We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Miss”
Castle Hill House Entrance
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Castle Hill House Entrance
Hallway Rear of House and Garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
Castle Hill House Entrance
Hallway
Rear of House and Garden
Kitchen
Spiral Staircase
Spiral Staircase Landing
Spiral Staircase Cupola
Dining Room seating 28
Kitchen
Lounge
Central Staircase
First Floor Landing
Bedroom
Typical Bathroom/En-suite
Bedroom
Entrance Hallway
View of Castle from Garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
8 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 28
Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ldn2anywh...
london
1 review
“Miss”
Reviewed 29 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Would recommend to all! Beautiful place in a lovely location! Ideal location for a 30th birthday party never to forget!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
julieruss...
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 16 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We hired this house for a hen weekend and it was perfect. There is plenty of space for everyone to stay and the house was well equipped. The location is perfect with lovely views and only 15mins from Burton upon Trent. I would definitely return.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard M
2 reviews
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 4 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Castle Hill House is a lovely well-maintained place with plenty of parking space for the 27 members of our family who stayed for the long weekend. There is plenty of space both inside and outside for everyone to socialise without feeling too crowded. The house was very warm and cosy despite being very big. Also, lots of places to visit nearby.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the property was very spacious despite sleeping 27 people
Liked least: nothing to like least...
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mams1983
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Amazing House”
Reviewed 5 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

House was easy to find with sat nav instructions, slightly on a hill sitting on a corner next to Tutbury Castle. One of the landlords Ian let us in and showed us around and fixed the gate that led to the garden where we had to park our cars before he left. All the rooms were nice and clean. Towels were included and some tea and coffee. Could easily get lost in the house! There were 27 of us staying there for a wedding that was near by. There was sufficient beds etc.

Although people did start to run out of toilet paper and there wasn't any spare anywhere, So I would suggest in bringing some of your own. We stayed there for 3 nights!!!

The house is close to some shops and restaurants thats 5-10 mins walk.

Can't really fault much about the house. Everything was perfect. Morning traffic might wake you up though.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trin42201...
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful house and perfect for a large group!”
Reviewed 9 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016
2
people found this review helpful

I stayed at this house with a group of 18 girls for a hen weekend and I cannot recommend it enough. The house has 8 bedrooms, all of a very good size, 5 of which have modern ensuite's and 2 of which were situated right next to a bathroom with bath/shower (so practically an ensuite!). There was plenty of room for everyone and we even had 2 spare bedrooms! The beds were extremely comfortable - everyone commented on that! The lounge area is large enough to seat everyone which is brilliant and equally there is a very spacious dining room. The dining tables in the photo are lots of small tables set out to form 2 separate dining tables however we actually moved them around to create one extra large dining table which seated 18 people (with room to spare). This worked out really well as it left us with two small tables spare which we kept to the side and used as drinks tables. The kitchen is also a really good size, there was room for us to all be in there at once. We had a huge tesco shop delivered and there was room for us to store everything - there is an American style fridge freezer in the actual kitchen and an extra fridge and freezer (both under the counter size) in the utility room which came in very useful. We hired a catering company one night who cooked us a 3 course dinner - definitely worth doing if you choose to stay here. The entrance hall is very grand with an absolutely huge mirror and was a great place for taking photos!! The house is set in a great location, the garden is lovely and backs onto Tutbury Castle which was such an amazing view and so close! You can walk up to the Castle in 30 seconds and pay to look round if you choose to. Electric gates lead to a private parking area which fit all of our cars perfectly. There is a lovely pub about a 5 minute walk away which does very good food.
Lisa and Andrew were really helpful during the booking process and also on arrival. It really was the perfect house - if you are a large group wanting a beautiful place to stay in a great location then you should definitely choose Castle Hill House. We all want to go back!!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: 5 x ensuite's!
Liked least: Sofas - could do with an update
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing