We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Spectacular House with fantastic Views”
Castle Hill House Entrance
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Castle Hill House Entrance
Hallway Rear of House and Garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
Castle Hill House Entrance
Hallway
Rear of House and Garden
Kitchen
Spiral Staircase
Spiral Staircase Landing
Spiral Staircase Cupola
Dining Room seating 28
Kitchen
Lounge
Central Staircase
First Floor Landing
Bedroom
Typical Bathroom/En-suite
Bedroom
Entrance Hallway
View of Castle from Garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
8 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 28
Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
VickiM123...
Essex, United Kingdom
1 review
“Spectacular House with fantastic Views”
Reviewed 5 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Got back yesterday from a four day break with family and friends. Booked Castle Hill House for our 10th Wedding Anniversary Vow Renewal, and I can honestly say that the house was a fantastic venue for the ceremony which took place in the amazing hallway and the whole house was a perfect backdrop for our photo's. Loved it so much that we didn't want to leave! Martin and Lisa couldn't have been more helpful, would highly recommend the house to anyone wanting a venue for a small celebration.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!!
Liked least: The Peacocks screaming at 7am!
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The interior and decor and views - gorgeous.
Liked least: The castle was closed :(
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Doolot
Norfolk UK
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Perfect for our family gathering”
Reviewed 30 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

After searching endlessly for the perfect venue for our family gathering, we had no hesitation in deciding that this was the place for us. It definitely didn't disappoint either when we arrived.
For 20 of us the accomodation was ideal, the number of bedrooms allowed us to ensure couples' privacy and the versatile table arrangement in the dining room meant we could have one very large table at mealtimes, perfect for the special family meals at the end of the day.

This weekend was a very special one for the family, made even more special by staying at wonderful Castle Hill House

A VERY BIG THANK YOU TO MARTIN FOR THE ATTENTION WE RECEIVED FROM HIM ON OUR FIRST NIGHT!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naomi26
Manchester
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Family party”
Reviewed 13 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from a brilliant weekend to celebrate my in-laws Golden Wedding. The house is well equipped and comfortable for lots of people. I wouldn't suggest this house for any more than 8 families/couples as its a bit odd to share rooms, most rooms can sleep more than 2 people. For such an old rambling house, the rooms got lovely and warm - the log burner helped!

We managed to cater comfortably for a large group and also keep kids and adults entertained. The local area is very pretty and there are a number of walks to enjoy. We had a fab meal at the Dog and Partridge and managed to sneak a look in the Castle Grounds at sunset.
Very minor improvements could be made - the piano needs tuning, we could have had a singalong! More tea towels and a larger dishwasher - but nothing that would stop us recommending this house to any similar group.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing