We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous Bed & Breakfast”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
Browns Steps , Dartmouth
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Dartmouth, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
emmasV845...
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous Bed & Breakfast”
Reviewed 3 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Five night stay in the Barn and the perfect combination of 5 star breakfast with a small well equipped kitchen to prepare meals ( although we ate out most nights ). Ingrid is a superb host with great knowledge of the area, she has very high standards and despite allowing dogs everything smells of fresh laundry and the beautiful cakes she sometimes surprises you with! The Barn shares a beautiful little garden with raised deck seating area and hidden benches with night lighting and fairy lights. We loved the coastal walk down to the cove in the evening where you can watch the fish jumping in the breakers.
Ingrid is extremely kind and helpful to all her guests.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Aug 2017
Thank you so much for your lovely comments. It was a real delight to welcome you ,Scottie and Barney to Roxburgh House and and I am so pleased that you enjoyed your break even though the weather was not always great ! I really enjoyed our discussions and laughs over breakfast and look forward to seeing you again down here in the beautiful South Hams .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer...
1 review
“Just what we wanted”
Reviewed 13 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We went to Strete to see our younger daughter take part in her first triathlon. We took our labrador and needed somewhere we could have our dog. The Barn at Roxburgh House was ideal, comfortable bedroom, small kitchen with cooking facilities etc if we needed them (and plentiful supply of milk, tea and coffee including decaf) sitting area with TV and room to put the dog bed, and a very pretty garden to walk through. Plus a local dog walking field (community field) away from the local narrow lanes. We really enjoyed our stay, Ingrid was very welcoming and so helpful, booked us a table at a local pub for our first night. Thank you for everything, we will be back!

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsay B
Dawlish, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful b&b”
Reviewed 3 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Clean, warm, comfortable 3 night stay in the barn for my 91 year old motherinlaw. Nothing too much trouble. Beautiful accommodation. Fabulous breakfasts. Wonderful garden. Highly recommended. Thanks Ingrid

Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 May 2017
Thank you so much for your lovely review. It was a real delight and a privilege to meet your mother-in - law. She is amazing for her age - so active , interesting and positive about life. I am so pleased that she enjoyed her stay here !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chrisfrom...
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“What a lovely lady! ”
Reviewed 29 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016


We stayed in The Barn for one night on the 27th of October and were so impressed. It's not often that one can honestly say that one could not improve anything but it really felt as if perfection had been achieved. You might be forgiven for thinking that l've been at the bottle or, simply, that l'm easily pleased. But l can't think of one tiny detail that wasn't absolutely spot-on. The accommodation itself is clean and well-equipped and Ingrid is so welcoming and friendly. Breakfast set us up for the day! I could go on and on but l think you get the idea.
This is an absolutely cracking B&B that feels more like a home-from-home. If you're in the area, give Ingrid a call; you'll not be disappointed.

Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Oct 2016
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments ! It was lovely to meet you and your family and I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with me in this lovely part of Devon !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek I
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Devon getaway”
Reviewed 3 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Had the privalige to stay at the Roxburgh house had 1 night in the main house and 2 nights in the barn , the bedroom in the main house was comfy with lots of room and tea coffee avalible a large double bed and soft pillows. We had breakfast downstairs in the dinning room and Ingrid are host made us so welcome , we had the most amazing breakfast with local bacon sausages and farmers free range eggs , fresh coffee & tea and local bread and home made marmalade and honey it's fantastic and the lovely chat with Ingrid with so much local knowledge giving us tips and maps to enjoy are day . We had booked 2 nights in the barn in the back garden which is stocked with beautiful cottage plants and wonderfull lighting at night . The barn is so quaint lounge down star and bedroom upstairs it's so nice and a mini kitchen , and your own balcony . Apart from Ingrid being the most amazing host EVER you are right in the middle of Blackpool Sands & Slapton both with stunning beaches and scenery , there is a really nice pub across the road selling local ales and fantastic food , this is a great place to stay for a chill out week or long weekend

Value Rooms
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Oct 2016
Thank you so much for your lovely comments . It was a real pleasure to meet you and I am so glad that you enjoyed staying both in the house and the barn and also relaxing in the garden !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing