We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent place to stay or just eat.”

Chi Oriental Restaurant
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Chi Oriental Restaurant
Ranked #17 of 68 Exeter B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 May 2015

My wife and I, our daughter and our two young grandchildren stayed for three nights recently .My wife and I have stayed here before and consequently we stayed again .We had our breakfasts in the restaurant and at £6 50 we found this to be a cheaper option than having the same meals in say Dawlish, as fruit juice,toast and tea/coffee are included in the price as in other restaurants they are not .With having two young children with us we decided to have our evening meals in our rooms at about 8 oclock ,which turned out to be a great idea .Everything about this restaurant & bar are great .The meals ,the cleanliness and the staff will go the extra mile to the ensure that you thoroughly enjoy your visit .If we were to find any fault at all it is that the pool could do with a little TLC ,but all in all this is a very nice place to stay or if only for visiting to have a drink.

Room Tip: Just ask for the type of accommodation that you require.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (93)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 40 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2015 via mobile

We had the set meal for four people.

A good variety of food was served on warm plates, excellently presented. Flavours good, meat tender and the rice beautifully cooked.

We ate everything, nothing apart from a few raw vegetable were left on the serving platers.

Rice, satay sauce and coffee was refilled at request and no further charge.

Service was good, always refilling our water glasses etc.

We would have given 5*, if the service at the end of the meal had been the same as during, we were the last there, and they were cashing up. I don't think they wanted to hurry us out! But this is being picky.

£105. 00 for three course set meal, including two beers, one coke, one sprit and two coffees.

Highly recommend, and look forward to returning.

Stayed: May 2015, travelled with family
Thank sirkitchalott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2015

Me and my fiancee had a meal at the restaurant and stayed over night in the b&b on the 31st of December to celebrate new Year, that was very good choice from start we have been very welcome by very helpful lady on reception she even offered to take our luggage upstairs to our room very polite, room we have stayed inn was spotless, with everything we need it. At the restaurant all the staff has been very well mannered and polite showing respect to all customers, Food was amazing with descent break between the starter main and dessert, no rush at all. Will definitely stay at Chi again, the owners should be very proud of there place, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank k m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2014 via mobile

I would like to say that Friday 5th of December I booked a table of 24 at chi resturant I have eaten at many many places but this one was way way higher than any one I had been before it was my husbands 60 th and my family were amazed it was a huge banquet from the moment the first person arrived they were greeted by the most loveliest staff so friendly and can never do enough all turned out in there lovely dresses the waitresses and waiters were a credit you look and see smiles everywhere even the kitchen staff hardworking found the time to smile and say hello then after all gathering we gave in our orders and so prompt out game the food and oh my goshhh it was heaven on a plate they have so many dishes to choose from all cooked freshly to the highest standards by the head chef who is the owner mr choy I've truly never experienced flavours like it and everyone of my family can't stop talking about it also I can't thank the lady owner mrs Sui choy enough she is not only a very stunning lady from the outside she was most caring rather than let my uncle very disabled go out front door she walked him out to a side door making it so much easier for him to get in the taxi I do know my family can't wait to go back there and believe me if you want a romantic meal or a party please please pick up your phone and book chi it is a diamond of a place you will want to go back again and again thank you chi for a unforgettable evening and your wonderful staff in the most beautiful spotless restruant shelley perryman

  • Stayed: December 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SHELLEY117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2014

We have just returned from staying and eating at the Chi hotel. It was our anniversary and boy did they make it special.

The room was £64.00 and was clean ,well presented with ample space. décor is good, crisp white bed lining and everything that you needed.

The staff are outstanding and nothing was too much trouble for them, We really did appreciate all the effort they made for 19th Wedding Anniversary....On arrival balloons in the room, Fruit platter with Kiwi, strawberry's etc all carved and well presented.

When we were shown to our table that had also been decorated, which was a nice little touch.
The restaurant is immaculate and has a lovely atmosphere, The food is excellent and second to none. We moved from London about 7 yrs ago and were spoilt for choice with Chinese Restaurants and I would have to say this is probably if not the best we have eaten at.

Staff are very hard working but still have time to cater for your every need.........I would 100% recommend you go....if you like quality food, good service and friendly staff.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DOYLE39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Exeter hotels
14.2 km away
Culm Vale Country House
Culm Vale Country House
#1 of 1 in Stoke Canon
59 reviews
11.1 km away
Hampton by Hilton Exeter Airport
5 km away
Exeter Court Hotel
Exeter Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kennford
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 km away
Best Western Exeter Lord Haldon Country Hotel
19.7 km away
The Silverton Inn
The Silverton Inn
#1 of 2 in Silverton
136 reviews
13.6 km away
The Grange Court Hotel
The Grange Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Rockbeare
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chi Oriental Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chi Oriental Restaurant

Address: Fore Street | Kenton, Exeter, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Exeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in Exeter
Price Range: AU$97 - AU$147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chi Oriental Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chi. Formerly the Devon Arms public house, Devon Arms underwent a major refurbishment in 2006, re-opening in July 2007 as Chi. You will find us tucked away in the picturesque village of Kenton. Situated on the edge of the Powderham Estate, we are just minutes walk away from Powderham Castle, the historic home of the Earl of Devon, built over 600 years ago. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Evoline ltd, Hooroo Pty Ltd and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Chi Oriental Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chi Oriental Restaurant Exeter, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing