We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A lovely relaxing break”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lounge with 42' LCD TV, Sky+ HD; Sport, Movies, Documentaries & Variety Pack
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Average
31 reviews
Lounge with 42' LCD TV, Sky+ HD; Sport, Movies, Documentaries & Variety Pack
Encyclopedia Britannica & OS 1:25,000 Dartmoor wall map
Art deco lighting
Full length vanity mirror
Well equipped kitchen with dishwasher
Fridge with small freezer compartment
Well equipped kitchen
Lovely light bathroom, with period features
Modern electric shower, with excellent flow rate
Large Shared Garden, you can see about 1/2 of it here
Exeter Watersports club: Rowing, Dragon boats, Canoe/Kayak & Scuba diving
Quay Climbing in Exeter's old power station, venue is fab, great coffee  shop to watch the action
Haven Banks Outdoor Pursuits Center, canoe, kayak, pot hole, archery, climbing wall & so much more.
Exeter Quay, lots of lovely old pubs to savour the sunset in.
Exeter historic quay, scene for the BBC Onedin Line series. Cafes, resturants & so much more
Exeter Catherdral
Exeter Quay, lots of coffee/pubs/rest. Leading onto riverside country park, wonderful dog walks/runs
Exeter Canal, runs almost to the center of the city
Dartmoor National Park.
A short drive or more energetic cycle away. Just magical!
Exmoor National Park, an hours drive, but worth it. Joining the rugged & wild Atlantic coast
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Exeter, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Helen P
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“A lovely relaxing break”
Reviewed 1 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

The apartment was well equipped and clean and the huge bed was very comfy. The location was great, easy walking distance into the city centre.
There was a big Waitrose with a cafe just around the corner, and another supermarket that opened until 10pm within 5 minutes walk.
Lots of useful tourist information in a book, we visited several of the pubs recommended...loved the Double Locks!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Sep 2015
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SUSANHYS
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“OVER THE TOP DESCRIPTION”
Reviewed 19 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The accommodation is not as advertised. It is NOT a one bedroom apartment, it is a basic STUDIO. ..... i.e. the bed is in the lounge.
The kitchen is NOT modern , it is basic and the advert gives the impression that there is a fridge and a freezer when in fact there is a small fridge with a tiny (iced up) ice box. Also, the floorcovering is very worn and discoloured near the sink making it look very dirty(although it wasn't)
The bathroom is NOT a modern family bathroom. It is a small space with a sink, toilet and shower and is badly in need of decorating as are the other areas. The walls are decorated in old woodchip throughout with many signs of re-routing of the wiring and alterations.
The windows DO NOT run the entire length of one wall of the lounge.
We had some issues on arrival .......no toilet paper, only one towel for the 2 of us for 4 days, one dirty tea towel, no plug in the bathroom sink, dirty water left in the kitchen sink.
We contacted John by text on the day we arrived and he did supply the plug, tea towel and towels but not until the following afternoon. In the meantime we borrowed towels and plug from friends. John did apologise for the slip ups and gave us a bottle of wine in recompense.
There was plenty of information and leaflets about the area ; it was reasonably clean, although the bathroom basin overflow needed a thorough cleaning.
The heating system worked very well. The access to Southlands is quite awkward being right by the traffic lights. There is no right turn out of Southlands towards town and once having turned left, there is no right turn into Magdalen Road which is the other way into town.
Having said all this and having been as factual as possible, I would say that what you get is what you pay for, a basic studio flat in need of a good deal of updating and t.l.c.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: the bed was comfortable as descibed
Liked least: the bathroom was quite unpleasant
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Sep 2015
I'm sorry it was not to your liking. Most people love it.
Yes it is a Studio Apartment, with one large lounge/bedroom, (7m by 8m, it's a large room, with almost one entire wall with windows, very light & catches the afternoon sun) with the high Georgian ceilings, separate galley kitchen & separate bathroom.
When we started letting the apartment the whole flat has refurbished throughout, it's a new kitchen, with all new appliances, (cooker, hob, dishwasher, fridge & small electric items) that's within the last 6mths. The pictures are accurate & current.
To be fair I was not aware of the definition of a Studio apartment, until you brought it up. I'll change our description to include that wording.
The studio apartement has been let continously since we advertised it & you are the first person to express dissatisfaction with the layout.

Last week we had the front drive & car park resurfaced at a cost of £15,000, it's a huge area, the car parking place immediately outside the studio apartment has been marked for parking for the Hideaway only.

We have put a lavender bed in front of the apartment & moved the bins 200m away to a new storage area. It all looks stunning.

The location of the flat is superb for exploring Exeter, the university, especially the Teacher training college or the hospital.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrs june...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not pleasant”
Reviewed 15 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We found the drawers were dirty cooker dirty floor in kitchen discusting dining chairs could do with a good clean, we should have stayed for one week but stayed we stayed 3 nights and went home . No plug in b/room sink not enough towels 2bath 1hand 1teatowel would not recommend
Very unhappy

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked least: The dirty full bin full of flies right outside the window stinks
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jul 2015
The apartment is always cleaned to a high standard. We use a local professional company, for every changeover. I'd also checked the apartment after it had been cleaned.
No other guest have found fault with the cleaning of the apartment.
The drawers are antique georgian & are beautiful & match the period of the house, they definitely are not dirty, but of course do show some 200 years of use.
The floor in the kitchen is immaculate, the cooker equally so. They were both put in new as the carpet, kitchen, bed, mattress & many of the fixings & furnishings at the beginning of this summer.
The chairs are new georgian style chairs, without a single mark or stain on them.
The plug in the bathroom sink, had gone missing, which we missed & if we had been asked we could have replaced this immediately.
We live in the same Georgian mansion house & are able to sort any problems if they arise. This guest made no complaints while they were with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nerdyinde...
1 review
“Fantastic place to stay, only a few issues which are easily sorted.”
Reviewed 2 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

My boyfriend and I stayed here for two nights in June. The apartment was just what we needed and suited us perfectly. However, the hot water and oven did not work. These were the only issues we found and they are easy to fix. As we only stayed for two nights it didn't matter too much but worth checking befote guests stay that they work.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jul 2015
We are glad you enjoyed your stay.
The oven is new, we could have shown you how it worked if asked.
The water is supplied by a gas combi boiler, it supplies water on demand. I can't imagine what the problem was, but if asked could have shown you how it works. Possibly the previous guest had turned the boiler off, it's fully serviced & works fine.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shabadia
1 review
“Quiet,comfortable,great value”
Reviewed 29 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

After staying at the hideaway apartments i would recommend it to anyone wanting a no hassle peaceful stay. Not far from the city centre and close to supermarkets and bus/coach station.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jul 2015
Thank you, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
USD 67
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing