We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Roxburgh House Bed and Breakfast”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
Browns Steps , Dartmouth
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Dartmouth, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
LBaber
Bristol
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Roxburgh House Bed and Breakfast”
Reviewed 5 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Easy too book and a warm welcome from Ingrid on arrival who offered tea and a home made chocolate cake. She had a great knowledge of the local area and places to visit. Clean and cosy single bedroom with a view of the sea in the distance. Wifi signal not very strong, but that did not matter to me.

A good breakfast including a cooked breakfast to order, cereals, fruit, yoghurt, toast and home made jams and marmalade, can even have porridge on request.

Great location in between Slapton Sands and Blackpool Sands and close to Dartmouth, which I was visiting the Dartmouth Regatta.

I had a lovely stay and will definitely come back, thank you Ingrid

Rooms Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cherrypie...
North Lincolnshire
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Superb hospitality”
Reviewed 20 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for two nights at Roxburgh House whilst taking part in the SW Marinelife survey. Ingrid was incredibly welcoming of us into her home. She made the whole experience from booking to arrival and departure a pleasure.

Her instructions, care and attention throughout were faultless. Her knowledge of the local area as a tourist information volunteer helped enormously.

The rooms were clean, comfortable with attention to every detail. The breakfast superb, even at 6.45am.

She made us feel so at home, I left with her keys. I'll post them back tomorrow, of course, tempting as it is to move back in for a longer visit.

Highly recommended for anyone wanting individual care and an antidote to impersonal, corporate accommodation.

Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris G
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Most comfortable and Ingrid is very hospitable.”
Reviewed 10 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I passed one night here when walking the coastal path, staying in the barn behind the main house which is very well appointed. Breakfast was excellent as well. Nothing is too much trouble for Ingrid and I thoroughly recommend Roxburgh; worth going out of your way to stay in.

Value Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy Y
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A great place to stay on the south Devon coast”
Reviewed 9 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We felt very welcome and very quickly at home at Roxburgh House. Ingrid is an engaging hostess, genuinely interested in her guests, and very responsive to our individual breakfast preferences from day to day! We spent the first night in the comfortable double-bedded room in the main house, and 5 nights in the "barn", located the other side of a small and very charming enclosed garden. We particularly appreciated the extra privacy of this arrangement.

The house borders directly onto the narrowish if pretty road through the village, so parking directly outside can be a bit difficult, but there is ample parking within a few yards and it really wasn't a problem for us.

The village itself is very pleasant, and we found it to be well situated for Dartmouth and for the beach, a short trip by car or about 15 minutes on foot.

All in all this was an exceptionally pleasant place to stay, with a hostess who was knowledgeable about the area, accommodating to our needs, and friendly and sociable without being over-the-top. We would certainly want to revisit Ingrid and Roxburgh House, and would recommend her and it whole-heartedly!

Value Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naomi_Ber...
Pitstone, United Kingdom
1 review
“Charming accommodation and warm welcome”
Reviewed 22 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We stayed in the delightful sef-catering converted traditional barn adjacent to the main B&B house. It was full of thoughtful touches.The bedroom upstairs had an en suite shower room. Downstairs there was a lovely sitting room and fully equiped kitchenette. In fact, the accommodation was very well equiped throughout.The charming cottage style garden enticed you to sit out with the raised deck giving you views of the sparkling blue sea.
We were warmly welcomed by Ingrid who provided a wealth of local knowledge about walks, restaurants and other day/nightlife as well as catering for all our other needs. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend a stay at Roxburgh House in the attractive village of Strete perched on the edge of the Devon clifftops.

Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing