We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely spot”
other travellers have booked this property
Willow (nearest) and Maple
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Willow (nearest) and Maple
The view from just outside Willow and Maple. The living room.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
10 reviews
Willow (nearest) and Maple
The view from just outside Willow and Maple.
The living room.
Willow's kitchen.
The west end of Willow.
Willow's little garden.
Trebarwith Strand between high and low tide. Two miles away.
The carpark in April.
The beginning of the path up to the chalets from the carpark.
The slope up to the chalets - this part of the path is fairly steep.
The last part of the path leading to Willow and Maple.
The slope is gentle here - almost at the level part of the path now.
The old engine house just down the road.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chalet -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Tintagel, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Alex G
1 review
“Lovely spot”
Reviewed 27 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Lovely cottage and great location very near some great walking trails and Tintagel. Would come again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jul 2017
Thank you for your review-we would be very pleased to see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HelenHy20...
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Out of the way, relaxed and relatively cheap (for Cornwall)”
Reviewed 21 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

It’s a while since we’ve holidayed in Cornwall. We booked on the spur of the moment and were grateful to find something, anything. We needed somewhere to stay near Tintagel and we were grateful to have been made so welcome at short notice.

The place is basic and perhaps a little tired. But the welcome was warm, kind and thoughtful and the advice given on the locality most helpful.

The setting is tranquillity itself and the sunsets from the nearby hill are exquisite to behold.

So, what’s here?
A double bedroom with ample wardrobe
A sitting room with futon and folding table and chairs and TV
A basic kitchen with waterheater.
A toilet with wash hand basin and waterheater.
A shower
Ample powerpoints and electric heaters.

But:-
The lodge was hard to find from the car park when arriving tired and late at night. There are no direction signs and no house sign on the lodge. Access is via a grassy bank. Forget about phoning for help – you’ll struggle for a signal here.

You’d think that having been so hard to find, that it would be quiet. But you will hear some traffic from the nearby road, even through the night.

The lodge smelled perhaps a little musty as we entered, despite windows having been left open. But wasn’t noticeable after being there for a while.

The double bed is pushed hard against the back wall with little space to squeeze around. The mattress is firm. I’m used to a softer mattress so awoke sore, but husband slept soundly!

The futon and folding chairs are basic, and can be uncomfortable if sitting for a while. And the TV takes some getting used to (to work out how to use ).

The kitchen is adequate. Few cooking utensils. Eating utensils and crockery for three people, but only one wine glass and one beer glass.

WC area is quite tight. If you’re above medium build, you might struggle to get inside.
The shower leads directly off the hall area and it can take a while to find a setting that gives you warm water.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jul 2017
Thank you for taking the trouble to give a review. The chalet is, indeed, hard to find in the dark. It would be a good idea to put name plates on the chalets but this has never been high on the list as I am normally there to meet you. The phone signal is better higher up the hill but there is a landline in the house if needed. The chalet is equipped for 2 people but we do allow extra guests and adjust the equipment accordingly. The wine glass and beer glass are not provided but are additions left by previous guests-a good idea though so I have bought another wine glass to match. The mattress is firm but there is a mattress softner on top - difficult to please everyone with this! Thank you again for your valued comments and I hope that you enjoyed your short break.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham W
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pet-friendly, comfortable, value for money”
Reviewed 7 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Family with two children, 12 and 9, two dogs, 7 and 13 weeks, seeks peaceful accommodation for two nights away from it all. Has to be near the sea with places of interest to visit. We decided to take the family to North Cornwall for a couple of nights and this chalet came up in the search. Centrally positioned near Tintagel, Port lsacc and Boscastle, we thought it was ideal for a family get away. We were not disappointed! The chalet was charming, although a little dated inside it had everything you would need. It was spotlessly clean and very welcoming. The views, mainly over treetops and out to sea gave a real sense of tranquillity as well as being on an adventure. There was one bedroom with a comfortable double bed and a futon in the living area, a television with loads of channels, a small kitchen with everything you would need, a shower and toilet off the entrance hall. Although the chalet is small we had plenty of room even with a labradoodle and a sprockapoo! On arrival we met Wendy who was lovely and very helpful. There is a large car park and a short walk up the path which takes you to the chalets. Each chalet also has a generous garden area. There is ample heating which was great to take away the early morning chill. Nearby there are excellent places to eat, our favourite was the 'Port William' with its amazing beach views and great food. We also really enjoyed our visit to Tintagel castle and much, much more. We had a great weekend, many thanks Wendy, we hope to visit again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jun 2017
Thank you for taking the trouble and for giving us such a lovely review and one that will be really helpful for other guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nutty26
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely little out of the way chalets!”
Reviewed 4 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017
3
people found this review helpful

Wendy was very helpful on arrival and we loved the area. Tintagel is only a 5minute drive down the road and there are loads of places to eat and stop and have a look at. The castle there is well worth a visit (on dry days, as it's all exposed!).
The chalet was comfortable, clean and quiet just what we needed thank you

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jun 2017
Thank you for taking the trouble and giving a really nice and useful review. I'm really glad that you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keepxsmil...
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely quaint chalet”
Reviewed 7 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
2
people found this review helpful

When we first arrived at the chalet our first impression was a bit 'old fashioned', but after reading the welcome pack with all the history about the chalets, it felt quite special and we warmed to it!
Wendy, the owner is lovely. There were a few plumbing problems but it was resolved quickly and efficiently. If we needed anything, Wendy was able to help us.

The chalet was small, but it's all you need for a short break away. Only thing we would say is the futon isn't very comfy to sit on, but I get the impression Wendy has lots of plans in store for the chalets.

Thank you for a lovely stay!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Sep 2016
Thank you for your great review. Yes indeed we do have plans to replace the futons with the more comfortable New York futons which are more like a normal sofa. I am really glad that you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing