We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful cottage in a beautiful location!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of One Fern Cottages

One Fern Cottages - stunning 16th Century stone cottage, with oak beams. Sleeps 5. Private parking.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
One Fern Cottages - stunning 16th Century stone cottage, with oak beams. Sleeps 5. Private parking.
Lounge, with Range The stunning Victorian Range
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
One Fern Cottages - stunning 16th Century stone cottage, with oak beams. Sleeps 5. Private parking.
Lounge, with Range
The stunning Victorian Range
Kitchen
Cottage Kitchen
Kitchen- Oven & Hob
Beamed & Vaulted Master Bedroom
Master Bedroom- dressing area with views
Second bedroom
Dining Room- wooden floors and beams
Dining Room, with Stable door
The spacious dinning room
Bathroom
Bathroom- monsoon shower and bath
Downstairs toilet
Patio seated area
Second patio seated area
Parking space
Nearby Cartmel....a great place for a day trip
A Tarn near Coniston
A Lakeland Beck at Grasmere
Cartmel Racecourse- less than 3 miles away
The waterfall/beck running through Lindale
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
ale190793
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful cottage in a beautiful location!”
Reviewed 13 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Booking the cottage couldn't have been easier and was totally hassle free. I was kept updated about the progress right up until we got there. The safety deposit takes up to 14 days to return, and I received an email the day after leaving to let me know it would be refunded within 7 days. So you are still kept up to date with all the goings on after you have left. I was grateful for the email updates as it was my first time booking something like this and I'm a born worrier!
When we got to the cottage the key safe was very easy to use. Inside was completely spotless. I couldn't complain even to be picky! It was sparkling. Everything you could need was available, essentials, appliances and extra blankets. Even the things you'd most likely forget (salt and pepper/gravy granules).
We both had a lovely sleep without any complaints. The room goes into total darkness thanks to the skylights blinds. The car can be seen from inside the cottage whilst parked up and it was easy to get into.
There was a welcome pack full of things to know, things to see, places to go. Everything you could possibly think of was covered in it. The neighbours were also very nice and polite, actually, so were all the people we spoke to.
The Lindale Inn was closed for refurbishments until Easter 2014 but we luckily had The Royal Oak about a 200 metre walk away. A torch is an absolute must as this hill has no lighting whatsoever, We had thought to pack a torch but it wasn't necessary as the cottage had many to use (and they actually fit in my bag, unlike the one my boyfriend packed). The post office is a five minute walk around the block and they stock most items.
Grange-over-sands is literally a 5-10 minute drive and there is plenty of parking (good prices too). I enjoyed walking around here and they have a co-op for any last minute shopping. We also travelled to Bowness-on-Windermere. This was by far my favourite day out as there was so much to see and do. However it was nice to retreat back to Lindale for some peace and quiet in a gorgeous cottage. The log fire was my favourite part, at the post office they sell kindle (£5) and logs (£5) in big bags. This gave us two good fires. We tried calling Brian but found the number to be incorrect and Richard answered at first, then we lost signal. When we phoned back, he had turned his phone off for the rest of the day. We didn't bother trying them again.
One thing we did miss was instructions on how to use the heating. With it being winter it was baltic. Say if we wernt wanting the fire on (say before going out on an evening) the spare bed blanket was a must. But it didn't ruin the cottage as it was just as cozy snuggling on the settee but it would have been nice to warm it up.

I couldn't have been any happier with the cottage and would like to thank the owners for our stay, ensuring a cosy, warm, welcome. Would definitly recommend this for a quiet escape from real life!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole atmosphere the cottage offered (and the log fire!)
Liked least: The lack of instructions regarding heating.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Feb 2014
Thank you very much for your comments and we are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Cottage and trips around the area.
Thanks for pointing out about the logs and the heating. We will check the company we use for the logs and make sure their number hasn't changed recently.
The heating is normally left on permanently in the winter and controlled via the thermostat. We will check the instruction booklet, as there should be one in the Cottage, but sometimes this does get moved.
We really appreciate the time and effort that goes into making a review and hope to welcome you back to One Fern Cottages in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maxwell54...
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely Cottage, great location.”
Reviewed 13 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

We found the cottage to have everything needed and more. A lovely place to stay and was very cosy and comfortable. The beds were so comfy too. Did not get the opportunity to light up the fire as out most of the days but it would certainly add to the whole atmosphere of the property. Being tall, had to learn quickly with regards to some of the low beams though!!! Many thanks to Vicky and her colleagues for their prompt and helpful attention to our booking and will certainly be staying at the property again.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Nov 2013
Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are pleased you had an enjoyable and busy stay, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon...the fire is a wonderful feature and hopefully you'll get the chance to sit and relax next time!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MeAndMunk...
Woking, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great family breakaway”
Reviewed 11 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We had such a lovely stay here, My parents came over from Canada and enjeyed every minute of there stay. Lovely cottage and great location.
the sticky toffee pudding in Cartmel is a MUST!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Huge house, garden, location
Liked least: stair case
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Nov 2013
Thanks for your comments. I could not agree more...the sticky toffee pudding is a must!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blorenge1...
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Quaint country cottage in quiet location”
Reviewed 4 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013

A lovely cottage with character. Kitchen excellently equipped. Better towels and better beds would give this cottage a 5 star rating.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet
Liked least: Beds/towels
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jul 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review, we appreciate the feedback from guests as this ensures that we can continue to maintain our high standards.If you don't mind I will contact you directly to discuss the areas you have identified to see what we can improve upon.

Many thanks once again for taking the time and effort to write a review and we do hope we will see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JCurzi
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Cosy Cottage”
Reviewed 16 January 2013 for a stay in January 2013

Thanks for a wonderful stay. What a great little cottage, perfect for cold nights in front of the fire. With an excellent kitchen, cooking was a pleasure so we didn't get to try the local pubs. The whole cottage was very comfortable and the bath was a real treat. We had a small issue with the fire during our stay, however the owners could not have been more helpful resolving it very swiftly, Many thanks for that and the thursday night was the best! On note of the fire I would highly recommend using the local timber merchant for the wood (number's in the welcome pack, but you have to keep ringing as the owners are the workers, so they don't often answer their phone!), we bought a small sack for £2.50 and it was the best fire we had all week, the logs from the garage are over priced (no surprise) but mainly they dont burn properly! All in all I would highly recommend this cottage to anyone looking for a peaceful retreat. The location's is good too with local amenities not too far away (5 mins by car), and the lakes are a short drive. The village itself is very quiet and relaxing, oh and very dark at night!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Victorian fire place
Liked least: No hand soap, or washing up liquid provided!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jan 2013
Thanks for the feedback and the tips about the wood...very helpful for other guests. We were glad we were able to sort the issue with the fire and thanks for bringing this to our attention. We hope to welcome you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing