We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Cornish Cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Hedgend Cottage

View over the hamlet
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View over the hamlet
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
10 reviews
View over the hamlet
Driveway and parking area
Driveway
Walk way through lower garden and trees to the steps for main garden area
View from garden to Tintagel and Castle hotel
View to Lundy island from the garden
View from Glebe cliffs to Tintagel island with castle ruins
Trebarwith at high tide
St Nectan's Glen
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Tintagel, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kirsten S
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect Cornish Cottage”
Reviewed 2 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

My husband and I have just spent two AMAZING weeks at Hedgend Cottage, with our three children. We needed rest and fun/adventure and got plenty of all.
Jenny was well organized from the start which made the booking an easy enjoyable process. Jenny also kindly sent an information pack with all needed info about the cottage along with some information about the local area and great places to visit. A few of which we visited and loved!
The cottage was extremely well equipped, warm, clean, very comfortable and felt like home away from home. It is nestled amongst other cottage's but still feels very private and quiet. The garden was private, table chairs/BBQ along with lovely views....perfect. The sofa's were plenty big enough for all of us and very comfy. The bathroom is nice/clean with great shower and large bath. Plenty of hot water.
The driveway and garden are directly in front of the cottage and the cottage road is shared only by the adjoining cottage and both are surrounded by greenery. The cottage next door was rented for holiday also. Still very private feel to the place/no noise leakage through the thick stone walls. We found the property exceeded the expectations we had from viewing the pictures.
Our children loved exploring the garden and round the cottage. The whole area is natural, full of natural Cornish character and so very beautiful. We did not feel out of place holidaying there at all.
The views surrounding the cottage's are absolutely lovely. On our first day we walked through the fields at the bottom of the cottages to visit St Nectans Glen, (Recommend cream tea there) then through the Rocky Valley and across the cliff path to Bossiney Cove. It was a magnificent day. My children absolutely loved it.
We have visited Cornwall and Tintagel before but still found plenty to do in the local area that was new to us to do and see, as well as driving further down into cornwall for particular days out to iconic cornish places such as St Micheals Mount, St Ives, Lands End and the Minack theatre/Porthcurno Beach. Tintagel was a lovely place to be based in for our trip.
We are hoping to return here in the future and I cannot recommend this place enough. Thankyou so much Jenny for sharing your lovely Cottage and corner of Cornwall with us. It was an absolutely brilliant holiday :)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Sep 2017
My, how lovely of you to take the time to write such a detailed review - most of all I am so happy that you enjoyed your holiday!
It is such a pleasure to share our Cornish home for enjoyment of others although we really do not need to. As our children are all grown up we hardly use it in the main summer holidays now so to know that Hedgend bought joy to others is heart warming after our thirty years of the same and far better than it being empty.
Our home away from home is your home :)
Jenny
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley r
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A hidden gem.”
Reviewed 28 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely cottage in perfectly quiet location. Everything provided. A home from home. Can't wait to return for a longer stay.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John R
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“I'd like to tell you but it's a secret ”
Reviewed 26 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
2
people found this review helpful

An idillic cottage outside Tintagel.
Very cosy, the perfect retreat from the rat race.
Ok what do you want to know well;
1. Great pre visit service, full details of cottage and area
2. Fully equipped kitchen
3. Good sized living room with very comfortable sofas
4. Two decent bedrooms with comfy beds
5. A good sized bathroom with a large bath and shower

It is an upside down property with bedroom and bath down stairs, no noise leakage from the next door property

The garden is a gem with views out to sea, with plenty of seating a bit of a sun trap

Access is down a narrow lane which has been resurfaced, if like me you are driving a large 5 door saloon (Mondeo size) you would probably find it easier to reverse up to the parking area due to the space, this is not a chore I assure you, just convenient.

Will we rebook for longer; we will as long as no one reads this review and gets in before us.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuciaPott...
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Superb Cornish Cottage”
Reviewed 19 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We have just spent a week at this rustic cottage and have come back feeling so relaxed. The cottage was very clean and quite quirky as the bedrooms were downstairs. The gardens were lovely with some great views. There was a barbecue which unfortunately due to the weather we didn't use. The cottage is a 5 minute drive from Tintagel which is a lovely town. Once we had booked the cottage we were sent detailed information regarding the cottage as well as surrounding areas and also recommendations for eating out. This was so helpful and we actually followed alot of the instructions as this was our first visit to the area. We have a dog and we found some lovely walks around the cottage.
We would highly recommend this to anyone seeking a typical Cornish Cottage getaway. Thanks Jenny H for making our holiday so enjoyable :-)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tracy258
West Sussex, United Kingdom
1 review
“Nice clean compact holiday cottage very well equipped”
Reviewed 13 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Our stay was very pleasant ,the only thing this cottage lacked was a full length mirror and although the garden was not attached to the cottage and was a short walk in distance it was a lovely sized cottage garden with table chairs and bench a real suntrap.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing