We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Evening meal”
Review of New Inn

New Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Restaurants in Clovelly
Restaurant details
Reviewed 3 August 2018 via mobile

Having difficulty deciding what to write as it was all ok... just OK!
Beef lasagne turned up super quick, suspiciously quick... reheated in a microwave and bunged under a grill perhaps? Deep friend scampi and chips served with a lettuce, tomato and cucumber ‘salad’ If this had been the early 80’s I’d have been impressed however it’s 2018 and it fell a little short for my modern taste buds. Pleasant staff and a clean restaurant but lacked a little umph

Thank FoodPenguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beryl g, Manager at New Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Our beef lasagne is homemade daily here at the New Inn, we don't usually get complaints for food turning up quick!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (130)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 130 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2018 via mobile

Friendly staff.great food.HUGE portions.bren there several times now,and keep going back.very quaint and cozy.

Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beryl g, Manager at New Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your lovely review, so lovely to hear you enjoy our food and that the staff look after you. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2018 via mobile

Lovely peaceful garden to enjoy our well deserved cream tea. Great value at about £9 for two and we had two amazing scones each. They were so light and had been warmed through. The clotted cream was sooooo delicious and the jam was lovely and sweet. Would definitely recommend.

Thank emileee83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beryl g, Manager at New Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your lovely review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your cream tea. All our scones are homemade here at the New Inn and it's lovely to hear they are appreciated. It's great to hear you would recommend us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2018

Average crab sandwich ordered with a portion of chips. Served outside quite quickly but nothing to write home about

1  Thank Heather L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beryl g, Manager at New Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We are sorry you did not enjoy your lunch, maybe you should have said something at the time and we could of offered an alternative or a refund.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2018 via mobile

Great location at the top of trail and a Inn with a traditional feel. Unfortunately, the food was way off par and not made fresh as came out in a matter of minutes after ordering. Decent portion size but other than that we did not enjoy the meal. The Inn is family friendly but is lacking some good old TLC and felt run down. Perfectly good spot for a drink but would suggest one of the tea rooms a little further down if your looking to eat.

Thank GOPAL1107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beryl g, Manager at New Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We are sorry you did not enjoy your food here at the New Inn, had something of been said at the time we could of amended the order or offered a refund.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed New Inn also viewed

 

Been to New Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing