We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect family friendly getaway”
other travellers have booked this property
Nelson Barn is surrounded by stunning rural landscape, walking, cycling, star gazing, yours to enjoy
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Nelson Barn is surrounded by stunning rural landscape, walking, cycling, star gazing, yours to enjoy
A cozy but spacious family sitting room with a wood burning stove, TV, books, DVDs & unlimited WIFI Modern, beautifully equipped open plan kitchen/dining room with large range cooker.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
Nelson Barn is surrounded by stunning rural landscape, walking, cycling, star gazing, yours to enjoy
A cozy but spacious family sitting room with a wood burning stove, TV, books, DVDs & unlimited WIFI
Modern, beautifully equipped open plan kitchen/dining room with large range cooker.
Open plan living great for family gatherings, chop & chat, craft with the kids, fun for all.
Romantic king sized wrought iron bed. Hand made furniture. Stunning views. En suite shower room.
Cool kids bunk room with original artwork and pullout truckle bed if needed.
With extra wide & extra long luxury mattresses this adult bunk room is stylish & so comfortable.
Super king size 6ft wide bed can be spilt to be a spacious twin. Room for a cot if needed
Luxuriously large family bathroom with walk in shower, double ended bath & big fluffy white towels.
Stone flagged entrance/boot room with hand made benches & hooks. Plenty of space for wellies & coats
The ample entrance also has space and facilities for drying. Downstairs cloakroom with baby change.
Stunning open views from the private garden.
Fun for all ages, climbing play house & plenty of space to run around, play football or picnic.
Loads to enjoy & explore in & around Kirkby Stephen; Coast to Coast walking, Settle Carlisle railway
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sarah M
London
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect family friendly getaway”
Reviewed 5 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Great location, beautifully presented and very well equipped for a stay with little ones. We had a great long weekend staying here.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jun 2018
Thank you Sarah, it was super to meet you and I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay. I wish the weather had been kinder for you.
I hope to welcome you back. Many thanks Katie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joannebra...
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful accomodation in stunning rolling countryside”
Reviewed 2 June 2018 for a stay in May 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed here for 3 nights wished we could have stayed longer! In middle of rolling countryside, stunning views and outside play area which we enjoyed so much in this excellent weather! Even if raining though I think we would have loved it at Nelson Barn just as much! After days out just loved getting back there! The owners attention to detail and just the small things added to this overall brilliant accomodation, welcome package with essentials and some lovely cake and homemade marmalade was really great! I would definitely recommend staying here, I want to come back again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jun 2018
Thank you Joanne I am so delighted that you and your family enjoyed your stay here at Nelson barn. It was lovely to meet you and I look forward to welcoming you back here. Kind regards Katie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philfy77
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great to come back again for Christmas”
Reviewed 28 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017

We had a wonderful time at Nelson Barn over the Christmas period. Katy, the owner had left us a lovely care package of local cheeses and a bottle of bubbly.
The barn oozes quality and care. The bedrooms are really well equipped and the kids loved the style of the handmade bunk beds.
The wood burner works well and there is full central heating all over the house so it's
warm and cosy to come back to after a day out in the hills.
Thanks again for a lovely holiday.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Dec 2017
Thank you for your kind words. I'm so pleased that you and your family had a super Christmas break and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
partridge...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent holiday in lovely accommodation at Nelson Barn”
Reviewed 19 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Nelson Barn is in a fantastic location for access to both the Dales or the Lakes. The accommodation is maintained to a very high standard and the cleanliness and play area make it the ideal base for a great holiday with a young family. Hope to return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Aug 2016
Thank you for your kind words, I'm so pleased you all had a great stay here at Nelson Barn. Hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlotte...
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
“Fantastic, relaxing stay”
Reviewed 25 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Wonderful Cottage with everything you need for staying with a young family. It is beautifully decorated and in the perfect location for exploring the Lakes, Yorkshire Dales and the North Pennines. Would highly recommend!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Aug 2016
Thank you so much, I'm delighted you had such a great time and it was a pleasure to meet you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing