We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A great contemporary space for a get-together”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Blackdown Barn

Summer fun! The pool is a stone's throw from the barn.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Summer fun! The pool is a stone's throw from the barn.
Massive 100 sq.m living space creating a sense of freedom with windows looking into the woods. Blackdown Barn, with pool in foreground.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
Summer fun! The pool is a stone's throw from the barn.
Massive 100 sq.m living space creating a sense of freedom with windows looking into the woods.
Blackdown Barn, with pool in foreground.
Our gorgeous chunk of solid elm provides a wonderful dining area seating 12.
Watch TV,  movies or play games in our 55' LG Smart TV lounge area with Blueray Home Theatre sy
Relax, retro style, with a great selection of traditional board games to enjoy.
Enjoy reading? Relax with a book or work on your laptop in our library zone. Wifi.
Master Bedroom/Family Room with french doors facing swimming pool.
French day bed in the Master/Family Bedroom. Suitable for adult or child.
Twin room with extra wide French single beds - suit adults or children. Can join to Master Bed.
Double bedroom with door leading to en suite shower room.
Family Bathroom.
40 sq.m galleried mezzanine games room with 7ft pool table - great relaxation area.
Need to work off some of those pub lunches? Our spacious mezzanine gym is just the trick.
Fully equipped kitchen with 2 hobs/ovens, microwave, washer dryer, fridge freezer and more.
Our funky much loved Smeg fridge freezer!
Fantastic 55' smart TV to enjoy with Blueray Home Cinema system.
Hand chosen unique pieces of furniture & original artwork are found throughout this property.
Secluded gardens available for use.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 11
Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
JonnyPork...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A great contemporary space for a get-together”
Reviewed 28 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Thank you to M&H for having us, and for being so calm about a stag party descending upon your quiet neighbourhood for the weekend.

The barn was absolutely spotless when we arrived (and naturally was when we left). The place certainly has the wow factor, but was full of little extras too. The welcome pack was a nice surprise, and certainly put our Tesco value pork pies to shame. There's wifi that actually works, a million lamps for setting the mood, and even an acoustic guitar for serenading from the mezzanine. Then there's the huge surround sound 3D TV, and enough glasses for the whole family. We put it to the test - the Loose Women team have never looked so good.

It's such a great space for groups, people could just do their own thing. For example, while the break-dancing competition went on, some adventurous chaps even played chess. The pool table was a massive hit and was rarely out of use the whole weekend. As for the other type of pool, well, a couple of us did brave a dip, but considering it was pouring with rain, most people thought they'd save the embarrassment! One wishful thinker did suggest you put a sauna in the little pool shed? - now that would be the icing on the cake! ;)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo T
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“A fabulous stay!”
Reviewed 17 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Blackdown is an absolutely gorgeous place to stay. The decor and furnishings are stunning, so much so that I have taken tips for decorating my new home.

The facilitates are superb and the quality of everything made you feel like you were staying in a five star hotel, not a holiday home. It is a barn for all weather conditions and we even went in the pool when it rained.

Machaela made the stay extra special for me. Being the person who is in charge of a large party of people isn’t always easy, especially if you don’t know the area. However, she was so helpful and even left us a hamper full of goodies for our arrival. Amazing!

I would recommend a stay at Blackdown to anyone. I can’t wait to return – I am just looking for an excuse!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
devon
Reviewed 3 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It all! Everything complimented each other.
Liked least: Very very, minor thing, only one proper shower
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Motters19
1 review
“Brilliant, really didn't want to leave. As my 3 year old said "daddy why do we have to go home I want to stay on holiday".”
Reviewed 18 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013

There were twelve of us including two babies (1.5 & 3yrs) and it was more than big enough for all of us. From the moment we arrived to our complementary groceries (all lovely things) to the day we left )a quick visit to see the owners horses) we were made to feel welcome. The barn is done In multiple but complementary styles, very comfortable and A home away from home. We're already trying to find a reason to go back.

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ClaireCat...
2 reviews
“Fabulous place, great owners, can't wait to come back!”
Reviewed 8 May 2013 for a stay in March 2013

Having come back recently from a long weekend at Blackdown Barn with friends and family....we all just want to head straight back!!!

The barn is amazing! It's a great place for a family/friend get togethers as the place is huge and it's in a really nice peaceful setting. There is plenty of comfy seating areas and a huge dining room table to entertain all your guests.

The bedrooms are all really good sizes and the bedding is wonderful...it's like sleeping on clouds!!

The owners were lovely and left us a welcome pack with essentials for our weekend, which was a really nice touch.

I would highly recommend this place as you won't be disappointed! Can't wait to come back!

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing