We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,319)
Filter reviews
2,318 results
Traveller rating
846
939
349
128
56
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
846
939
349
128
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviews privilege room jacuzzi and sauna leisure facilities car park city centre lovely hotel per day good size walk in shower kippers reception staff nespresso machine on site parking location is excellent third floor few minutes walk standard room
Filter
Updating list...
818 - 823 of 2,318 reviews
Reviewed 6 December 2015 via mobile

We stayed here for one night whilst visiting family and enjoyed a Privilege Room with breakfast. There were two parties taking place but we still had loads of space in the bar area and service was good. Room was most comfortable and well appointed. Friendly welcome and departure, all very efficient. Breakfast voluminous and good quality. Sensible pricing for the room and drinks. Car parking costs £12 per night.

Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Donald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureExeterGM, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2015

Dear Donald M,

Thank you for your review and feedback. I'm delighted you had another good stay with us and found the service good as well as friendly and efficient. I will be pleased to share this with the team and hope we can welcome you back again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
David Hayden
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2015

Stayed here whilst visiting family in the city and had a very pleasant time. Our room was comfortable and well equipped. Located a 3-minute walk from the cathedral close, this hotel couldn't be more handy for shopping, restaurants, Exeter Quay and the city sites. Breakfast was very good and the staff were upbeat. The car park was a bit of a problem - it's smallish and there were a lot of wedding guests at the hotel that weekend. A very nice hotel in which to stay and will do so again.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keys-quay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureExeterGM, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2015

Dear keys-quay,

Thank you for your recent review and feedback. I was delighted to read you enjoyed your stay with us and plan to stay with us again in the future. I hope we can welcome you back to Exeter soon.

Kind Regards,
David Hayden
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2015

We were so lucky to be able to upgrade to a suite on this our fourth stay at this hotel.... Now we have been spoiled forever... What a lovely stay. The accommodation was spacious and very comfortable, with a full bathroom. The breakfasts, as normal , delicious and plentiful, and the spa experience so relaxing, we will definitely return, and hope to upgrade again.

Room Tip: Southernhay 187 is lovely.
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureExeterGM, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2015

Dear Linda H,

Thank you for your review and feedback. I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay again with us and pleased to read that you will definitely return in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards,
David Hayden
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2015 via mobile

Really nice hotel right in the historic city centre Rooms good food nice and a good bar Staff friendly & efficient hotel was very clean .will be staying there on my next trip to Exeter
Reasonably priced rooms thou bar drinks were expensive for Devon

Stayed: October 2015, travelled on business
Thank chipdechat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureExeterGM, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2015

Dear chipdechat,

Thank you for your review and feedback following your stay at the hotel. I'm delighted you had a good stay with us and found the team to be friendly and efficient, with good rooms and food. I hope we can welcome you back to Exeter in the near future.

Kind Regards,
David Hayden
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2015

Good solid four star hotel, nice bar and decent pool/sauna, nothing fancy but pleasant. Rooms modern and well furnished, comfy bed, all in all a great deal at the 80 quid a night we paid. Go for upper floor at rear of hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank onthegolfcourseagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MercureExeterGM, General Manager at Mercure Exeter Southgate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2015

Dear StuartHLondon,

Thank you for your review and feedback. I'm delighted your stay with met your expectations and hope we can welcome you back to Exeter again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
David Hayden
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews