friendly and welcoming pub 20 paces from the cottage. We enjoyed our stay very much and would certainly visit again

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris T
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice cottage, great location”
Reviewed 4 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Poppy cottage I would rate as 3* but this is boosted to 4* due to the lovely village location.

Downstairs it is a bit cramped and the kitchen, although well equipped, is a bit tired. Upstairs is spacious.

Plenty of hot water and the storage heaters work well.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil R
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent value.”
Reviewed 3 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

A lively quaint place in the country, this is your idyllic place to stay, full of rustic charm. The cottage has everything you would need and a constant supply of hot water!! We will of course be booking again, a lovely way to spend our holiday this year.

My only critic, and this is being fussy would be the sofa and chair in the lounge could do with being replaced / restuffed, having said that I should have been walking the amazing walks or visiting areas in Devon rather than sitting down anyway.

5 stars, will be staying again. Thank you Hazel, who incidentaly was lively to deal with.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Nov 2016
Many thanks for the review and I appreciate your useful comments. I will be getting the sofa cushions replaced so they are comfy once again.
You'll be welcome back anytime you decide to revisit Devon and the village of Dunsford.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing