We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised”
Review of New Inn

New Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Restaurants in Clovelly
Restaurant details
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Lovely location and food very good and plentiful. Although a fairly basic menu, the food was of good quality and service good. We were very surprised at the competitive prices for this unique location. Highly recommended.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Janice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beryl g, Manager at New Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a good review. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 130 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2018 via mobile

We had evening meal here after a long walking day on the Southwest Coast Path.. great food and drink.
You order directly on the bar and after some minutes a nice lady will come into the room calling the plate's name to serve the right table..very nice.
Absolutely to try

Thank linnen66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beryl g, Manager at New Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your lovely review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit to the New Inn. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2018 via mobile

Stopped off for a cream tea but bar service was slow and lady was rude. We then had to chase our order because it was forgotten about. No apology. Not the way you treat customers, would do back to Clovelly but not this inn. They seemed understaffed but got the feeling that's normal. Also wouldn't recommend having a sign saying
"next mood swing in 6 minutes" at the bar!!!!

Thank marisaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beryl g, Manager at New Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

I'm sorry you did not enjoy your visit to the New Inn, all comments have been noted and passed to the relevant staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2018

Felt understaffed, waiting at the bar to be served for quite a while. One of us ordered a seafood platter, and unless I am much mistaken, the smoked salmon included may have lived in a river. It was a small amount of salmon, some prawn cocktail and a the remainder garden salad. One quick google search for seafood platter would cover what most might expect in such a dish. There were a table of French visitors and we felt embarrassed at what they may have thought of the dish! The remaining meals were average.
Tables are sticky and varnish is peeling. The lady from the kitchen was helpful but continued to come out of the kitchen shouting out meals, which quite a lot of the non-English speaking visitors struggled to understand, so she just got louder and at one point shouted 'Bingo'!
It didn't feel as though they had enough staff or the understanding of delivering good food service.
Very disappointing after a lovely meal had been had the evening before at the pub on the harbour.
They have a captive audience in this quirky small village and it is such a shame not to see them capitalise on their opportunity and diminish the experience of those staying there.
I am always reluctant to write less than positive reviews unless I feel strongly, but for the price, it was not a good experience.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Tania C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beryl g, Manager at New Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

On the menu it clearly states next to Seafood Platter what it consists of. I have spoken to all staff and they say when they do take out food orders they do shout the order and if no one answers they do shout louder because when people are talking sometimes it is difficult to hear. All staff say at no point did anyone shout 'Bingo', why on earth would they!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2018

We arrived at the new inn at 1 minute past 2.30pm and was told very brusquely that lunch had finished. No i'll speak to the chef and see what we can do. Just a flat no.!
We were offered cake or a cream tea, but that isn't lunch. Very disappointed.

    • Service
Thank Duncan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beryl g, Manager at New Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We do have to have a cut off time for lunch service as it does take the kitchen staff time to clear up, wipe down, clear all the dishes and brush/mop floors etc. The staff then get a short break before they have to return to prep for the evening shift. Our serving times are clearly on display outside.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed New Inn also viewed

 

Been to New Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing