We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The perfect cosy cottage”
other travellers have booked this property
Our cottage on lovely sunny day taken from next doors garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Our cottage on lovely sunny day taken from next doors garden
The bright second bedroom The church gates
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
40 reviews
Our cottage on lovely sunny day taken from next doors garden
The bright second bedroom
The church gates
The small second lounge
The lounge with two 2 seater sofas
Well equipped kitchen with seating for 4 people
The children's play area directly opposite the cottage
View of church from the road
The main bedroom with views across to the village green
The lounge showing fireplace
Take the ferry across the river at topsham and walk along tow path to great pub
Exmouth Beach
The Courtyard Garden
A lovely walk through the cornfields in the village
View of the church opposite the cottage
Budleigh Salterton Beach
A view from Lympstone harbour just 10 minutes drive from the cottage
Otterton Mill a great riverside walk takes you here. Still a working mill
A beautiful day on Exmouth Beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Exeter, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lbgriff
1 review
“The perfect cosy cottage”
Reviewed 3 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Had a great weekend away with friends at the little thatch. The cottage was beautiful and just what we wanted, it was in a great location in a lovely little village, only 2 min walk to the pub which was a fun night out and the beach was only a short drive with amazing views of red cliffs. It was so lovely and cosy we found ourselfs staying in under blankets by the fire playing all the board games they had, we even lit the BBQ up and had a winters feast. We all had such a fun weekend and couldn't of stayed in a nicer place. Thanks!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Feb 2017
Thank you so much for this great review. I am so glad that you enjoyed your selves so much . I look forward to welcoming you again in the future
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tori P
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect country cottage!”
Reviewed 4 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This idyllic little cottage is an excellent escape from city life. It's extremely comfortable and cosy, beautifully decorated and has great attention to detail. Equipped with everything you need it's difficult to drag yourself away from the comforts of the cottage, but when you do you're surrounded by natural beauty. It's a short journey to the beach for wonderful walks and the nearby town is great to explore. December was a lovely time to stay as it felt very Christmassy; I am going to book again for the summer so that I can take advantage of the patio garden and have a swim in the sea!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Mar 2017
Wow ! Thanks you for this review. I am so pleased that you enjoyed the cottage and the beautiful area as much as we do.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Verity6
Warwickshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clean, warm, comfortable well-equipped cottage: beware low doorframes.”
Reviewed 9 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage was very pleasant. There were a few little things that I would mention:
1) Take very seriously the 'courtyard garden' and do not suppose that the picture of the cottage, which is taken across a neighbouring garden is a reflection of the outside space.
2) Time of departure (10.00 a.m.) could have been a little more generous, especially since the owner wanted the beds stripped and the linen left in the bath for collection.
3) The cottage was very clean, but the roasting pan in the oven was disgusting -- I'm sure they just hadn't seen it had been left like that.
4) The description could helpfully include the fact that the doorframes are very low.
5) There is very little available parking in the village, and, over the time we were there, none ever became free near the cottage. This wasn't much of a problem for us, but it should perhaps be made clear that you may have to drive around to find somewhere to park.
6) Older travellers should know that the staircase is steep and uneven and the landing is strongly tilted.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The bed was very comfortable.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Nov 2016
Thank you so much for your review. Firstly I apologise for the roasting tin this must have been an oversight on behalf of the cleaner. The cottage is 250 years old and listed. Therefore there is little that we can do about the low door frames or the landing being tilted. . We are very restricted by our listed status which forbids us from making structural changes. I have never had a problem parking but I take on board your comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Betty1547
Tynemouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Lovely Cottage, ideal location”
Reviewed 6 October 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Had a great few days at Little Thatch, the cottage was a lovely and cosy, well equipped and in a great location. It was also ideal accommodating dogs. The location was ideal for visiting the area, Topsham is a lovely town to visit as is the beach at Exmouth. Woodbury Common is great for dog walking and the views were stunning. Local pub in the village served great food too. Can't wait to go back again and explore a bit more. Thanks Jane and Rich.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jun 2017
Thank you so much for your kind words. I am so glad that you enjoyed your few days away in Devon. We hope to welcome you back one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweetland...
North Caldwell, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Quaint, old, adequate”
Reviewed 25 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

If you want to imagine yourself I jolly old England, this is a place to try. In the tiny village of Woodbury, you'll find yourself near a great pub, with what you need for a short stay. It is a very old building with lots of charm that has been modernized as much as possible. It's quirky, though. Had to reboot the router to get service - ok. It was damp and chilly, and the heating system was a challenge to figure out - but once we solved the riddle, it was fine. Not exactly near the beach, but you can drive out to see the really beautiful coast.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The nearby pub for dinner meant no driving home.
Liked least: Figuring out how to make things work - which eventually they did.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Mar 2017
Thanks you for your review. I am so surprised that you had a problem with the router but it is such a simple job that i'm sure it wasn't too inconvenient . Apologies about the heating , the previous guest had switched it off in the cupboard and it was just a case of flicking a switch. We have now installed the Hive system so we can sort out any heating problems guests may have remotely from our phones.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing