We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect for a weekend with friends.”
other travellers have booked this property
Our cottage on lovely sunny day taken from next doors garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Our cottage on lovely sunny day taken from next doors garden
The bright second bedroom The church gates
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
43 reviews
Our cottage on lovely sunny day taken from next doors garden
The bright second bedroom
The church gates
The small second lounge
The lounge with two 2 seater sofas
Well equipped kitchen with seating for 4 people
The children's play area directly opposite the cottage
View of church from the road
The main bedroom with views across to the village green
The lounge showing fireplace
Take the ferry across the river at topsham and walk along tow path to great pub
Exmouth Beach
The Courtyard Garden
A lovely walk through the cornfields in the village
View of the church opposite the cottage
Budleigh Salterton Beach
A view from Lympstone harbour just 10 minutes drive from the cottage
Otterton Mill a great riverside walk takes you here. Still a working mill
A beautiful day on Exmouth Beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Exeter, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
2travel12...
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect for a weekend with friends.”
Reviewed 11 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

The cottage was in a great location in the middle of the village opposite the village green. There were 2 pubs, both only a 2 minute walk away which were great and some lovely vintage shops. The cottage was very clean and had everything we needed for a relaxing weekend away including towels.
Although there was no parking at the cottage this was not a problem as we were able to park very close by each time we returned.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was a very quaint English cottage.
Liked least: Lack of sun in the courtyard garden.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jun 2015
Thank you so much for your comments. We are glad that you love the cottage and the area as much as we do. The area has so much to offer as and AONB it is perfect for so many different interests.
We hope that you will return.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger2043
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Another fantastic few days”
Reviewed 27 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

This is our second visit to this lovely little cottage in a delightful village and found it just as nice as the first. The cottage is in a great central spot for exploring the surrounding areas and its beautiful countryside. We spend 4 nights here walking on the near by common, beaches and Otterton. We had a thoroughly relaxing time and the dog was spoilt for choice with all the different walks that she went on. The villagers are all friendly and are happy to help with any directions. Thank you again Jane and Rich for a lovely few days

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim C
1 review
“Rest and relaxation at its best”
Reviewed 4 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Had a great time at the cottage , well equipped and homely. Very good location for beach and country walks also easy for town .... Enjoyed and will be back

Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary E
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
1 review
“lovely little cottage.”
Reviewed 13 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

very cute and rustic little cottage,very comfortable and quite suitable for the dogs,we had a lovely 3 nights to celebrate our 45 th wedding anniversary. Woodbury is a very friendly village & will hopefully be back again next year .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: within walking distance of pubs & shop.
Liked least: kitchen could do with redecorating
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Oct 2014
I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and hopefully we will see you next year
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
345B_H
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent location, well presented and comprehensively equipped”
Reviewed 7 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

My wife and I enjoyed an anniversary short break at Little Thatch, Woodbury in Devon. We found the cottage to be as picturesque in reality as the photograph promised.
Situated in a quiet village with easy parking, the location provided access to many local attractions on or nearby to the River Exe.
The cottage was clean and comfortable with just about everything one would need to enjoy one's holiday.
My wife and I would recommend Little Thatch without hesitation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: well equipped kitchen
Liked least: stairs - we live in a bungalow
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing