We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic location, wonderful home from home...”

Review of Anchor Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
6 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
St Ives, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Emmalouis...
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic location, wonderful home from home atmosphere.”
Reviewed 21 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Just back from a relaxing stay at Anchor Cottage. Perfect location between the two main beaches and the Tate. Fantastic little shop over the road which was really handy.
Great kitchen with dining table and lovely style overall in the house. Very clean throughout. Husband struggled with the idea of no stand up shower for a week, but we all managed!
The main selling point of the cottage is what a relaxing atmosphere there is and how easy it was to chill out after a day trip, when sometimes a holiday home can feel a little like you don't belong there!
We'd definitely stay here again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lagarde
Paris
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Perfection at Porthmeor Beach”
Reviewed 22 January 2014 for a stay in October 2013

Anchor Cottage was the perfect fit for our family. The location, seconds away from the most incredible white-sand beach, is unbeatable. Anchor itself, a picturesque fisherman's cottage, is just as good. We especially liked having a sizeable, sit-down kitchen, with plenty of cooking space and a good table. Great for family meals or just hanging out.

There is a very comfy living room. Shelves stacked with books you actually want to read, and board games for rainy days. Upstairs, the bedrooms are cosy and pretty. We always felt we had enough space, and there are lots of thoughtful - but not pretentious - touches (such as children's' storybooks set in Cornwall, Cornish Monopoly and so forth). Everything feels homely and relaxing.

Lastly, a huge plus for us was having Norway Stores a few steps away. This friendly, old-fashioned grocery shop is open long hours, and we relied on it for most meals (when we didn't eat out). No need to go anywhere else, which kept life easy. Perfect Wi-Fi too, which was handy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the cottage itself
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlie w
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful stay in St Ives”
Reviewed 3 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

I would definitely recommend Anchor Cottage for your stay in St Ives. I can sum up my stay simply by saying that the cottage didn't feel like a holiday let, it felt like our home - we found it very difficult to leave at the end of our stay!
The place was in perfect condition when we arrived and there was even a mini Christmas tree with decorations for us to enjoy over Christmas.
Sally was extremely quick at responding to any of our questions we had and was very accommodating.
Also, the location was perfect - a very short walk to the beach, harbour and all of the shops.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The holiday let felt like a home and was very hard to leave at the end of the stay!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tarps_28
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely place and great location”
Reviewed 23 July 2013 for a stay in May 2013
3
people found this review helpful

Stayed here in May and the location was great. Can walk to the beaches and the town centre and has a convenience store right outside which was great for buying reasonably priced wine!! St Ives in itself is one of my favorite places to stay in England!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing